We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Failed to change booking”
Review of The Black Lion

The Black Lion
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Lion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 089 of 25 591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Called up to change my booking to delay by an hour. They didn’t do this so I lost my table. They brought one in from the garden luckily, but we were practically sat in the kitchen by the till. Not really on when I had such a simple request and they confirmed it on the phone. Wouldn’t book a table here again. OH - and their card machines didn’t work either so everyone had to go and get cash out, and you had to queue for 10 mins to find that out!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ben1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLNW6, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hi Ben, I'm sorry again for the error with your booking. It was a busy day and unfortunately a breakdown in communication caused this error. The table we brought in for you is normally a part of our restaurant, located in the same spot and every effort was made to ensure you were happy with the arrangement. We deal with a lot of reservation requests and have very few mistakes, if you were to book with us again (which we hope you do) I can assure you that you'll experience the great service we pride ourselves on.

Regarding the card machines they did unfortunately drop out near kick off therefore we had very little time to communicate this issue. We were in luck in that we had a technician on site at the moment it happened who resolved the issue as quickly as possible, we apologise to all for the inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018

Great service and food! Fun Pub. Staff was really friendly. We were in the garden and there were constantly check up on us. After 10 pm we were invited to go indoors. Great music! We danced!!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLNW6, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you, Maria! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the beer garden and even more than music - you can get involved with the tunes using Secret DJ too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We were stopping nearby for a Wembley concert and popped in here for our pre-concert dinner. So glad we did the service, drinks and food was excellent. We even managed a drink after the concert as well!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank MattandTeresaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLNW6, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thanks Matt and Teresa, we're glad to be part of your Wembley experience! Hopefully see you next time you're around again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

I don’t normally write reviews but the meal I had and service by Iona was second to none. Will be going again and recommending to my friends.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank JimmyElk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLNW6, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Thanks Jimmy! We appreciate you coming on here to share your great experience and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

The Black Lion always seems to be popular with the odd celeb sighting and large beer garden. Staff are friendly and professional and the service is always excellent. The food is also lovely with some good veggie options. The vibe is lovely and vibrant. Whether going for dinner, Sunday lunch, pub quiz or drinks, the Black Lion comes highly recommend.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank jenbet2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLNW6, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi there, we do enjoy the odd bit of celeb spotting mixed in amongst our regulars! We're glad you like the veggie options too, we have even more coming soon including a vegan "fish" and chips! Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Lion also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing