We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You Need In a Compact Package”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #54 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Apollo very much. When we first arrived at the hotel, the very nice, hardworking manager (Alex) said, "The rooms are small, but we keep them clean, and you'll have everything you need for a short stay." I'm happy to say she was right. First and foremost, the Apollo is in an excellent location, being just down the street from St Pancras and Kings Cross stations. The immediate neighborhood has a good choice of restaurants, a laundrette, and a bureau de change.

We stayed in Room 12, at the very top of the building. Yes, the room is indeed tiny, but it did contain everything we required: a comfortable, clean bed and pillows, a shower with plenty of hot water, a hair dryer, TV, free wifi, and a tea kettle and biscuits replenished daily. And the best part--the breakfast! Each morning there is a choice of cold foods--cereal, pastries, yogurts, juices, etc., PLUS a full, cooked-to-order breakfast. I requested a vegetarian English breakfast, and Alex was happy to accommodate. Delicious and much better than many a breakfast I have eaten at fancier, higher-priced hotels!

As others have noted, this hotel may not be for those who need a lot of space, insist on luxury amenities, or who have certain disabilities or mobility issues. The minor inconveniences of a small, simple room may grate on some (for example there was no towel rack in the bathroom of Room 12, though we got along fine without it, and the room always felt a bit drafty, even with the window closed).The stairs are steep and as far as I know there is no lift.

But for the unfussy, budget-minded traveler, I unreservedly recommend the Apollo for its great location, its eager-to-please personnel, its relative comfort, its excellent breakfast, and its reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kellydunn812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotel, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you very much your kind words are very much appreciated we hope you had a safe journey.

Kind Regards
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Booked the Apollo for a 0ne night business trip and will definately be using them again if in London for business or personal trip, ideal for Kingscross station less than 5 minutes walk. Team very friendly, helpful and made me feel welcome and the breakfast was very good even if they did not have any marmite.
Room (1) down stairs adjacent breakfast room so bit noisy in the morning with people going passed the room but clean and reasonably well maintained and everything I needed. One small criticism on the lack of plugs near the kettle and I did loose satalite TV so had to revert to BBC for TV but enjoyable stay and had a good nights sleep.
Walked to Covent Garden for my meeting which took 30 minutes but really easy walk and loved the sights along the way and weather was good so can get in to central London without using the underground.

Room Tip: Based on what I saw I would not recommend this hotel as disabled suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

If you want a hotel close to Kings Cross / St Pancras stations the Apollo hotel in Argyle Street is 5 minutes walk away and amazing surprise. I cannot fault anything, our room was very clean and light, bed was comfortable and lovely clean white bedding, soft white towels and above all a clean bathroom with no mould, granted it was small but the shower had plenty of room, and breakfast ! Freshly cooked full English, perfect and plenty of other choice too, breakfast room was also light fresh and above all clean. An excellent hotel I will definitely stay again, friendly and helpful staff too. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Our room looked as expected from pictures. It was a decent size, as was the bathroom. I would not recommend the bottom floor room as we could hear the front door slamming as people came in at night followed by them going up the loud stairs right over our heads (then the opposite in the morning). It was also right next to the breakfast room so would not be good if you aren't an early riser.

Internet was not great. Could view webpages after they slowly loaded but would time out when uploading a single picture on social media.

This is a great location with it being so close to the train station while being on a quiet street.

We were also relocated to a different hotel the first night due to an electrical issue in some of the rooms. The hotel we were sent to was a downgrade and we had to leave our luggage a reception the next day before we could get into the room in the afternoon. The woman at the front desk did walk us over to the new hotel and they added on breakfast for us.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 08lj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

The hotel is literally less than a 5 minute walk to St pancreas and King's cross station. We stayed here after our trip to Paris and the next day we were taking the thameslink to Gatwick for our flight home! What a great great location. Quiet and friendly family owned staff. You are situated next to everything , pubs , corner stores, mcdonalds, buses , trains and the tube. Would highly recommend this hotel for any stay. very well situated. hotel was very clean and yes there is no lift but this is normal for London and the staff always offer to help and take your luggage so no complaining please, Shower and bath was pretty big and so was the room compared to our other London stay. Very pleased and thank you again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silent_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApolloHotel, Manager at Apollo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you.
Hope you had a good journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#575 of 1 077 in London
1 002 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#286 of 1 077 in London
1 773 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#37 of 571 in London
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#44 of 571 in London
764 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#30 of 571 in London
235 reviews
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#104 of 571 in London
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: 43 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: R1 340 - R2 829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing