We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Bowling House Restaurant
Ranked #226 of 894 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Description: We are a restaurant and bar that just happens to have 5 lanes of bowling! Join us for some Tapas, Cocktails, Beers or a game of bowling. Open 7 days a week until 23:00 except Friday and Saturday where we keep the good times rolling until 00:00. Eat, Drink, Bowl (or just join us for a drink or food!!) Over 18s only after 19:00. Food times vary to opening hours.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a restaurant and bar that just happens to have 5 lanes of bowling! Join us for some Tapas, Cocktails, Beers or a game of bowling. Open 7 days a week until 23:00 except Friday and Saturday where we keep the good times rolling until 00:00. Eat, Drink, Bowl (or just join us for a drink or food!!) Over 18s only after 19:00. Food times vary to opening hours.
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

I have been to the Bowling House twice now. Once on a works night out and again with a friend. It’s got a great atmosphere and I will be returning again. It’s fairly small with only 5 lanes but this makes it feel atmospheric and fairly sophisticated. It’s like bowling for adults! The staff are lovey, kind and helpful, had a little chat at the bar and spoke like we had been friends for years. I recommend this highly and is perfect before a night out!

Thank Rosa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan K, Owner at Bowling House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Hi 'Rosa H'

Firstly thanks for coming to see us a couple of times in our still relatively early days (can't believe its been just over 2 months already!) but also for your really kind review. We're working really hard at making people feel welcome here as we want people to come and have fun whilst having some great food and drinks so your comments are really pleasing to read. Be sure to say hi on your next visit!

Many thanks,

Dan

Dan Knights,
F&B Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

We visited a few days after opening. The food was fantastic - menu has a wide choice of options.

Bowling was brilliant, although I would say that as I won.

Staff were great also - thank you to Jack and the team. We will return.

Thank h0lidaysarec0ming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan K, Owner at Bowling House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi 'h0lidaysarec0ming'

We're really grateful for your review, especially so soon after our opening as it's great to hear that we are hitting the expectations that we have set ourselves. We're really looking to build a reputation for the food we are serving so hearing your comments is really pleasing. Congrats on the victory - should you be considering a larger group booking we are looking to create tournament style competitions and we now have our monthly leaderboard in operation so be sure to come and see if you can get your name on that!

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Dan

Dan Knights,
F & B Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We had the best night on Sunday. Amazing drinks, amazing atmosphere, amazing staff. Abi was the best at organising our staff party, she really looked after us and it wouldn't have been the same without her. She's an asset to the company and we will definitely be planning more staff nights out! Thank you Bowling House!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan K, Owner at Bowling House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi 'Aaron R'

Thanks very much for your review following your staff visit to us last Sunday. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed it and we will be sure to let Abi know of your comments - we feel the same! Great to hear that your team will be back with us and we look forward to seeing you on that eventuality!

Many thanks,

Dan Knights,

F&B Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely time here with friends for my birthday. We went on Tuesday 17th April. We only played one game and had food afterwards. The food was amazing. We all enjoyed it. Staff were very friendly and sociable. The bowling isn’t a full sized lane in length though I believe, and the pins are on springs not like full scale 10 pin bowling, but you do use proper bowling balls. We loved our time here, great location and atmosphere.

Thank Sarah_Norwich85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan K, Owner at Bowling House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi 'Sarah_Norwich85'

Thanks very much for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us the other week and thanks for the review! We are now offering 3 for 2 on bowling all day every day, except for after 18:00 on a Friday and Saturday, so the option for more games is now in place. We've also just changed our menu as of May so what better reason than to come back and see us again soon!

Many thanks,

Dan

F&B Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Great menu full of quality cool pickings to share, some better value than others. I loved the thyme and salt fries at only £3.50. We shared the sharing nachos, plump with chilli, salsa and sour cream at £14 for 2. Great sides and salads - - choose a few each and tuck in.
The Bowling house also hosts a well stacked bar, specialising in amazing cocktails from £7, plus they offer a small selection of sharing ones too.
Loved the shakes at £4.50 a generous chunky glass full of luscious ice-cream, blended with the good stuff and more.
Lots of tables and chairs of all sorts, in nooks and crannies, like the top tier snug. the ones opposite the bar or the ones round the back - so you can be sociable or chill with friends.
Plus try the ten pin bowling from £5.50 pp with 5 automated lanes.
Food times vary as its a new place to hang out so check first - but its well worth a visit.
Paid parking at the back of Toys R us, or Toys R Was, up to 2 hours mid week on some streets or free after 6.30, if you can get in! But its not far from the city centre and a 10 min walk from Chapelfield.

Thank zenaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan K, Owner at Bowling House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi 'zenaLee'

What can we say other than a huge thank you! Your summary says more than we would have been able to in our own synopsis! Your run down of our tapas style menu and lay out is really appreciated and the fact you highlight the local parking and how close we are to the city centre is really appreciated. We should take this opportunity to also mention that you don't have to be bowling to visit us - just coming in for a bite to eat or a drink is also encouraged and welcomed. Be sure to say hello next time you're in!

Many thanks,


Dan Knights

F & B Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bowling House Restaurant also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Bowling House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing