We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice dog friendly place.”
Review of The Blitz Cafe

The Blitz Cafe
Ranked #36 of 225 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$32
Description: The Blitz is a 1940's style café during the day serving home cooked foods from 9am (seasonal) to 4pm. From 4pm we serve our tapas menu up to 6pm when the A la carte menu is added giving visitors the choice of wonderful tapas dishes or from our superb A la carte menu. Daily specials are available on top of these menus and we have a fully licenced bar. Parties are welcome and room hire is available for special occasions. We specialise in great gins and classic cocktails and are only too pleased to create bespoke cocktails just for you!
Restaurant details
Description: The Blitz is a 1940's style café during the day serving home cooked foods from 9am (seasonal) to 4pm. From 4pm we serve our tapas menu up to 6pm when the A la carte menu is added giving visitors the choice of wonderful tapas dishes or from our superb A la carte menu. Daily specials are available on top of these menus and we have a fully licenced bar. Parties are welcome and room hire is available for special occasions. We specialise in great gins and classic cocktails and are only too pleased to create bespoke cocktails just for you!
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Looking for a dog friendly place & found one. They do an excellent cheese & red onion sandwich it is served with a nice fresh salad garnish,also scones are good as well.Tea is leaf tea in a good sized pot with beautiful china cups, staff were friendly, will visit again when in Whitby.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Just like the 1940’s, food so over priced for the portion size! Had the tapas and was bitterly disappointed. So much so, I was still starving at the end of the meal I had to go to the shop to buy something. I can’t say negative things about the taste of the food, what there was of it, it was good, but if you charge THAT amount for a dish, there needs to be more then what there was! I love tapas and know they are small dishes, but we ordered 7 for 3 of us, one of which was a child, but even that wasn’t enough. For £50 I expect to be full at the end of a meal. It was more like a starter. We have had tapas at many places before and paid much less for more food. Disappointed as this place has potential!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank The-bees-knees85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This café exceeded our expectations, it wasn't too busy although other cafes were full at the time. We arrived around 11.40am and enjoyed a gorgeous breakfast scone (home baked cheese scone with scrambled egg, bacon, mushrooms and cherry tomato) and open prawn mayo sandwich with side salad. I loved the 40s music and memorabilia and proper old fashioned china cups. I'd ditch the slates and go for old fashioned plates instead though as they weren't in keeping with the theme and my breakfast kept falling off! I will recommend this place and will certainly return for more.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jo4090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Chose Blitz café as dog friendly. Really lovely pot of tea - tea leaves and strainer with china cups. Very very nice. Excellent open hot sandwiches, good portions, well presented. Good value for money. Really nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a drink whilst browsing around the shops. Lovely cafe with lots of war memorabilia to look at. Drinks served in a variety of bone china cups and saucers. Worth a visit, staff very polite and friendly and prices are very reasonable.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 214lindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blitz Cafe also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Blitz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing