We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, good value, great friendly place for accessing London via the Underground”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oaks Guest House
Ranked #22 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2017

My wife and I stayed 14 nights in their apartment unit. If you don't need a big hotel environment, this is a great alternative. Very quiet location from 9:30 PM to 9:30 AM in spite of being next to a school with a play field. Short walk to Southgate Underground Station makes access to London, trains, etc. very easy. Lots of fine restaurants within walking distance. Very friendly, welcoming owners and staff made breakfast the equivalent of a champagne event.

Room Tip: For extended stay, the apartment unit is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ayers2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

The oaks guest house is truly exceptional! Only five miles outside of London, a stress free tube ride straight into the main tourist area, leave your car securely behind locked gates. Comfortable clean rooms, joyful breakfast, eggs cooked freshly to your liking by the lovely Lorraine, Breda is a wonderful host making us most welcome in her beautiful home. Guidance given where to eat, we can recommend the Angus steak house! Thank you so much we will surely be back! Janet and mike.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _mleaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here recently and was amazed at the beautifully presented guest house. Arriving at a very late hour to gates being opened automatically seemed like somethong out of the rich and famous "who lives in a house like this". We were going to a festival around 10 mins away and required something close by but never imagined such a treat existed. Its definitely not a place where groups of guys are looking for a lads night out but more for a peaceful place to rest and jave as a base camp to visit on a weekend away. Breakfast is continental so ask for amazing omelettes and you eill not be disappointed. My special thanks goes to Breda who made our stay ever so welcoming and apologies for our lateness o ce again as we arrived in the early morning when ideally we should jave been there by 11pm at the latest.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Waynebaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

The rooms are pretty, clean and well maintained.
Breda, the proprietor, could not be more helpful and charming.
We did not have breakfast but there is coffee, tea, sugar and a kettle in the room.
Very much recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for first floor, as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 669shlomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda M, Owner at The Oaks Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you so much ..
It was lovely meeting you all and glad to hear you had a nice trip to London

Hope to see you all again ,,,

Best wishes

Breda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We were staying one night prior to going to a wedding in Surrey the following day, we were travelling from Leeds and decided to take the opportunity to go to the Theatre in London. I couldn't recommend The Oaks highly enough, our room was fabulous, plenty of tea, coffee and fresh milk and a fridge to keep it in (unheard of in any other B&B I've ever stayed in!). There was also a microwave for our use. Breda and her team were so warm and welcoming and it was so quiet. The Tube station was a 5 minute walk away and only a half hour journey into Covent Garden.

It was a real treat to stay and we will definitely going back.

Room Tip: It was such a quiet location I would imagine any of the rooms would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JaneF940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda M, Owner at The Oaks Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
Delighted to hear that your stay at The Oaks was comfortable

Until the next time .....

Kind regards

Breda @ The Oaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#9 of 571 in London
171 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 571 in London
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#31 of 571 in London
235 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#19 of 571 in London
583 reviews
The Cleveland
#18 of 571 in London
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Guest House

Address: 76 Blagdens Lane | Southgate, London N14 6DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: R1 928 - R2 414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oaks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oaks is a family-run guest house located in Southgate, a quiet and tranquil suburb of north London and we are proud to offer our guests a peaceful, comfortable and luxurious stay for the time they are with us.Our eight guest rooms are beautifully decorated and each has an en-suite bathroom. All room prices include a continental breakfast, consisting of a wide selection of cereals, fruit juices, breads, teas and coffee, yoghurts, croissants and fresh fruit.We are ideally located for tourists and business travellers who want quick and hassle-free access to central London, local amenities and local and national road links as well as catering for longer-term contractors working in London for a specified period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Oaks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing