We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$315
US$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arch London(London)
US$422
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$254
US$210
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$192
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$236
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$370
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$858
US$622
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, London(London)
US$631
US$484
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveller rating
258
299
109
39
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
299
109
39
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormoxford streetgreat locationinternet roommixed dormghd straightenersshared roomfemale dormtop bunktottenham courtpower outletsperson roombring earplugscommon areaslounge areapiccadilly circusenglish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 741 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hostel was clean and tidy.
Rooms were way too packed. The ‘Lockers’ were cages chained under the bed that you couldn’t pull out and had to instead force stuff into which makes a lot of noise. Not ideal when people are sleeping. The common area is ok. In a great location for young people.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank maddieeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it! We're sorry you didn't find the cages useful but hope you had a great stay and come back again soon. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here due to work location


Location 20 yards from oxford street

Staff all friendly and helpful

4 person room good size

Clean rooms

Shower room clean

I didn’t eat in the hostel so can’t comment on that

Would 100% use again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Rob51559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it! Hope you had a great stay and come back again soon. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

No electricity IN OUR ROOM, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM ALL STAFF.

DON'T USE STORAGE, My friends Jumper was stolen.. No-one wanted to help and was all dismissive.

WHAT a nightmare, I think the staff need training properly, especially Daniel.

He was supposed to help us with the electricity problem but kept dismissing us. No-one offered us a change of room, just to leave our phone in the communal area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for staying with us at SoHostel we're so sorry about your experience with us! We can understand why you would be disappointed and have since spoken with staff and have put procedures in place to avoid this happening again. The electrical fault was an unforeseen circumstance which has since been resolved. We hope you enjoyed your time in London. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

The showers were great - love that they all had shower heads that were on hoses and could pop off and that the showers had a handle to adjust water temp. Everything in the hostel was clean and professional. Beds were fine. Plenty of power outlets for everyone.
One of my two complaints is regarding the staff. I had to interact with staff a few times and each time I didn’t find them to be friendly at all. More like annoyed they had to be working there. From checking-in to buying laundry tokens to checking-out, the staff just were not happy people and they had an attitude with me (also, why does it take 4 staff to be at the front desk but only one of them can check in guests at a time? I can’t believe I was told to sit and wait to be checked in when they were not understaffed. Very unorganized front desk).
My other complaint is that I stayed in the first room in the Purple section which is right by the lounge area/dining room. It was a 24 bed room which was fine but there was a LOT of noise coming from the dining room which made it hard to sleep. The hostel had the loud music on all night. Like turn that off at night, people are literally 15 yards away sleeping!
I’d stay again if I come back to London but would request a room on the 2nd floor.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank DanAliotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're so sorry to hear about your experience and have taken your comments on board. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again and can ensure you wont feel the same way twice. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

I had to change my booking.com account because I didn't make any booking at this hotel, when I found out that my card had been charged for a booking in the UK, while I was 5,000 miles away, I called the hotel to explain that there must've been a mistake and asked to cancel the booking as I hadn't done it. They refused to give back the amount (£310) and left the room empty and charged me for it. I've learnt to be very careful with my credit card and more so when it comes to dealing with budget hotels that don't care about their reputation or customer service.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Hamza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

We're sorry to hear about your situation and can understand why you would be upset. If you suspect fraudulent activity on your card you should contact and report it to your bank as soon as possible. This booking was made via booking.com, not directly with SoHostel and we followed the terms and conditions of booking. Should you need any further clarity please contact our reservations team. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews