We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Whitby cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey View Cottage

View of Whitby Abbey From Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Whitby Abbey From Bedroom
Double Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
View of Whitby Abbey From Bedroom
Double Bedroom 1
Double Bedroom 1
Double Bedroom 2 with view of Whitby Abbey
Single Bedroom with view of Whitby Abbey
Main Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen/Dining area
Front of Cottage
Whitby Sands with Whitby Pavillion on the cliff top
Whitby from St Mary's Church
One Hundred Year Old Whitby Swing Bridge
Church Street on the East Side, Whitby
Harbour Piers and Lighthouse from Whitby Sands
West Cliff across Whitby Harbour
Whitby Abbey & St Mary's Parish Church
Whitby Marina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tonysharp...
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Whitby cottage.”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've just spent a fantastic week staying at Abbey View Cottage in Whitby. It was a late booking and the owners couldn't have been more helpful. On arrival we thought we wouldn't all fit in, we being 2 adults and 3 children. The cottage is tiny from the front but once inside the hallway opens up into a lovely lounge and a super well equipped kitchen. It's like the Tardis. Upstairs there are 3 bedrooms all with fresh white bedding and 2 lovely clean bathrooms. The cottage is centrally located a few minutes walk from everything Whitby has to offer and with the added bonus of private parking which I believe is essential in Whitby. And that fantastic view! Where else in Whitby can you sit in the bath and see the Abbey. We would definitely stay again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daz H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Damp Musty & Tired”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We visit Whitby at least twice per year & always book accommodation with parking included. We booked Abbey View because it had parking included but when we got the email from you the regarding picking up the keys, it was only mentioned then that the parking space was only suitable for a small car. This was not detailed on the website & should be included in future listings as it is misleading. We had to park elsewhere as the space was too small for our car.

On arrival at the property, the first thing that hit us was the very damp, musty smell. It was clear that there is a damp problem in the property as in the kitchen, rising damp is evident & paint/plaster is flaking off all over the floor.

The living room smells very damp & we had to put a plug in air freshener in there as it was unpleasant.

The Jack & Jill bathroom has a large lump of plaster missing in the ceiling, which is obviously from a previous leak. There is also surface black mold on the walls & shower, especially behind the towel rail, so we did not really want to hang towels there. The floor was also dirty at the side of the shower.

The wall in the front first floor bedroom has black surface mold growing in the corner next to the drawers.

The top single room smells very damp & the woodwork above the bed is rotten. The foof sky lights look like they need a really good clean & all of the dead flies & mold removing.

This could be such a lovely cottage if it is just shut down for a couple of weeks to get the maintenance sorted out.

We will not be recommending this cottage to our friends or family.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thank you for the review. This booking was taken by a third party, an agent. This is not the norm as we deal with at least 95% of our bookings personally. Our parking space is big enough to accommodate an average sized family car. We were not informed by the agent that a larger parking space was required. We could have changed our parking space for a larger one, which we do on numerous occasions throughout the year to meet our guests requirements.
On this occasion we were not aware.
As you can see from our previous reviews, this review is totally out of character.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kels895
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super cozy, great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Great place to stay, cozy but plenty of space for 5 adults. Great location, bit hard to navigate by car but not too bad. Couldn't have asked For better really. Having wifi would have been nice, but for a few days, wasn't hard to be without.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Noisy hot tap in upstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mand1326
Watford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, Quaint cottage ”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've just come home after a lovely few days at Abbey View Cottage.
With parking, it is a hidden gem. An old fashioned cottage with enough mod cons to be comfortable - the only downside being no wifi, which seems to be a sticking point for quite a few guests, judging by the visitors book, however I did get 4G signal throughout most of my stay (which was only really needed for access to YouTube for a tantrumming toddler!)
It really does have a fantastic view of the Abbey and is located close to shops, pubs, restaurants and the wonderful Pannett Park.
Communication with the owners whilst arranging the booking, and during the stay, has been very helpful.
Most definitely recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Weel equipped charming cottage in a great location!
Liked least: Picking keys up from pub other side of town, but it wasn't a great problem
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing