We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giving it 2 as it’s around the corner from our house...”
Review of Duchess of Kent

Duchess of Kent
Ranked #13 727 of 24 678 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$20 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Just a stone's throw from Highbury Corner, The Duchess is one of Islington's best kept secrets. Step away from the North London crowds into this homely pub, a real treat come rain or shine. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy a pint of Real Ale or glass of wine, dining from our Seasonal British menu or enjoying the sport on one of our 3 tvs. With great weekly events from our pub quiz to live music, as well as showing all the action from the World Cup 2018 live, we’re the perfect place to while away an evening or two. As if that wasn't good enough, being just minutes from the Emirates Stadium we are the perfect stop off pre or post match, with our street side BBQ, great drinks selection and the best menu in Highbury. The Duchess is not to be missed!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

... and that’s where the positives almost end.

It’s nice inside and they’ve got tables outsides as well that get nice afternoon sun.

Drinks are expensive, however they do have a variety of options on offer which is good.

Food has been terrible every time. It’s sad as it’s our local and we’d eat here a lot more often if the food was half decent, but unfortunately, we only ever come in for a quick drink and prefer to frequent other pubs in Islington that offer a far superior food experience - Pig and Butcher, The Canonbury, The Marques to name a few. You’re not hard pressed for options in our area, so why suffer with another bad meal.

Even the bar snacks are sub par mediocre, the scotch egg is so firm and tasteless, it is like swallowing a paper mache stone.

For someone who likes a fresh meal like me, this place is a no for food.

Staff are a mixed bag. The American guy at the bar is nice, and always polite. The Spanish lady is attentive but never cracks a smile. A lady served us one day and brought back a completely random order as she barely spoke a word of English. The manager came over and sorted it all out but he seemed grumpy about it all, muttering under his breath.

Anyway, we keep coming as it’s convenient for one or two drinks on our way home sometimes.

Thank LisaASchulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoKManager, Guest Relations Manager at Duchess of Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lisa,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear that your food has not been up to our normal standard on your visits.

I will take all the comments back to the management team and head chef, so we can improve our offering.

If you would like to discuss this further or send me more info then please do email me on duchessofkentevents@geronimo-inns.co.uk

Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Over priced cr@p food , typical London - staff friendly enough though - pie was truly terrible, drowned it in ketchup just to get it down, and I don’t like ketchup

1  Thank lhowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoKManager, Guest Relations Manager at Duchess of Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

I'm really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your food! Especially one of our pies, they are always a best seller!

I will pass your comments back to the team. Next time you have an issue with any part of your visit, please do let us know while you are here so we can best find a solution.

Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Decided to stop in for a quick drink on the way home and sit outside on a sunny afternoon. Ordered a glass of rose - it was £11.10 for ONE GLASS! Nice, but not that nice. I spent the whole weekend in London and didn’t pay more than £7 for a large glass, even in the central bars and cafes. Felt utterly ripped off!

Thank ebatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoKManager, Guest Relations Manager at Duchess of Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hi there,

I'm sorry you feel we are expensive, we do stock a premium wine selection, so you do have to pay a little extra for this. Also all our prices are clearly marked on the wine list to see while choosing, so there are no surprises when paying.

We regularly carry competitor analysis, to ensure our prices are in line with those of similar businesses in the area as well.

Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Went with wife for a lunch and a few quiet drinks and some food. Was nice to "escape”London". The hustle and bustle of London was not evident here. a hidden gem in islingston. Staff friendly and knowledgable,Next time I want to enjoy myself, I might not take the wife but will definitely go back to the Dutchess

Thank Pac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoKManager, Guest Relations Manager at Duchess of Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thanks for a great review!

Glad to see you had a great time with us,

See you again soon, with or without your wife!

Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Friendly staff, good food, good selection of drinks and amazing for football and rugby matches. Very family friendly and with a nice local crowd.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cibelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoKManager, Guest Relations Manager at Duchess of Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thanks for a great review Cibelle,

Be sure to pop by during the world cup, we have lots going on!

Hollie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duchess of Kent also viewed

 

Been to Duchess of Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing