We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, at exceptional prices”
Review of The Garden

The Garden
Ranked #2 906 of 23 778 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$7 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
Description: Authentic Italian food in a quirky location. Sunday Brunchy Tapas. Our menu is seasonal and focuses on quality rather than quantity. It is representative of original recipes cooked in a modern way. We love to make fresh pasta and cakes, above everything we love our food. Lunch, Brunch and Dinner menu to suit all palates. Italian cuisine is noted for its local diversity, abundance of difference in taste. We run a monthly social night inspired from a different region called -The Gastronomic Tour- of Italy.
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Italian food in a quirky location. Sunday Brunchy Tapas. Our menu is seasonal and focuses on quality rather than quantity. It is representative of original recipes cooked in a modern way. We love to make fresh pasta and cakes, above everything we love our food. Lunch, Brunch and Dinner menu to suit all palates. Italian cuisine is noted for its local diversity, abundance of difference in taste. We run a monthly social night inspired from a different region called -The Gastronomic Tour- of Italy.
Reviewed 8 March 2020

This little local Italian was a total surprise - thank you West Norwood, for giving us such a hit. The warm welcome from the many Sat night Italian front of house staff, was followed by encouraging noises for our choices. To find such beautifully cooked courgette flowers and mozzarella deep fried in a light, crispy batter is rare, but they were 10/10. Our vegetarian mains - ravioli in a sage and butter sauce, as well as orecchiette in a tomato, aubergine, olive and walnut sauce - were out of this world. We drank a fruit and limonata smoothie, as we wanted to keep our heads clear before heading to the Film Festival. Delicious authentic food, and a lovely atmosphere. I expect this restaurant will go from strength to strength.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank whateverfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2020 via mobile

A friend recommended this place to me and I wasn’t disappointed. After a super friendly welcome Gaia found us a table despite me accidentally booking for the wrong day! Fabulous food and attentive service even though everyone was so busy. We will be back.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank evem432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2020

This is a lovely local Italian restaurant specialising mainly in pizzas made on the premises in their own pizza oven, The restaurant is close to West Norwood Station. There is a small dining area at the front of the restaurant with a much larger dining area down a couple of steps at the back. The decor is pretty basic with wooden tables & wooden garden chairs. The pizza oven is in one corner of the rear dining area. We were taken there by our daughter & son together with their families so there were 10 of us in the party of which 4 were children ranging from 3 to 15 years old. After some predinner drinks - the restaurant offers a reasonable cocktail menu, a small wine list and alcholic & non alcoholic beers. We all chose differing starters - fried calamari, meatballs , king prawns & bruchetta together with orders of bread which came with balsamic vinegar & olive oil. All the dishes were very good. There were some daily specials on the board & as well as the extensive range of pizzas there were a couple of pasta & meat dishes including ox cheek which was different. However most of us had pizzas which were thin crust and you could add extra portions of the ingredients to your pizza if you wanted to. The portion size was large and not many of us finished all of the dish but there was no problems in getting boxes to take what remained away. The service was good though were was a slight delay in a couple of peoples pizzas arriving at the table but you sort of expect that when 8 people order pizza at the same time. We all thoroughly enjoyed the meal , the food was good , the service to match and it was great value for money and it was very busy when we left so booking particularly on a saturday night when we went is a must. A fun evening.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stonellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

Went here before South London Theatre play with my husband and some friends. Excellent food and drink and lovely atmosphere and reasonably priced. A great find! We’ll be back.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank ruthblakeborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2019 via mobile

The most terrific Italian restaurant. It was my first visit and I was blown away. This little restaurant is absolutely charming. The food was authentically Italian served by the most charming staff. A really very happy experience.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank 12geraldineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.