We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern, clean and lovely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Aswad Barn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Outside setting area with barbeque
Entrance to property
Garaging under carport
Bathroom with large shower
Cloakroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Andrew Z
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and lovely”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage is very clean and modern yet it has character. The owner, Linda, was very friendly and even left us some milk and eggs for the morning. We used our Satnav GPS which brought us to the wrong address (beware that Google Maps does not show the right location for this address and it's difficult to see at night!) The owner was kind and had offered us directions.

We definitely recommend this accommodation if you're staying in the area - it even can have more people than four if you're ok to sleep in the sofas. Just make sure you talk to Linda to get the directions right!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Con amigos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave t
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely safe enviroment for young children”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have 2 year old son and we felt very relaxed as had locked gates to the entrance of the property at all times. the owners made us feel very welcome and even brought out toys for my son to enjoy. I would definatley recommend this property to any of my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jejc1992
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“An all rounder”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed here for new year, upon arriving at the house I instantly thought that this property was even better than advertised. It was well equipped, very clean and Linda was helpful and friendly.

The area was quiet but not too isolated. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a quiet village”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This cottage has been renovated to an extremely high standard. It opens onto a courtyard so is safe for children. There are no windows on the road side of the cottage so there is no traffic noise. The roads are quiet so you can do lovely walks immediately from the door. It is only about 20 minutes from central Norwich. The utensils and kitchen furnishings are more than adequate. I cooked a full Christmas lunch for 4 people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the way the owners made it so easy.
Liked least: Nothing! We had a lovely visit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flottermo...
Harrow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very well located cottage”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Very well situated and eqipped barn converstion opposite owners house, Linda and Melvyn very friendly and helpful to the extent there were fresh eggs and a bottle of wine for us, all cleaning equipment , towels and linen provided too. I traveled there with my byfriend and my teenage daughter, who like most are internet addicted , Linda provided her with internet access at no extra cost , a big help. one tip would be to use the park and ride facility to go to Norwich so you havent got to worry about parking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fact it has two loos
Liked least: not having a garden , but there is a small patio area with picnic style table
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing