We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything OK”
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #598 of 1 077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Nice hotel, comfortable beds and clean room, the breakfast was really good. You can also get something to eat at the pub, the food there is really great or if you want some snacks you can buy it from the market across the street. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Good Morning Marcelo,

Thank you for choosing Ruskin Hotel.

We are delighted that you found our hotel good value for money. Plenty of guests love eating food in our restaurant. Some of our popular dishes include our cheese burgers and fish and chips.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Easy to access by East Ham tube and into London easily. Rooms were clean and comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was ample, hot and had a varied choice. Local area was good for a belting curry which we had and it was good. Good value hotel. We also spent the evening in the pub having a meal there which was just fine and got a good discount as we were staying at the hotel, so we stayed and watched the athletics on a big screen. Would stay again if needed to visit London. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire-Rose-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for choosing Ruskin hotel.

I am delighted that you would recommend us to other tripadvisor members. Our prices are set just below the market average in order to provide great value to our guests.

Thank you for the lovely review, we hope to see you again next year.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

I was there with friends in 04/2012 and we were satisfied with services. Breakfast were good - intercontinental I can say. The rooms were clean.

Byla jsem zde s přáteli v roce 2012 a byli jsme spokojeni se službami. Snídaně byly mezinárodní a dobré, pokoje čisté.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateřina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We were visiting London predominantly to watch the World Championship Athletics so chose this hotel based on the low price fairly close proximity to the Olympic Stadium at Stratford (approx 3 miles). I'm basing my review on value for money As we didn't pay a lot (£254 for 3 nights for 3 people including breakfast).
The area is not the best, fairly run down etc but at no time did we feel unsafe, the hotel is a 7-10 min walk from East Ham tube station which takes you wherever you need to go in London.
The hotel is attached to a pub, we didn't use the pub apart from for breakfast as this is where they serve breakfast. Breakfast was plentiful, good variety of items (sausages, scrambled egg, hash browns and beans for the hot items and everything imaginable for cold pastries, cakes, fruit, yoghurts, salad, cheese, meat, cereals, biscuits, toast etc etc, tea, coffee and one variety of fruit juice).
The reception area is a bit tatty but the staff were pleasant and helpful, often there was only one member of staff trying to do a number of different jobs so if you were in a hurry this wasn't always great but generally not an issue.
The room was a very good size for the 3 of us, a very large super kingsize bed and a single bed, beds were comfy and clean. The bathroom was again fine, not amazing but fine. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The room and bathroom in general was basic but perfectly adequate for what we needed and reasonably clean although I do think housekeeping standards were not amazing.
Overall for what we paid we felt we got good value for money for a hotel in outer London.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank chez76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for choosing Ruskin hotel.

There are several comments on this review that did please me. However, as the manager of the hotel, I will focus on the negative ones to ensure that we continue improving as a business. In the next meeting with the housekeeping team I will ensure that a focus particularly in improving the team with regards to stay over guests.

Our aim is to ensure that we provide value for money. However, this does not mean that we will compromise on quality and this is evident with our large breakfast selection.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel for one night for a trip up to London to watch the world athletics championships.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful on our arrival and we were lucky enough to get the last available parking space (limited spaces available).
The room was functional but very clean and tidy.
Breakfast was to an OK standard and the only moan was outside if the hotels control with a drainage vehicle working directly outside of the room all night, so not much sleep.
Great value for money though for £74.80 through Booking.com

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you very much for choosing Ruskin Hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is provide a clean modern hotel with breakfast at a great price. London can be very expensive so our aim is to provide fantastic value for money.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in London.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#555 of 1 077 in London
798 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#486 of 1 077 in London
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#726 of 1 077 in London
141 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#332 of 1 077 in London
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Address: 386 High Street North | Manor Park, London E12 6PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 1 077 Hotels in London
Price Range: R845 - R1 549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in East Ham London, Ruskin Hotel has a 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi and free parking. It also has a bar, a restaurant, and a TV lounge for guests to enjoy. Each bedroom has an en suite shower room, city views, a desk and a minibar. Guests also get tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning. Wired internet connection is available in every room and it is free of charge. Room Service is available everyday between 11:30am to 22:30. East Ham underground station is a 6-minute walk from the hotel, and it takes less than 45 minutes to get into central London which boasts Oxford Street, Hyde Park, the London Eye, Tower of London and St Paul’s Cathedral to name a few. Stratford Shopping is 2.5 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing