We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PeterLeedsUK
Leeds UK

The Montana is a great choice

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Mar 2024
We enjoyed our stay (again) at the Montana. It's very handy for the Royal Albert Hall (a 10-15 minute walk) and is only a 3 minute walk from Gloucester Road underground station.

The hotel is nicely decorated and the staff are friendly. We enjoyed a freshly cooked full English breakfast on both mornings that we were there.

I highly recommend that you book directly with the hotel. They will match online prices and include a complimentary breakfast if you do.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Book directly
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 048
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 743
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 3 443
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 766
2.3 km from Montana Hotel London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
R 3 118
  • Priceline
    R 2 881
  • Vio.com
    R 2 606
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 558
2.0 km from Montana Hotel London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 2 353
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
5.8 km from Montana Hotel London
Royal National Room Standard Plus Twin
R 3 100
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 428
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 2 664
  • Priceline
    R 3 082
4.9 km from Montana Hotel London
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 2 108
  • Priceline
    R 2 108
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 1 828
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 093
6.2 km from Montana Hotel London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 4 106
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 078
  • Priceline
    R 4 106
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 100
7.7 km from Montana Hotel London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Travelodge LondonCity Exterior
R 1 247
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
7.8 km from Montana Hotel London
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 2 536
  • Priceline
    R 2 161
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 2 029
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 160
5.1 km from Montana Hotel London
Free Wifi
R 997
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 997
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 986
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 245
5.6 km from Montana Hotel London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
R 2 616
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    R 2 242
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 159
  • Travelodge
    R 1 271
7.3 km from Montana Hotel London
Restaurant
View more hotels in London
Reviews (1 311)
Filter reviews
1 311 results
Traveller rating
463
495
225
70
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
463
495
225
70
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gloucester road tube station the royal albert hall great location continental breakfast piccadilly line within walking distance single room kensington gardens full english mini fridge minute walk family room air conditioning breakfast staff hotel room short stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1 311 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2024 via mobile

Lovely hotel, comfortable. Staff lovely. Very convenient for Royal Albert Hall and tube. Lovely breakfast. Would recommend. Only issue, lift not working, but on first floor so wasn’t an issue for us. Would stay again, hotel front very clean

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2024

For the price this place is brilliant. Only a few yards from Gloucester Rd tube station, stepping in from the street the foyer is calm, comfortable, relaxed.. much like our stay there to be honest.
Arriving early, we dumped our bags and went straight out for a walk, Hyde Park is moments away and I was intrigued to find all the embassies there, re-living some history from 1980, checking out the stunning memorial to Prince Albert, all fun, within a stroll of the Montanna.
The lift was out but who cares, we all need exercise in our lives. Room 410 was massive, with a double, a single, table and two chairs, one of the biggest rooms I've stayed in in the capital, lovely big windows, the long desk had both Euro and GB plugs, how thoughtful, (although no USB point). Good telly, and tea/coffee as we english expect.
Speaking of, the Full English came at a discounted rate, only a tenner and was tastier than your average help-yourself-lodge-nonesense. In this part of London thats ridiculously good value.
If you were stopping over for a concert at the Royal Albert Hall this location is perfect, but as you are strolling back be aware the pubs seem to close early (no after-performance drinks?).
If you were looking for somewhere to spread out on a longer stay in London, especially with little ones, this would be brilliant for you with a much bigger room than you would expect, room to live in, and the park nearby to run about and tire them out.
If you are going to be picky you will find things you would have them spend some of your money on. But I dont want to give money away, generally.
So if you are looking for superb value for money, in this area, this place is in my opinion comfortable, spaciaous and unbeatable value.

Room tip: Definitely book breakfast here, room 410 was massive, if your mobility is restricted ring them about it.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davidsQ3139FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

This is the third year we have stayed here for our visit to the Royal Albert hall. So handy for Gloucester Road tube station. Only small issue was that the lift was out of order which made us all realise how unfit we were. 🤦‍♂️. Breakfast was continental and there was plenty and you could have a cooked one for an extra charge. Rooms and bathroom are fine. Staff are pleasant and friendly also . As you can gather I/we do like this hotel and we are booked again for i2025.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Agentbailie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2024

My stay here was very comfortable. I came for business and I have to return so I think this hotel meets the expectations of compliance and good service, especially because the receptionist Shashi very kindly showed us the best places and was very pleasant with his service. I recognize that he understands the city well and the needs of a traveler and more of a business traveler, ask for him when you arrive at the hotel you will be at home. a big greeting to the staff

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luis ricardo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2024

Booked 2 single rooms for 3 night with my dad for his birthday. The rooms were small but very clean, nicely decorated with an iron, hairdryer, kettle, fridge, TV and basin.

I didn't realise that there were no toilets included in the single rooms and my room was on the 3rd floor and the lift was broken. I asked to upgrade and was put into a lovely large twin room with a bathroom on the ground floor for a small price.

Wifi was great in the single rooms but a bit weaker in the upgraded room.

The staff were some of the best I have experienced in a hotel. Nothing was too much and they were very knowledgeable on what to do in London. They also gave us a free drink for dad's birthday.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trail16156874120
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews