We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant location, accommodation and friendly...”
other travellers have booked this property
The living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room
The living room and dining table The dining table ready for breakfast
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The living room
The living room and dining table
The dining table ready for breakfast
The double bedroom in the eaves
The kitchen - oven, hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine
High quality kitchen equipment
Shiny surfaces in the kitchen
Guide books for your use during your stay
' A hidden Gem!'  Our Visitors Book
The shower-room
Fluffy white towels and complimentary soaps
The Stables from the garden path
The front door of the Stables - flowers round you door
Your private, sheltered sitting area outside your door
The rear of the Old Bakery
Deli-on-the -Green - friendly food shop and cafe
Fruit and vegetables can be bought at Deli-om-the-Green
Food supplied by The Larder, a lovely shop and cafe on The Green
Cakes at Deli-on-the-Green
The Garden in June - view towards the Stables
Historic Old Bakery - Mr and Mrs Chalkley the bakers with their delivery cart
The Old Bakery - The Stables is located in the walled garden within independent street access
The Green, Winchmore Hill - great shops, cafes, restaurants and pub
Grovelands Park - just 5 minutes walk from The Stables
The view from your front door towards The Old Bakery
Cobbled pathway to the Stables
The Garden - clematis and geraniums in May
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
K_Coley01
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant location, accommodation and friendly host”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in June 2012 and had a great time. Brilliant location for London, only 30mins on the train. Lovely little town with a great deli and pizza place.

We recently decided that we wanted to have a last minute weekend away and decided to inquire about the Stables. Sadly they were fully booked. We were sold on staying in Winchmore Hill so Nina gave lots of information of places to stay near by. Sadly none lived up to the Stables so we have decided to postpone our weekend to another tine. Nina was helpful, friendly and quick to respond.

The accommodation is brilliant and the cost is unbeatable for the location. I would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, the privacy, the attention to detail.
Liked least: As with my stay at Chalkley's, having to leave.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zuki2013
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful stay”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My stay at the Stables for a week was cosy and warm. It is a comfortable walking distance from the Winchmore station and restaurants with the house having all the amenities you require. The bedroom upstairs needs a bit of getting used to especially if you are tall but everything was user-friendly with your own private entrance. Thank you for the free wifi and great hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2014
Thanks for staying with us. The bedroom in the eaves of the Stables does indeed require some "ducking" if you are a 6-foot plus person! But it makes up for this by being (so our guests frequently report) romantic and cosy. Of course the horses this building was designed for originally didn't get to go upstairs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Dec 2013
We are so glad that these guests enjoyed their second stay in The Stables. We have, indeed, up-graded the shower-room since their previous stay. We try to make improvements each year, and to ensure that everything in the apartment stays in top condition. I like fresh flowers in my home and so it is a pleasure to offer the same to arriving guests, some of whom have been travelling for many hours to get here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mamawhite...
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“I want to go back!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The Stables at the Old Bakery was a lovely loft apartment. The walk from the gate through the garden to the door of the apartment was beautiful. There were many flowering perrenials and a small pond. My daughter and I enjoyed greeting the guinea pigs and looking for the tortoise. The apartment was well furnished and the kitchen had everything we needed to make meals. The bed was comfortable. The whole apartment was spotlessly clean. The apartment is about a 100 meters from the Winchmore Hill Train Station that goes to Moorgate or connects to the Picadilly Underground at Finsbury Park Station. I am hoping to return and stay at the Old Bakery again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Winchmore HIll is a peaceful and charming northern suburb of London. It made leaving the city central in the evening feel like coming home.
Liked least: On Sundays, travel was sometimes complicated as various train and underground services were disrupted due to improvements being made. One can still get around but it means planning ahead.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing