We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of London's little gems”
Review of Hertford House

Hertford House
Ranked #654 of 1 909 things to do in London
Attraction details
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Few people realise that just a few minutes from Oxford Street is a wonderful place for a visit and afternoon tea. Just 5 minutes walk from theSelfridges Store, in Manchester Square, this house houses a wonderful collection of paintings, furniture, porcelain and silver. The house itself is an exquisite example of an aristocratic town house. In the centre of the building that once was a courtyard there is now a restaurant and tea room covered with a glass roof. Amongst its many treasures is the original 'Laughing Cavalier' painting. The final reason for visiting this lovely place is that it is absolutely free to get in. My wife and I have visited this house many times and we always find something new to look at.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank MalcolmG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

6 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2016

A beautiful house in the heart of London with a fabulous collection of art, armour, china, jewels. All displayed in various rooms exquisitely decorated. Plenty of information in each room and descriptions by exhibits. Make it a short trip round or take your time to enjoy it all, it's over two floors and there's a restaurant where you can enjoy a cuppa and delicious cake or a meal.

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Visited the Wallace collection at Hertford House yesterday. It is well worth a visit as it houses a wonderful collection of paintings, ceramics and furniture. The renovation which has taken place over the last few years means the rooms are all beautifully presented with silk wallpaper and curtains. We were lucky to chance on a guided tour ( free as was the admission price) given by Gabrielle who had wonderful knowledge and showed us the highlights and told us some interesting stories.
There is also a lovely restaurant/ coffee shop and I had some beautiful Victoria sponge with Pimms. My husband had a lemon cake. Lovely surroundings. There is also a wonderful collection of armour. Will definitely be back if in London again.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank 223bernies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

On our last day in London, we decided to do some spontaneous browsing around town and came across the Hertford House currently showing the Wallace Collection. The displays are extensive and stunning, so if you love art or museums, do yourself a service and stop in. Lots of people yet somehow not crowded. There's a restaurant in the back and a gift shop at the front. I don't remember it being particularly close to any tube station, so you may have to leg it a bit (not sure about buses; we just walked).

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2015

The mansion dates back to 1776 when construction first started. It underwent numerous changes over the years, eg serving as the Embassy of
Spain, then of France. Following its establishment as a National Museum in 1900, many additions have been made. In 2000, major renovation was completed in the Lower Ground Floor and the central courtyard was transformed into a delightful restaurant. Late last year, the Great Gallery was re-opened-- to showcase some of the best paintings in the Wallace Collection.

Date of experience: February 2015
1  Thank EmFLoge33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hertford House also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Hertford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing