We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kauri Cottage

Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio and communal lawns
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio and communal lawns
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Second Floor Lounge
Second floor lounge with French doors to outside balcony
View from second floor French doors and balcony
View from second floor French doors and balcony
First floor single bedroom
First floor bathroom with shower
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor bathroom
Second floor twin room
Second floor twin room
Second floor twin room
Whitby beach walk to Sandsend
The famous St Hilda's Abbey
Whitby at night
Beach Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marie P
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our four-night stay at Kauri Cottage - a real home-from-home; it is spacious, well-equipped and clean - particularly nice is the balcony leading off the lounge. The cottage is in a quiet location by the viaduct, and a five-minute drive from the centre of Whitby. There were plenty of leaflets and recommendations for places to visit and eateries - we enjoyed cocktails and a really lovely meal at the Moon and Sixpence (so good we dined there again). If you're into antiques, I can't recommend Whitby Antiques strongly enough - the owner has a keen eye for interesting and reasonably-priced finds.

Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wi-fi - a must in this day and age, unfortunately, and not always available in some rentals
Liked least: Mattresses were a little soft for us, but that's a personal thing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to do a review for us - Whitby now has more and more good places to eat and drink and there is something for everyone !! We hope to see you again at the cottage in the future.

Thanks and regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uwe F
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation for up to 8”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Very cosy accommodation in the quieter part of Whitby. The cottage can accommodate up to 8 people, however with only up to 6 people it makes a longer stay more relaxing. The extras like dishwasher, washer and broadband internet made the stay even more pleasant. Communication with the property manager and access to the property were easy and responses to inquiries quick. All in all we had a lovely stay, can definitely recommend it to a bigger family or anyone requiring lots of space and a quite and relaxing stay and will come back for sure. Thanks for the experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space inside the property and the quite area.
Liked least: Door locks were a bit tricky.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Many thanks for your review - we are delighted you had a lovely stay and our cottage had everything you needed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thanks and kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma U
1 review
“Wonderful cottage in beautiful location.”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed 3 nights in the cottage with my parents and our 3 year old, and Poppy the dog. It was wonderfully equipped - a higher standard than you may expect of a holiday cottage (including washing machine and dishwasher!) but a load of DVDs and a cupboard full of games were also available. It is beautifully located, next to the river under the viaduct with the NYMR steam train passing by in clear view.

We were welcomed every morning by the ducks on the green, and my daughter loved being able to feed them and go 'fishing', even if she only caught mud in a net.

I would highly recommend the cottage and we will definately be back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind review - in our experience if the children are happy then the adults are happy so lovely to hear your little one had fun !!

We will be undergoing our usual 'winter refurbishment' over the next few months, and we look forward to welcoming you all back to the cottage in the near future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in excellent cottage”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Three generations of our family stayed at Kauri Cottage. It is an excellent property with plenty of space for everyone. The location is wonderful, so quiet and peaceful below the viaduct with the river running beside it. We were visited by ducks a rabbits each day. Yet it is a short drive or for those a little more energetic a walk into town. There is also ample parking close to the cottage.
The cottage is furnished with everything you might want or need for your stay with all the extras having been thoughtfully provided. We were also sent information on places to eat which was very useful. We have always gone to the Magpie but found it disappointing on this visit.. We did try Humble Pie - the pie and mash shop which is excellent and certainly our new favourite.
We definitely plan to stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review - we are pleased that the restaurant review information was useful and you have found another favourite !!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the cottage in the future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great cottage!!.....can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, my wife and Max, the Parson Russell Terrier had a great couple of days at Kauri Cottage. The location is set away from the main harbour area of Whitby, but within easy walking distance in a picturesque, quiet location by the river and overlooked by the Viaduct, which adds to the feel of the place.

The cottage was immaculate and better equipped than most houses with TVs in most rooms, gadgets in the kitchen, docking stations for I-phones and free Wi-Fi. There is plenty of outdoor space on the ground and middle floor also. This is a real home from home...and feels more like a home than a holiday let.

We went without the kids this time around, so there was loads of space over the 3 floors, but we are intending to go back again with our 3 children aged 11, 13 and 15 very soon. The cottage will be more than big enough to accommodate us all and no doubt keep the teenagers entertained with the gadgets. There was even DVDs and board games provided to keep everyone occupied, should the weather turn nasty.

I would highly recommend this place, whether you are a couple, family, or group of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and home from home feel of the cottage
Liked least: Couldn't fault it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thanks for taking the time to post a review for us. We also think the location is great and the viaduct is certainly a focal point of the area.

We look forward to be able to welcome you to the cottage on your next visit to Whitby - hopefully your kids will love it too !!

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing