We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but could do better”

The Angel Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #95 of 227 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Firstly, everyone in our party enjoyed their food (with the exception of the apple crumble which wasn’t nice at all). Portions were good and everything was tasty. We were disappointed with menu choice overall, I’d heard that Wetherspoons had cut back on choice, I think they’ve gone too far. Drink choice was also limited due to supply issue (co2) so no draught ciders at all and limited beers, no bottled alternatives offered as included drink with meal so had to opt for soft drinks. Service was fine.
Children’s menu was just a list on a printed sheet of paper, not a proper menu, very little detail and no puddings listed either. The stand holding the kids menu advertised an included drink and fruit bag but the fruit wasn’t offered and we had to pay for the drink. Not a major issue but little details make a difference.
Had to find the baby changing while we were there which turned out to be in the disabled toilet which was locked with a missing key! I had to ask a few members of staff and eventually someone went off looking for it. I couldn’t fault his commitment to finding the key but after waiting quite a while I changed the baby on the floor of the ladies toilets (don’t think the cleaner was impressed and neither was I to be honest). Not sure what they would have done if someone disabled came in. The key was eventually found I believe!
So, not a bad experience particularly but it could have been much better.

Thank Bex_Stew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that your visit wasn't as expected on this occasion and will endeavour to investigate your issues. I would always advise that if a customer does feel there are any problems, they bring it to the attention of the Duty Manager at the time who would be more than happy to help and rectify standards as soon as possible. We always appreciate feedback as it gives us the opportunity to look for improvements where needed;

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 1 106 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

You always know what you are getting at a Wetherspoons with the menu being standard across their locations. I went for the eggs benedict my all time fave and it was lovely. A very busy location but our food arrived quickly. There are bifold doors so we chose to sit by them inside, that way you are out of the way of the seagulls but you get the view and some air. There is a lot of outdoor seating if you want to do that.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linbylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We are very lucky to have a little something that other Wetherspoons don't have and that is our fabulous location for you to enjoy, whilst offering the famous Wetherspoon value, so I am so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit and hope to see you again very soon

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Although a straight up Weatherspoons it still has a little bit of charm. Great location over looking the harbour, fast and efficient staff and certainly a great spot for that morning after breakfast at great prices

Thank JASELEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We are very lucky to have a little something that other Wetherspoons don't have and that is our fabulous location for you to enjoy, whilst offering the famous Wetherspoon value, so I am so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit and hope to see you again very soon

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

We spent a week in Whitby this month and visited The Angel a few times. Cleaner than most Wetherspoons but busy busy and the staff overwhelmed in keeping the tables cleared and cleaned. Watch out for dive bombing seagulls outside if you have meals. A tad more expensive beer wise than other Wetherspoons I have been too but probably because it has a large footfall of holiday makers. Food the usual fare but OK. Found the staff friendly enough but the bar queue was usually long. Go for it as still cheaper than the other pubs in town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review. We strive to achieve value and consistency across the board and hopefully this is exactly what we deliver. Wetherspoon pubs are graded into several different bands and we believe our prices are very competitive for the area without upsetting other local establishments by under-pricing them out of business.

We are very lucky to have a little something that other Wetherspoons don't have and that is our fabulous location for you to enjoy, whilst offering the famous Wetherspoon value, so I am so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit and hope to see you again very soon

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

On arriving in Whitby we popped in for a drink, as it was just after lunch time place was very busy with a great atmosphere, its located next to harbour area so in prime spot.
Its a good Weatherspoons with great valie drinks and good standard of cleaniness, etc
We sat upstairs with view over harbour, staff friendly and toilets very clean.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review of us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our hospitality, we are very lucky to have a little something that other Wetherspoons don't have and that is our fabulous location for you to savour, whilst offering the famous Wetherspoon value. We do strive to achieve quality and consistency across the board and hopefully this is exactly what we delivered.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Angel Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Angel Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing