We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Always Magnificent ”

Pachamama Bar & Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Pachamama Bar & Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 919 of 25 295 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Marylebone
Description: Pachamama is a Peruvian-inspired bar & restaurant in Marylebone that is dedicated to making the most of the extraordinary ingredients, available in the UK. The dishes on the seasonally-changing menu are designed to share, featuring fresh seafood, vibrant vegetables and charcoal-grilled meats. Dedicated to experimentation and innovation, the kitchen frequently introduce new dishes and continue to surprise and delight even our most frequent diners. From Tuesday to Sunday from 12, we serve our daytime menu featuring signature dishes like Seabass ceviche with samphire and radish and 'London's best burger', the 'pan con chicharron'. New dishes for winter include 'Pollo a la Brasa' or 'Peruvian' roast chicken, also a twist on traditional fish & chips with lemon sole and Peruvian tartar sauce. The bar centers around Pisco, the national spirit of Peru, and displays jars of infusions with ingredients from the kitchen such as fennel, beetroot and rhubarb. Taking a sophisticated twist on classics, the cocktail menu, along with our bartenders, will seduce and charm until late.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We were seated in the main area. It was packed and therefore, noisy so conversations were limited or equally loud.

The food is always exceptional. Ceviche, fried, or roasts all mouth watering. Mocktails are refreshing.

Thank Mypace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pachamama_Marylebone, Owner at Pachamama Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Mypace,
By the lightning bolt of Zeus, what an utterly wholesome review; the very sort that evokes the feeling one might encounter whilst raging down the Californian coastline in a convertible Ford Mustang, listening to Mozart’s Sunday Bloody Sunday after a refreshing swim in the Pacific Ocean. This all sounds rather heavenly to me, as does your collection of kinds words, with reference to the sheer magnificence of the house of Pachamama.

I am rather emotional today on account of seeing an act of kindness; the act itself was nothing exceptionally quixotic. It was merely a young man, whom was clearly living on the streets - and judging by the state of his ragged clothes and broken fingernails having a very hard time of it - helping an elderly lady across the road. She was at first affrighted by this most unfortunate individual but when he took her hand and explained that he was going to assist her in crossing the street safely, she saw something better in him than probably anybody else that same day had the heart to do and grasped his arm, and was in turn guided safely across Oxford Street. It was when she reached into her bag to award the scraggly gentleman that my emotions were vehemently stirred. He refused any such offerings and instead kissed her hand and hobbled off back into the wretched world in which he sees out his existence; a world that for it all of its unsavoury occurrences immures this dishevelled cavalier. I must admit, as I watched him disappear into the surfacing crowds at Bond Street and jump over the barrier at the underground, I no longer recognised him as a man. For I believe I had just witnessed the work of a rogue angel, whom had fallen from favour and heaven alike and carved out a life as a vagrant caballero, one whom by a most unfortunate series of circumstances - most probably not in any way of his own doing - shall evermore remain unknown to me and the lady he showed unquestionable kindness and chivalry toward.
And so shone a good deed in a weary world. A deed that caused my throat to swell up like a bullfrog and my eyes grow steadily red and lachrymose.

You have been extremely kind to us and therefore it is only right that we return the favour. Please accept a complimentary pisco sour each for yourself and a guest when you next dine with us at Pachamama or Chicama.
Simply drop an email to hello@pachamamalondon.com with your booking details and proof of your review nom de plume, and the front of house team will be happy to arrange them for you both.


Red Mustangs loaded with love to you, from Nacho and the entire Pachamama family XxxX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

This review is a bit late in coming but I love this restaurant so its worth putting up! The food is really good - not cheap but decent portion sizes bearing in mind it is tapas. The ceviche is amazing, you must try it! There is some good cocktail action as well. Great atmosphere both times I've been there.

The only downside is that it is hard to get a table without a reservation (I have managed to walk in at 6.00pm and 9.00pm but get the impression that any time in between it would be difficult to do so).

A really good option if you want to find some good food near Oxford St or Bond St.

Thank EMD100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pachamama_Marylebone, Owner at Pachamama Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear EMD100,

Occasionally, and I use this word extremely sparingly, I come across a review that truly makes me smile. I am beginning, albeit imperceptibly, to believe that there is good in people. You see, EMD100, for that which seemed a veritable eon, I lost faith in humanity. I could not see nor even imagine any manner of toe-hold and stared out across the vortex of gloom in front of me, my peripheral revealing little more than hoards of plague-heavy rats where human beings stood. Their idiocy appeared relentless, knowing no bounds whatsoever; it seemed to me, for such a very long time, that we were doomed to destroy the world which we were only ever supposed to guardian; that we had no respect or decency left in us and that our cores were so riddled with rot and decay that morgues were more likely to find dusty clumps of coal when opening up the chest cavities of the deceased, then they ever were to view upon hearts.
Recently I have seen things; small and singular acts of decency, decorum and, Jupiter forbid, benignity. If this continues and if those of such aforementioned dispositions arise to enlighten the masses and lead them into the future, then there is the possibility that I was wrong; I can hope and pray for nothing more than this. Eruditeness and enlightenment is the only way forward to a world that future generations can enjoy and look back upon ours as the one that began the critical awakening which ensured the future of our planet.

On a slightly lighter note, please accept a complimentary pisco sour for yourself and a guest when you next dine at Pachamama or Chicama. Simply drop an email to hello@pachamamalondon.com with your booking details and proof of your review nom de plume, and the front of house team will be happy to arrange them for you both.

Until such time, I wish you nothing less than the absolute best for the foreseeable future.

Sky-high stacks of love to you, from Nacho and the Pachamama family XxxX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

I celebrated my Birthday here with my wife at the weekend, following a recommendation from a friend.....and I have to say it was a great experience. Although initially difficult to find, once inside the excellent staff were very friendly and knowledgable and I welcomed the recommendation to order quite a few dishes to share, I personally like this way of dining. The Crispy Lamb Belly was just amazing, and the smoked cheddar tequenos so good we had to order another portion. This was also my first experience of the classic Pisco Sour, so dangerously good you wont stop at just one !
We'll definitely return and recommend to friends. Thank you to the team for looking after us

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pachamama_Marylebone, Owner at Pachamama Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Richard S,

It was nothing short of a pleasure to have you dine with us, and extremely good form of you to provide such a perfectly executed review.
I believe that Pachamama is indeed a hidden gem, whether closest in comparison to one from the depths of Ali Baba’s stash house or to that of The Moonstone I know not. Either way, being compared to a semi-precious formation of mineral crystal, whether polished or unpolished, is never to be considered a disagreeable analogy.
And for this we send you our very fondest regards.

Treasure troves loaded with love to you, from Nacho and the Pachamama family XxxX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

This a lovely restaurant. Had a romantic meal with my husband. There were also groups of friends at other tables. Food tastes fresh and the flavours are soooo nice. Friendly staff, we’d never tried Peruvian food and they were patient and keen to explain the dishes and make recommendations. The atmosphere is cool and relaxed and feels very snug. Prices are reasonable. I had the house white wine which was really tasty! Highly recommend this place if you’ve never tried Peruvian food.

Thank Kerri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pachamama_Marylebone, Owner at Pachamama Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Kerri A,

Primarily, I simply wish to say thank you for this fantastic rating and review.
Secondarily, well now that is an altogether different matter.
Ah romance, the very axiom of potential happiness, an uncertain portal into which we all recklessly swan dive, time and time again. Romance’s tutelage of its wayward progeny named Love, can be a prickly one, although if and when the mood strikes this mercurial nymph - for I feel her gender to clearly display the constitutional traits of a female - she will award us the greatest prize of all, which is the recognition of our counterpart in another and the imperceptible want to forthwith banish our inherent self interest and grow for, and as part of, another.
Should Romance herself ever leave us, then soon after her offspring shall too. So pay heed, all who read this and remember the dangers incurred by that most wretched and easily achieved, complete complacency of the heart.

Yours clearly burns as brightly as an Olympic torch and this alone warrants some degree of award. Please accept a complimentary pisco cocktail each, when yourself and your husband next join us to dine at either Pachamama or Chicama.
Simply show the front of house team this review and proof of who you are to receive them.

Rowing boats loaded with love to you, from Nacho and the entire Pachamama family XxxX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

8 of us went for dinner and we had a lovely table. It took a while for them to take the drinks order and a while to get them delivered.

We struggled to place our food order but once done the food was served promptly.

Now for the positives - most of the dishes we ordered were expensive especially the sea bass and tuna ceviche, padron pepper, fried chicken, asparagus, pork and beef short ribs. The lamb belly and crab churros were rather disappointing, though.

Deserts were quite good especially the chocolate deserts.

Overall great food though the number of servers should be increased.

About 50 per head.

Thank AK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pachamama_Marylebone, Owner at Pachamama Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear AK6,

Although a fraction concerned by your nom de plume and whether or not it leans toward a fondness for the vans to be found trundling about the open roads of provincial France, or an assault rifle, I have to say thank you regardlessly for your review and add on that I can but hope and pray it is the former.

I am saddened to hear that you struggled to place your food order but nonetheless gladdened by the fact that you thoroughly enjoyed the dishes when they were promptly served.

I feel the need to mention that all of our prices are set fairly according the rates and costs incurred with running a Marylebone restaurant. I have seen menus in the area that would cause a black American Express to shrivel up like a sundried tomato, whiteout even leaving the safety of the folds of its owner’s luxurious wallet or purse, and thus feel secure that what we do here, is well within the realms of righteousness.

In closing I just wish to offer you our sincere gratitude for taking the time to post a most pleasant review for us and look forward to seeing you again at either Pachamama or Chicama.

Citroën Ak6s loaded with love to you, from all of us here at Pachamama XxxX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pachamama Bar & Kitchen also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Pachamama Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing