We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hill House is an excellent place to stay: high...”

Review of Hill House Norfolk

Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Hill House Norfolk Drawing Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Hill House Norfolk
Drawing Room
Dining room seats 16 to 18
En-suite bathroom
Kitchen
Designer furniture
Morning room with multimedia system
Games room with lots of toys
Bedroom 1
Four-poster bedroom
En-suite bedroom
Walk through shower/en-suite bedroom
www.hillhousenorfolk.com
Free use of leisure and golf club
Free use of leisure facilities at a local country club 5 mins away
Tennis court and the HH Kids Club
6 acres of gardens and grounds
Lots of catering options including fish and chips
Children's tea in the kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillian F
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hill House is an excellent place to stay: high quality, huge, heaps of fun.”
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Our family (15) had our first family holiday there since we were kids. Hill house was perfect. It sleeps 15 in the most devine bedrooms, with ample space to accommodate everyone's differing needs during the day/night. Eg there's the drawing room for quite sitting and reading, the morning room for watching TV/films/listening the music. The games rooms for pinball, pool, air hockey, etc. the dining room had all 15 of us seated round the table, our evening dinners were socialable and fun events. Everyone was sat comfortably.
The lawn was excellent for rounders and we could even have background music! Early risers blocked seeing the wildlife there too, including a small deer.
In an evening we'd play board games in the drawing room.
Ben and Darren (and crew) were brilliant and certainly worked very hard to ensure our evey need was met. We couldn't ask for any higher levels of customer service.
We had a brilliant, relaxing, fun, time at Hill House. Real quality time for us all to spend in each others company. Our only regret was that we didn't stay long enough! Still on day one we were planning our next trip there!
I can't recommend Hill House highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of everything.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2012
Thank you again for coming to stay and the great review. We are really looking forward to seeing you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne G
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“amazing house”
Reviewed 13 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We received a warm welcome from Ben and Darren at this really amazing house Darren has thought of everything the welcome glass of champagne in front of a roaring fire in the drawing room on arrival, lovely bedlinen and toiletries to the high quality sound system to ensure staying at Hill House an all round fantastic experience. The house is really beautiful spacious and warm.The grounds are lovely including tennis courts. We took advantage of the free use of Dunston Hall leisure club and golf course. we all had a fantastic weekend and would love to come back. The house is apsolutely ideal for a family get together especially at christmas . It is easily the best holiday rental we have stayed at as a group who have been away every year together for the last 8 years

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything it was amazing
Liked least: nothing couldnt fault anything
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2012
Anne - Thank you so much for coming to stay and your great review. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFHarper7...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning place for a special celebration”
Reviewed 8 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous weekend at Hill House to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday with friends and kids aged 3 mths to 4 years old. The owners have thought of everything and spared no expense in creating an amazing country retreat. We were all discussing our return trip within 10 mins of arriving. Ben the manager was incredibly helpful and available to assist with any queries or issues before and during our stay. Adults and kids are equally well catered for with a play room each. A winter visit meant we could appreciate roaring fires in each room and saturday's snow. We also had dinner catered for us with chef and staff by Bespoke which was a real treat and definitely worth doing. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The thoughtfulness and generosity of the owners: welcome hamper, baby station, current issue magazines, dog suite and treats, popcorn in the tv room
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2012
Thank you for the review Anne - it is very much appreciated. We are so glad that you had a great time with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulCrouc...
West Malling, Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hill House - "The Pursuit of Excellence"”
Reviewed 28 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

"One instinctively knows when something is right" is a slogan from an old TV advert that so aptly describes the feeling you get when you arrive at and enter Hill House. My expectations were high based on the impressive website and Hill House doesn't disappoint on any level.
The house is stunning, quality abounds throughout, and the mix of traditional and contemporary style is just perfect.
If you are in two minds as to whether to take your children to Hill House, preferring instead a quiet weekend on your own, then take them. You will get the best of both worlds as you won't see them during your stay, as the games room, multi media facilities and garden will ensure they only come to find you when they want feeding!
The fact that Hill House has a "Dog Room" that is bigger than my own children's bedrooms at home is indicative of the quality and attention to detail that prevails throughout. The gift on arrival was also a nice touch.
Fish and chips from the van that will call at the house were an excellent way to start our weekend. We also used the Local Foods Direct website for some regional produce which I would recommend. The swimming pool and spa at Dunstan Hall were also enjoyed by our party.
Ben the House Manager was most helpful before and during our stay and nothing was too much trouble for him.
Hill House is not pursuing excellence, it has already achieved it. What is most impressive however is the managements' desire and plans to still further improve the house, the facilities and the experience they offer. A difficult task indeed and I look forward to seeing how they achieve this when I return some time in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality, space, ambiance, location, service
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2012
Thank you for the review Paul and thanks again for choosing Hill House for your 50th. We also look forward to seeing you again in the future. We're already working on some very exciting projects at the house - if you follow-us on our facebook page 'Hill House Norfolk' you'll be able to see how we're getting on!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C
Bromsgrove
1 review
“An amazing place to celebrate”
Reviewed 19 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

I have just spent the weekend at Hill House for my 40th birthday and it was fantastic, I knew it would be great but it was so much more. The house was so well presented and there were so many great finishing touches, from the arrival drinks and chocolates to the Candy Canes dotted about. My shopping had been delivered in advance and had been beautifully arranged too. We had a group of adults and kids from 1-10 years and the house accomodated us well, I loved the pinball machine whilst the kids couldn't decide whether they prefered the Playstation2 & pool room or the room with the supersized TV in it and the great collection of up to date DVD's to choose from.
We used Dunston Hall which was nice and relaxing but other than that we just chilled at the house, the owners have a huge selection of leaflets on things to do in the area though and there is a lot for families around so I hope to return for a week in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The games room with the Pinball & Space Invaders (my era)
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2011
Thanks so much for the review Jo - we really appreciate your comments...We're so glad that you had a great time with us and we also hope to see you this Summer. See you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1 107
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing