We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue, great service”
Review of Silk & Grain

Silk & Grain
Ranked #2 245 of 25 573 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Located in the heart of the city, Silk & Grain is an independent steak restaurant serving a top quality 35 day aged Scottish steak. All our steak is supplied by J. Gilmour & Co Ltd, an independent family run business established in 1946 specialising in the supply of high quality meats and more specifically “Tweed Valley” beef from the Scottish Borders. Our wine list is specially designed to complement the food variety on our menu and boasts wines from all over the world.
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

I had a business lunch here this week. The food was excellent. The service was also very good without being intrusive. It was a very good place to meet for a reasonably priced business lunch. High tables with high pew benches by the window were a novelty. I would definitely go again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank K9196WBlukec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkAndGrain, Manager at Silk & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Hi Luke,

Many Thanks for choosing to visit us last week, and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you found both the food and service of a high standard, as these are two things that we pride ourselves on. The High Tables are a favourite of our patrons, so glad you got the chance to sample them as well. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future!

Best Regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Dined at this restaurant during a business meeting, had never been before but was easy to locate, and kudos to my colleague for suggesting it. We dined as a party of 6 on a busy Friday lunchtime, and took advantage of their fabulous BYO Friday offer, enjoying some great pristine wines at only £5 corkage.

The service was attentive, but not intrusive, with very knowledgeable staff. The food itself was cooked to perfection. Will defo be back for business and personal visits, I’d recommend the Chateaubriand as a main, fantastic cut and a must try!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkAndGrain, Manager at Silk & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Hi Joey,

Many Thanks for your kind review and for taking the time to dine with us recently. We are glad you were able to locate us easily in the City, and many thanks to your colleague as well for suggesting us!

Our BYO Friday Deal is a popular one, so good to see you jumping on board and taking advantage, we are glad the Chateaubriand paired well with your Wine selections and look forward to welcoming you back to Silk & Grain in the near future.

Best Regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

I came here on Friday after work for dinner and drinks. We had the Chateaubriand to share which was just out of this world with chips and broccoli. As it was Friday it was BYO with £5 corkage which helped make the bill a lot less. I can't remember our waiter's name but he was very helpful and chatty which can't be easy having to explain the same menu over and over again (we were sat upstairs from about 5:45-10pm.) The hours just seemed to drift away as before we knew it we'd sitting there for over 4 hours! I'd 100% recommend this place if you're in the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LittleBigLiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkAndGrain, Manager at Silk & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi LittleBigLiv,

Thank you ever so much for your kind words and review, and for taking the time to visit us on Friday! We are glad you took advantage of our £5 BYO Club (Twice!) to complement your meal, and are especially glad the Chateaubriand and accompaniments were enjoyed by the both of you.

I will pass on your compliments to Umberto, who looked after you on the night. We would love to welcome you back and hopefully continue to impress you, feel free to whittle away as many hours as you like at Silk & Grain! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Booked here recently for a low key relaxed business lunch. I was not disappointed. Excellent lunch - I had dressed crab followed by a very tasty and tender medium rare rib eye cooked to perfection. For the City the wine list (which I believe has been recently updated) is most reasonably priced and offering a adequate choice. The staff are very friendly offer a good service without being intrusive. Will return.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkAndGrain, Manager at Silk & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hi John,

Many thanks for your kind words and the review that you have left, and thank you as well for choosing to dine at Silk & Grain in the first place for your business lunch. I am glad to see that you were not disappointed with the service, or quality of food, provided. The Crab Salad is an excellent choice, and a personal favourite.

You are correct in noticing our wine list has been recently updated, we feel the offering and price works well in our venue. Once again, thank you for choosing Silk & Grain, and for taking the time to leave the review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Good steak, wine & service in simple. Reasonably priced City steakhouse & bar. Good selection of steaks & sides to accompany. Decent wine list & friendly attentive staff. I enjoyed a perfectly cooked & presented ribeye washed down with a Malbec.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank R2737RUtonyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkAndGrain, Manager at Silk & Grain, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hi Tony,

Many thanks for your comments, and for taking the time to not only visit us, but to leave us a review as well. We are glad to see you enjoyed your Steak and the wine accompaniment, and that our staff were friendly and attentive as that is something we pride ourselves on. We would love to see you visit us again, and hopefully make your experience a 5 star one next time!

Kind Regards,

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silk & Grain also viewed

 

Been to Silk & Grain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing