We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
299
194
48
26
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
299
194
48
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews settle pudding golden lion bar area flask of fresh milk pay and display lovely atmosphere fish and chips eggs benedict selection of beers sunday lunch the pub evening meal beef roaring fire walking weekend real ale settle to carlisle railway
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018

My family and I visited the Golden Lion between 12th-14th October 2018. we were a party of fve adults and two young ladies i ntheir early teens.
The welcome was sincere and comprehensive in providing the information we needed to know. My granddaughters found the free wi-fi especially helpful.
Our rooms were warm, spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable.
The staff were truly amazing: they seemed to be happy at their work and nothing was too much trouble for them. although all were actively engaged they were co-ordinated by Lyne and everything worked perfectly.
We ate in the restaurant both nights that we stayed and the menu was varied, the food being perfectly cooked, plentiful and atttractively presented.
We will, definitely, be returning.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank kerrygc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Deputy Manager at Golden Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Here at The Golden Lion we try our very best to give all our guests the experience they deserve. So we very happy to hear that we managed to make your time with us a great one.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jamie and The Golden Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere friendly, helpful staff.
We called in on our way home to South Yorkshire from the Western Lakes.
Our two border collies were made very welcome too
I had the seafood linguine , my wife opted for roast beef , both meals were well presented and delicious .
Excellent choice of local ales and sticky toffee pudding to die for.
Hope to see you again soon !

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Deputy Manager at Golden Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Adrian,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are extremely pleased that yourselves and your boarder collies where made to feel very welcome, and you enjoyed everything we have to offer here at The Golden Lion.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Jamie and The Golden Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Warm welcome from friendly staff. Varied food for a Sunday lunch incl the main menu and a handful of Specials incl lamb and beef. Food was plentiful and well presented. Reasonably priced for the quality of food. Settle is a nice town to spend a couple of hours.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mel2ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Deputy Manager at Golden Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed a lovely meal with us while visiting our lovely town.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Jamie and The Golden Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

We visited on Sunday, 14 October 2018 with friends the menu was varied 3 of us opted for the Sunday roast a choice of Beef or Lamb served with carrot and swede mash, roast potatoes, broccoli & Yorkshire pudding. The others chose several dishes from the tapas menu they assured us they were all extremely tasty. The ambiance of the pub was comfortable and friendly with a open fire burning which 2 labradors found to their liking.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Deputy Manager at Golden Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Hello Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased that yourself, your friends and the dogs enjoyed their afternoon with us by the open fire while enjoying our wonderful food.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Jamie and The Golden Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend had a great weekend in the lion we enjoyed lovely breakfasts ,Powerful shower, clean well presented room, most importantly good pillows and friendly staff topped all off with grwat real ale and fab food

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RICHARD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Deputy Manager at Golden Lion at Settle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Hello Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your little weekend away with us here at The Golden Lion, we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Jamie and The Golden Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews