We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Wren Cottage is a very cosy traditional characterful Cottage.Located in Iburndale Sleights Nr Whitby
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage is a very cosy traditional characterful Cottage.Located in Iburndale Sleights Nr Whitby
Wren cottage Characterful country kitchen Wren Cottage characterful Country Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Wren Cottage is a very cosy traditional characterful Cottage.Located in Iburndale Sleights Nr Whitby
Wren cottage Characterful country kitchen
Wren Cottage characterful Country Kitchen
Wren Cottage snug cosy lounge with gas stove and with Laura Ashley furnishings
Wren Cottage large country cottage double bedroom with Super kingsize bed
Wren Cottage large country cottage double bedroom with Super kingsize bed
Wren Cottage Cosy Double Bedroom with Laura Ashley furnishings
Wren Cottage traditional ground floor shower room with rain head shower
Wren Cottage traditional ground floor shower room with rain head shower
Wren Cottage Rear Spacious Garden
Wren Cottage rear leading up to a large spacious garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark F
Stoke - on Trent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in early September, the cottage is in a quiet location with off road parking. Very homely with everything you need. Nice size dog proof garden so we could let our two out and not worry about them running off. Good pub up the road, (the Plough ) dog friendly, good food and locals all friendly. You can get a bus or train into whitby from the village if you fancy leaving the car behind. Highly recommended, we will definitely be going back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The climb up to the pub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
The train connection from Sleights into Whitby is very pleasant but not generally well known. Glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to welcoming you again. Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave t
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Great location for exploring the coast and the moors of North Yorkshire. Cottage was clean and cosy and had lovely, enclosed safe garden for dogs. Sue and Rob of Bumblewick cottages made us feel welcome and were very helpful when we had any queries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and secure garden for dogs
Liked least: The quality of the saucepans and condition of oven trays
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
Hello Dave & Janet

Thank you very much for your very kind comments. Much appreciated we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay.

Robert,Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianq59
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“NEAR PERFECT ACCOMMODATION IN A BEAUTIFUL SETTING”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had been emailed by Bumblewick having stumbled upon their properties when looking for North Yorkshire Holidays a few years ago. We wish we had contacted them sooner. Our hesitance was, we had never taken our Westie " Archie" away with us before and thought it would be an obstacle to a lovely holiday, as these days ( particularly in the Midlands) dogs are not really welcomed in many places! All three of us relaxed the moment we set foot across the doorstep at Wren Cottage. It was everything we would want if we had our own cottage.
The lounge was comfortable and homely. The kitchen was well thought out with everything you would need in a self catering environment. The bedroom was spacious and gave us three nights comfortable sleeps! The garden had that cottage garden feel and was a safe environment for Archie to explore. The village itself ( although there are simply houses there and nothing but countryside) was quiet and the perfect place to unwind, with everything you could need, just a few miles away. We even had friendly conversations with some of the local neighbours down the lane, whilst on our walks.
A few local places to recommend; lovely carvery in a welcoming pub at The Plough in Sleights, a great dog walking beach at Sandsend just outside Whitby, The Royal Hotel Pub for lunchtime food at Runswick Bay and also the beach there for Fossil hunting .
A big thank you to Robert and the Staff at Bumblewick for being accommodating and informative for our stay. We shall definitely be paying another visit and have told many of our friends about this little gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing environment in a well planned holiday cottage
Liked least: The steep stairs, but a minor niggle ( if at all )
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2014
Hello Jennifer Ian & Archie

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Robert,Sue & Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy L
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect little retreat, a real gem!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Beautiful cottage, so quaint and cosy. Really clean with everything you could possibly need. Robert couldn't have been more helpful. The garden was a real bonus being enclosed, my little border terrier Elsa loved it! So glad we found this little hidden treasure. A lot of love and care has been put into this cottage and it really shows. Will definitely be back but may try the cottage at Fylingthorpe too. I actually loved the bath, it made a really nice change to relax in there after a long walk. Cannot say one negative word about this place. We loved it, thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
The effort is really worthwhile when we receive a response like yours where Wren Cottage has been to you what we would like it to be. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizzy0114
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, warm, cosy & dog friendly.”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Excellent service. Clean, warm, comfortable little cottage. Lovely little garden. Very dog friendly as was the area. Was surprised that so many places accepted dogs especially in Whitby. Good spot between Whitby & Robin Hoods Bay with good local walks also. Good old fashioned pub within walking distance in Sleights, The Plough, which takes dogs. Bit of a walk uphill there. Good home cooked pub food & very friendly. Also liked the Wayfarers bistro in RHB & Fylingdale Inn. No shower, but we took a shower attachment which worked well. Excellent for 2 people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2014
Hello Lizzy

Thank you very much for your comments. Much appreciated. I am very pleased that you had a comfortable stay.

Kind regards

Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing