We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant & Friendly Trad Italian”

Da Paolo Restaurant
Ranked #319 of 24 659 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Fitzrovia
Description: This traditional Italian restaurant, reputed as “A village restaurant in the heart of London”, prides itself on its 'family run' feel yet maintains an air of professionalism when it comes to the service and the authenticity of the food. It feels like home – if Italy is where you're from. It offers the kind of meals a mother would be proud of. The decor creates an intimate ambience with antique furniture and pictures making it an ideal business venue at lunch and perfect for a romantic dinner a deux by night. Patrons who can be found here are a host of regulars, celebrities, tourists on the trail to and from the nearby British Museum and theatre luvvies. The regulars are a-plenty, for the place tends to bring you back, just like Rome's Trevi Fontana. Menu highlights include Crab Meat and Prawns Salad, Risotto Salsiccia & Barolo, Pappardelle with duck meat & Sage, Whole Grilled Seabass, a Prime Scottish Beef Filet with Blue Cheese and a the traditional Tiramisu which is a must to try. But don't worry, if your favourite dish is not there, Our senior chef’s are more than happy to accommodate your request! We cater for any occasion and up to 35 people on our private room. T & C Apply.This is the place where you can enjoy a relaxing evening out. In fact, you will relax so much you won't want to leave!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Based in the lovely pedestrianised street in Fitzrovia, this warm & welcoming Italian delivered all we wanted & more.
Whilst other restaurants were reluctant to offer outside seating on this warm evening, Da Paolos gave us a pavement table as we wanted without hesitation.
Great staff and good honest Italian food.
After a couple of beers with bread oil & olives we made our choices - the starters are generous and the mains very tasty. Decent wine list accommodating most tastes & budgets including a half bottle selection. Very enjoyable.

Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I went there with two friends for an early dinner in the middle of the week. We were in the area and liked the look of it - we didn't check reviews beforehand, so we had no expectations. Menu, staff and decor are all what you'd want from an authentic Italian restaurant in the heart of London and very different from a chain. The food was well presented and tasty and the portion sizes were genuinely huge (no complaints from us). The bottom end of the wine list wasn't cheap, but I would guess the restaurant would say that they refuse to compromise on quality - which is fair. The staff were very friendly and full marks for the gentle way they dealt with the fact that, in splitting the bill, we didn't hand over enough cash (sorry!). The toilets are downstairs - possibly an issue if you have limited mobility, but usual for a city centre restaurant. Highly recommended and I hope I get the chance to go back.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a family dinner at Da Paolos. The was excellent and the service splendid. We give Da Paolos our warmest rekommendations. For starter we had antipasto to share - a beautiful pile of cold meat - look at the picture :-)

Thank Susanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely superb food. Especially love the Lasagne and pollo da Paolo.
Very sweet and bijou place to enjoy truly delicious Italian cuisine. It really has become my favourite Italian in London and any opportunity I get to eat here I will take it!

1  Thank divineDecadence1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Very, very poor experience unfortunately. We followed TripAdvisor and for the first time it was completely opposite to what the reviews said.

Bread was stale, to say the least. Mussels? Lacked freshness, reeked of fish. Then came the pasta - I could buy the cheapest spaghetti in sainsbury’s and have it on it’s own, would probably taste better. We kindly informed the waiter it was inedible to which he said he would bring a replacement. Gnocchi he then brought were bad, had probably been frozen. When we told the waitress how bad they were she said the menu didn’t say they were home made. Might as well said that the menu didn’t promise it would taste good.

Overall a huge disappointment. Two out of five because the house wine was decent.

1  Thank Piotr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cdacamara, Owner at Da Paolo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mr Piotr S, I apologise for my late response, but due to the unusual nature of this review we had to investigate all the facts of your visit last Sunday. In our opinion Mr Piotr S, having big expectations when you go out to try a new restaurant is good, but being knowledgeable about what you are about to experience is also important. Mussels taste of fish, simply because it’s shellfish. Tagliatelle With Fresh Truffles, probably one of the most emblematic Italian dishes is served with Olive Olive and Truffles (nothing but fresh truffles).

If you can’t find the clams on the shell when eating the Linguine alle Vongole, it’s simply because they split during the cooking process and I assure you they are on the sauce. Regarding our “Gnocchi alla Boscaiola”: I’m sorry we can’t comment on your remarks as it’s the third most popular dish on the menu. We strongly believe you and your partner are just not ready for the quality of our food, which can be confirmed by more than 99% of our clientele. Perhaps you should keep looking for your holy grail among Pizzerias - it seems to be your real interest after all. The Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Paolo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Da Paolo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing