We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #20 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

If you're wanting a hotel in London but not in the middle of the action, this is the place for you. It's on a dead end street so very quiet, especially at night. Was able to check us in several hours early and had a kitchenette, so was able to save some money by not eating out. Close to paddington station, which is good because that's where the heathrow express is, and often where trains from Windsor take off if you're planning a trip there. If you don't mind a ten minute walk to the tube station, you'll enjoy this place.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank mzech14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Director of Sales at The Cleveland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you you for your review.
We are glad you liked your stay and appreciated the tranquility of the location, which we do ourselves. It is nice to hear that the kitchenette was useful as well. We are looking forward to host you again on future occasions.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 9 nights with my husband and son. Hotel is small but rooms are quite spacious with a lovely kitchen area that closes like a cupboard if you don't want to see it. Had enough space for the 3 of us with an extra bed for my son. We didn't pay for the breakfast and preferred to get food from Marks and Spencer 500mts away which worked quite well. Hotel is 10 min away from 2 underground stations: Bayswater and Queensway. We chose whichever was most convenient for our day route. The internet works well but we didn't have a celphone signal in our room which was in the underground section. But wifi solved most of our needs.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank DanaPrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Director of Sales at The Cleveland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a nice, comfortable stay with us and that the kitchenette solution worked great for you. We are looking to host you again on future occasions.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Just got back from 4 nights at this lovely hotel. We e-mailed ahead of our stay and asked for a top floor room and this was accommodated for us which was excellent, our room was very nice, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Having kitchen facilities was great for breakfast. Was very quiet at night which is great for a good nights sleep. Only a short walk from underground and plenty of shops and restaurants around the corner from hotel. Would definitely stay here again. Lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are happy you had a good stay with us. We are glad we could accommodate your request, that is also thanks to you because if you state your request in advance it is easier for us to meet it. It is nice to hear that you would like to stay with us again, we are looking forward to it.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

My wife and I just arrived from a trip to London where we stayed at the Cleveland for one week. The first thing that should be said about the hotel is that the staff is wonderful. They are very friendly and willing to help with anything that you may need. Our room was very clean and quiet and had a small kitchenette that included a microwave a coffee maker and small range with some pots and pans. We didn't use the range but we were happy to make use of the small refrigerator in our room that we used to keep fruit and other snacks. The bathrooms in our room was a decent size for European hotels also,
The Cleveland is located on a very quiet street in the Bayswater section of London. It is just just a few blocks from the very pretty Hyde Park where you can spend the day bike riding or just walking around. Now, I should mention that you are not going to look out your window and see Big Ben. If this is what you are looking for you are going to have to pay A LOT more money!! However this doesn't mean that you will be far from the major attractions. The Cleveland is just a few blocks from two subway stops which will get you whereever you need to go. The Bayswater or Queensway stations will get you to any of the major attractions that you will want to see in central London. The hotel is also just a short walking distance to a large avenue that has a lot of shops and restaurants in case you want to get something to eat or just need to shop for some toiletries.
We plan to stay at this hotel again when we return to London.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a good stay with us. It is nice to hear that the room was comfortable for you and you liked the kitchenette. When it comes to the location, what can we say, we enjoy it ourselves. Thank you for your kind word about our staff, much appreciated. We are looking forward to host you again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

My family of 4 stayed in one of the family rooms. It had a balcony (or 2?). Very spacious. It was clean and very pleasant. Staff are very friendly. They offer 24-hour room service but there is no dining area within the hotel. However, we had a lovely breakfast at a nearby hotel. The neighbourhood is very nice and quiet.
Will stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanaPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcin_Jagodzinski, Sales Manager at The Cleveland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you had a nice stay and enjoyed our family room. Not all the family rooms have a balcony, only two of them (so the two balconies are next to each other). We indeed have no dining room due to limited space, but there is plenty of restaurants to choose from in the vicinity, as you noticed. Thank you for your kind word about our staff. We are looking forward to host you again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#30 of 571 in London
235 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#10 of 571 in London
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#14 of 571 in London
499 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 571 in London
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39-40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: R1 551 - R3 582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing