We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to eat and drink in Wandsworth”
Review of Brewers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brewers Inn
Ranked #502 of 1 077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I love this place, it has great decor and the atmosphere is always vibrant. We have eaten in the dining area a few times and the food has always delivered, huge fan of the classic fish and chips and the beef rib.

The bar staff are super friendly which really makes this a great place to hang out for a few drinks. We have a choice of a few good locals in Wandsworth but we always end up here for good reason!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rama N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017

We arrived from Canada in the morning, tired from our overnight flight, and the staff were warm, friendly, extremely helpful, and had this happy funny engaging vibe that it turns out, everyone working there has. They managed to let us have our room earlier than the usual check in time, which gave us a great sleep and ability to then enjoy our supper and evening in that pretty, charming restaurant/pub. We ate our meals there for the 3 days/nights we stayed, and can't say enough. The full English breakfast was scrumptious, so well cooked & quickly/cheerfully presented, even on the very busy Saturday morning when the pub was full of delighted folks watching a rugby match. The fish & chips & pub-made tartar sauce with creme fraiche, I can't even describe. I ate it more than once, for sure!! The steak surprised my husband, in how good it was, and the beer-- well, yum!! I left my drink selections to the witty warm bar folks, and wasn't steered wrong. The hotel room was lovely, the bed was the most comfortable we experienced in our entire travels in Europe, the air conditioning was most welcome, & even with the pub full of cheering sports fans that Saturday morning, we heard nothing except, while in our bathroom, a tiny bit of the triumphant "yayyyy"s when the home team scored- but even that couldn't be heard in the bedroom. There are outside seats, a really neat lower level intimate wine bar that has to be seen- it intrigued us. There is tons of shopping simply out the door and down the street, and the area felt safe. The biggest bonuses of this place are not able to be advertised-- they have to be experienced! The whole place & staff felt like "home", like we had landed in the giant house of great friends who looked after us like family. They told us how to get into central London, which I have to say was extremely simple and fun-- walk a tiny bit down basically two interesting streets full of shops & cafes, catch the above ground Waterloo train, relax for the 10 min it'll take, and boom, you're at the Waterloo station, a giant spot with food, shops, the London eye is there, the London Dungeon, Westminster Abbey, etc., along with "the tube" that we then hopped on and took all over London. Simple, easy, and that small 10 min train ride/the location of the Brewers Inn in Wandsworth means that we saved buckets of money at that Inn, had the fun and charm of that pub/hotel, and could use the money instead on lots of attractions in the city. It was also a relief to go back to Wandsworth at the end of each day, already recognise some locals (and their dogs) in the pub (the restaurant part is dog -free, lol) and see again the friendly staff at the pub, and talk to them re planning our next day's events. They even helped us with a taxi for the wee hours trip to the airport for our next leg of the journey, and packed us a little breakfast for the trip. James, our main contact was a funny, friendly guy, a delight. I have stayed in "regular" hotels in England, and felt totally out of the loop, separated from having a real feel of London life. But this-- wow! Don't miss this experience!!

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet, private, cozy. You have to be able to walk up a few stairs. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank D d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewersInn, marketing and events coordinator at Brewers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review, and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip over this side of the pond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Free car parking. Nice room, clean, well furnished and decorated, comfortable bed. Our room was at the front and facing a busy main road but there was no noticeable road noise. The room had good air conditioning, free WiFi and full Sky TV, tea/coffee making facilities (quality tea). Breakfast was excellent as was the food in the restaurant. Within walking distance to all public transport.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamandJennifer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a quick breakfast brunch.
Order placed for 1 full n 1 veggie breakfast.
We were the only 2 people eating n it took 25 min for it to arrive.
When it did. Both my poached eggs were rock hard!!
Very disappointing.
Have had it before n was good.
Maybe today was more about getting the pub ready for rugby rather than the punters.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewersInn, Marketing and events cordinator at Brewers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Hi Roy,

We're sorry to have disappointed you, especially after you've had good experiences before. We hope we have the opportunity to improve upon this impression if you join us for breakfast again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We booked the Brewers Inn after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed.

We drove to down so the addition of free car parking is a real bonus. Once we had parked the car we didn't move into until it was time to come home. The Car Park itself is at the side of the pub in St Ann Street and is small with around six spaces so I was a bit worried that there wouldn't be room. I actually emailed concerning this after I had booked and was assured there wouldn't be a problem and this turned out to be the case.

Check-in was easy and the guy we dealt with was very friendly and helpful and gave us good advice about how to get into Central London. The 87 bus is very frequent and stops virtually outside the oub and takes you direct to Trafalgar Square in about 50 minutes. There is also the River Bus which we were going to try but this only runs Monday to Friday to Wandsworth.

The room we had was 17 and was on the top floor and as there are no lifts you have to negotiate two flights of stairs, the stairs are quite steep and this may cause a problem if you aren't very mobile. The room itself was very spacious as was the bathroom. There is a TV will a full Sky package and the Air Conditioning was very welcome as it was very hot when we stayed. The bed we had was very large and comfortable and there were extra pillows provided in a cupboard along with an iron and ironing board.

The windows in the room aren't very good at keeping the noise out and I was a bit worried as we could hear people laughing and shouting in the beer garden area at the back of the pub - this did stop at around 11pm so didn't cause a problem at all.

There was a good selection of teas and biscuits in the room and we made full use of these. There is also a fridge was was handy to keep bottles of water cold.

The bathroom was spacious with a full size bath and shower. I have to say the shower was disappointed and was not powerful at all.

We only had breakfast in the pub and we both found this to be good, although I felt there could have been more than three choices of cereal. As well as cereal the buffet style breakfast contained fruit juices, croissants and bread for toasting. You could then order from the waitress a number of items ranging from toasted waffles to a full english breakfast. There is also unlimited tea or coffee.

The pub itself is very welcoming and we had a few drinks when we returned from our days out, you could also take the drinks to your room. The design and decor of the pub are excellent and there are a range of chairs, couches and pouffes to sit on. There are a number of TV's also. This seems to be a big Rugby pub as there were special menus dotted around the place offering breakfast for the Great Britain Lions games. There is also free Wi-Fi which is available in the pub AND room, with an excellent signal.

Overall our stay was excellent, and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 17, although it was on the top floor it was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikeinsthelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewersInn, marketing and events coordinator at Brewers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for your review, and we're glad you enjoyed it so much. Thank you for your feedback on all aspects of your stay, it helps us constantly improve our guests' experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#107 of 1 077 in London
592 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glenlyn Hotel
#475 of 1 077 in London
545 reviews
Hotel 55
#434 of 1 077 in London
411 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Battersea
Travelodge London Battersea
#801 of 1 077 in London
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewers Inn

Address: 147 East Hill | Wandsworth, London SW18 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#340 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: R1 604 - R2 256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Brewers Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brewers Inn has 16 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms offering all you need for a relaxing & comfortable stay. All our rooms include:•Flat Screen TV’s with Freeview•Direct Dial Telephones•Hair dryer•Ironing Facilities•Tea & Coffee making FacilitiesThere are armchairs for you to relax in, and desks at which to work. In the bathroom, there are luxury towels and complimentary toiletries. Extra beds are available for children sharing a room and Cots are free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Brewers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewers Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing