We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of London Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
London Guest House
Ranked #517 of 1 077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The place is located bit on the outskirt of the main city, but the transportation is easily available, the hotel is nice, with amazing breakfast(complimentary) and the rooms were very well kept.
A very good option for a budget stay

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ankush S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

Location-wise, unless you need to be in this part of London, the only reason for staying here is the price. The hotel is at least 20 minutes walk from the nearest Underground and Overground stations, and although there is a mainline station quite close, there are only 2 trains an hour into central London (Paddington). A bus route passes the hotel, with a stop almost outside, and this is an easier way of getting to the Underground station, although the morning traffic makes it a slow journey. Car parking appeared quite adequate.

The person on Reception was very helpful, and my room (on the second floor) was very clean (except for a large cobweb on the inside of the bathroom window, visible only when I opened the window, and except for several discarded cigarette butts on the parapet outside the window). The room was small, but provided everything I needed for an overnight stay (including tea/coffee making facilities). Although small, the bathroom had a shelf where I could put my razor, brush and comb, toothpaste, etc. (Like many hotels, only the liquid "soap" in a container was supplied, but I now make it a habit to take a bar of proper soap with me.)

The bed was comfortably firm, and I slept well. The room was warm.

Although it was advertised as a "continental breakfast", I was pleasantly surprised to see that the self-service breakfast included hot scrambled egg, beans and potato croquettes. However, the egg didn't taste of anything, and I think it was made up from a manufactured pre-mix. The croissants were croissants only in shape, they were clearly mass-produced, probably from a cut-price supermarket, and not enjoyable. The coffee was cold, and I went back to my room to make a cup of hot coffee. Worst of all, the television was on full volume, with the kind of uninteresting and unimportant trash that passes for "news" nowadays.

In summary, the accommodation was good, and good value for money, the location was acceptable in terms of accessibility to central London, but the breakfast experience was not pleasant.

Room Tip: The traffic passing outside is not too intrusive, but a room at the side is slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peacelover2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGHhotel, Manager at London Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Peacelover2016,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We appreciate as much information as possible so we know where we are doing well and where we need to improve.

I appreciate our location is not the best but we are excited for the start of the Elizabeth Line in December 2019 (the Crossrail) which will cut journey time into Central London by half. We are fortunate though, to have a great bus service right outside our doorstep (24 hour service).

I have noted the cobweb and cigarette stubs outside the windows and will make sure they are cleaned up and always kept clean. Thank you for notifying this.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the breakfast as we usually get positive feedback for this. The eggs are always made fresh and not used from a pre-mix. It maybe the case of a bland batch. I will review the croissants and where we purchase them from. I am surprised to read you had cold coffee as the machie is constantly on to keep the coffee hot. I will invesitage this.

I have also taken note of your comments about the television and will rectify this.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again, this time enjoying the breakfast.

Kind regards

Monish
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Visited London with a friend and our sons. We wanted to stay just outside the centre of London. This Guest house was perfect. The staff were so helpful and welcoming. The family room was clean and had a small fridge which was very useful. There was a continental breakfast with a large selection of foods to choose from.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

My wife and I stayed here from 28th July to 30 July. The room we had was on the lower floor. The room was basic but clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed linen was exceptionally clean. Although the bathroom was on the small side it was again very clean and had everything you need for a good stay. Clean shower basin and WC and a hairdryer not something you expect from a B&B. Breakfast was advertised as continental and included scrambled egg, beans, along with the normal fruit yoghurt and cheese and fruit. Room was ver quiet although situated on a main road. Good transport links to central London.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this hotel for disabled or those with walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay, great staff. Rooms were as expected and breakfast was decent. In a good location and not far from downtown. All in all in was a good stay. If your looking for a reasonable place to just rest your head this is good place for that. No elevator so you must walk the stairs with your bags but that is only twice.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 448billw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Star Hotel
#773 of 1 077 in London
47 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#410 of 1 077 in London
220 reviews
Leigham Court Hotel
#524 of 1 077 in London
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#596 of 1 077 in London
589 reviews
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#609 of 1 077 in London
90 reviews
Kingsland Hotel
#740 of 1 077 in London
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Guest House

Address: 167 Horn Lane | Acton, London W3 6PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#59 Best Value Hotel in London
#262 Business Hotel in London
#355 Romantic Hotel in London
#372 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: R1 081 - R2 219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — London Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly, family run B&B in the heart of West London. We are conveniently located near Central London without all the hustle and bustle that comes with it. With easy transports links (3 tube/train stations and 24 hour bus service), Central London is only 20 mins away. All our rooms are en-suite and contain a TV, fridge and tea/coffee-making facilities as well as free wifi. We have free on-site parking and a 24 hour reception desk. We make sure that you depart with our motto "A Home Away From Home" engraved into your mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your London Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Guest House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing