We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Mademoiselles

Mademoiselles
Ranked #1 of 225 Restaurants in Whitby
Price range: US$7 - US$37
Description: Mademoiselles is a French Style cafe bistro with a cozy, quirky ImaGinarium, a Cellar Bar & pretty courtyard. We are open 5 days a week, 10.30-17.00 Tuesday & 10.30-22.30 Wednesday. We offer a simple supper menu on Wednesdays, often with a musician from 7pm. Thursday, Friday & Saturday 10.30-23.00 When we offer a 2 & 3 course set menu serving from 6.30 -8.45pm. Great wine list & amazing Gin menu! The bistro is elegantly styled, in relaxing, comfortable surroundings. Although we don't allow dogs in the bistro we have a courtyard where they would be most welcome! Our food is French & rustic in style. Our menu is small & has been carefully chosen so that there is something for everyone. We also have great vegetarian & vegan choices on offer. As we are Fully licensed, the bistro, Gin room, courtyard & cellar bar are open just for drinks. Our cellar bar & courtyard are proving very popular for group bookings with various platters & nibbles being a great choice.
Restaurant details
Description: Mademoiselles is a French Style cafe bistro with a cozy, quirky ImaGinarium, a Cellar Bar & pretty courtyard. We are open 5 days a week, 10.30-17.00 Tuesday & 10.30-22.30 Wednesday. We offer a simple supper menu on Wednesdays, often with a musician from 7pm. Thursday, Friday & Saturday 10.30-23.00 When we offer a 2 & 3 course set menu serving from 6.30 -8.45pm. Great wine list & amazing Gin menu! The bistro is elegantly styled, in relaxing, comfortable surroundings. Although we don't allow dogs in the bistro we have a courtyard where they would be most welcome! Our food is French & rustic in style. Our menu is small & has been carefully chosen so that there is something for everyone. We also have great vegetarian & vegan choices on offer. As we are Fully licensed, the bistro, Gin room, courtyard & cellar bar are open just for drinks. Our cellar bar & courtyard are proving very popular for group bookings with various platters & nibbles being a great choice.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Went on a Wednesday to the Supper and Music night. The food was excellent and we were entertained by a very talented singer/guitarist. Can highly recommend it!

Thank Curiosity783561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Was great to have freshly cooked food to such a good standard in a lovely setting. Really tasty food for myself (carnivore) and my gf (vegan), delicious drinks selection and a wonderful live singer/musician in a quirky little room. Cute garden for drinks and really pleasant and tentative staff. Thanks for a great night.

Thank Birdiebirdbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get a table and the supper and music night. The service was so friendly and the food was great. Fantastic vegan options! I chose a lentil stew which was so filling and delicious. The night was made more special by the live music from (Sally? i think she was called) There were also plenty gins and gin cocktails to choose from which made it perfect!

I could have stayed for hours though just looking at the decor. Absolutely magical. So many interesting things!

Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Champagne by half bottle check!
Decent array of wines check!
Fabulous decor check!
Amazing food check!
Defeated by the cheese board check!
This place is a masterpiece. Best food in Whitby and great courtyard/ gin room/ dinning area. Reasonably priced and attentive service. Wish this restaurant was in my village!

1  Thank Linniehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We booked a table here because of the reviews we've read - and we were not disappointed! All the positives have been described by others, many times. We agree with them all. Interesting décor, excellent atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff - and, of course, the food!
The menu is not extensive - but there's nevertheless a good variety in the available options. I'd far rather have a smaller range of choices, cooked and served to perfection, than a vast menu presented poorly. Mademoiselles certainly does it right, as far as we're concerned!
We had all three courses, each of which was well presented and delicious. A nice bottle of French sauvignon blanc - at a reasonable price! - rounded things off.
We thoroughly enjoyed our evening, and will certainly return next time we're visiting Whitby.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mademoiselles also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Mademoiselles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing