We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed. ”

Viet Hoa Cafe & Mess
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 11/27
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #9 470 of 24 323 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: East End / East London
Description: "Hoa" means blossoming! We serve a fresh blend of traditional and modern, good honest Vietnamese food. Eat in or order out today!
Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

The food I chose (coconut curry with tofu) was not great. My first bite was on an unmelt stock cube. The tofu had a funny taste, did not feel fresh. My husband was happy enough with the duck.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Mariedom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak Can A, Acente / Danışman at Viet Hoa Cafe & Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2021

Hi Marie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us so we can address some of the issues.

We're sorry to hear you were not impressed with our Coconut Curry. We do not use stock cubes in our curries so your first bite was likely a cube cut vegetable. We assure you that the tofu was fresh, as we check our ingredients' freshness daily.

It's good to hear that your husband enjoyed his meal, but we think that noone should leave Viet Hoa dissatisfied. Would you please email us at info@viethoa.co.uk so we can try and make it up to you?

Kind regards,
Team Viet Hoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2021

We ordered food from here through Uber. We received the wring order so contacted the restaurant. The waiter who picked up the as very rude and hung up the phone without resolving the issue. This left us to have to go to the restaurant to resolve it in person as the food we received we were unable to eat due to food intolerances. When there my husband was racially abused by the staff there and accused of lying. They assumed by the colour of his skin he was a delivery driver and pushed him out of the restaurant. The food the Uber driver had given us was not for their restaurant. This is unacceptable behaviour. If the waiter spoke with us and resolved this over the phone this could of been resolved. Very disappointed in their attitude, behaviour and service. Won’t be ever ordering from them again!!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Spinelly1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2021

Really tasty food, excellent service. Would go again.
The restaurant is clean but could do with a more inviting decor, felt a bit bare!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Zilly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2021 via mobile

We ordered a takeaway from Viet Hoa last night (via Deliveroo) and were very disappointed. The veg dim sum was undercooked (presumably frozen beforehand) and the Singapore vermicelli was really vile - as soon as it was opened there was a disgusting smell to it (possibly burnt) & it tasted exactly like it smelled too, so we left the whole thing. We tried calling the restaurant to let them know but couldn’t get through. We’ve eaten here a few times before but won’t be doing so again if last nights food was anything to go by. A shame.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank lous19842018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viet Hoa, General Manager at Viet Hoa Cafe & Mess, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Hi there, we're very sorry to hear about your experience! Please be assured that everything is cooked from fresh in our kitchen and we'd love to be given to opportunity to satisfy your taste buds again. Please get in touch via our website for your next meal with us to be on the house :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2020

Table booked and waiting for us. Very busy night due to the eat out to help out’ scheme, but the service was great, the food superb and the atmosphere was brilliant. Will definitely come back. The Negroni was pretty good as well. Thanks

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Viet Hoa Cafe & Mess also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Viet Hoa Cafe & Mess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.