We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming and cozy”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Living room Gold Award 4 star accommodation
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Living room
Living room
Gold Award 4 star accommodation
WiFi free of charge
Dining room fireplace
Dining room -  kettle, toaster, coffee machine and free coffee capsules provided
Dining room - historic brick wall dating from 16th century
Stairs from the dining room
Bedroom 1- King-sized bed and en-suite shower
Egyptian cotton 400 thread bed-linen
Bedroom 1 - fluffy white towels
Bedroom 2 - twin single beds and bathroom with bath tub
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Kitchen - oven, microwave, hob, fridge, washing machine
Kitchen
En-suite shower room for bedroom 1
En suite to Bedroom Two - combining  historic charm with contemporary facilities
En suite to Bedroom Two - bath tub, basin and toilet
The Old Bakery - front of Chalkley's and The Bakery
Historic photo of The Old Bakery - Mr & Mrs Chalkley with their delivery cart (minus the horse!)
Fruit from Deli-on-the-Green
A basket for food from The Larder, a lovely local cafe and food shop
The Green Winchmore Hill - pubs, cafes, resaurants and great food shopping
Deli-on-the-Green  - food shopping, coffee and lunches
Menu at Deli-on-the-Green
Grovelands Park in Summer - the park is near The Old Bakery.
Guide books are provided for your use
We start you off with some basic provisions
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
London, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
caymanbub...
cayman islands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming and cozy”
Reviewed 5 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A charming and cozy cottage located in a lovely part of London. Full of character the cottage had everything I needed, was well equiped and even had a few basic supplies, plus Nina was kind enough to leave milk, eggs and bread for breakfast the next morning. Nina was very welcoming and helpful in pointing out places to eat in Winchmore Hill and things to do. The train station into central London is two minutes walk away so an ideal location. There is a convenience store nearby for the basics plus a large supermarket 15 minutes walk away. I had a car and didn't have any problems finding a nearby parking space.

I will definitely stay again when I am next in London. Thanks Nina!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Reviewed 19 January 2013 for a stay in April 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The living room.
Liked least: The squeaky bedroom door
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
grolal
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just what I wanted - warm hosts, lots of character & perfect location.”
Reviewed 5 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We could not have asked for a better place to spend our time. The cottage was quirky(just what we were looking for) but very comfortable. The stairs took a couple of days to get used to but I believe Nina has plans in hand for changes AND it is part of the charm of the place. We found he location and easy access to everything and everywhere made our stay just that more pleasurable.
Thanks, Nina

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and how comfortable it was.
Liked least: Creaky floors ( old house!)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Francoist...
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice but tricky staircase”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We (my wife and I aged 60-65) rented this appartment for four nigths in June.
Arrival went as planned with a nice welcome by the owner.
We used the room with a bath
The living room and the dining room are large and well equiped. Lots of TV channels and very good Internet .The kitchen was one of the best equipped we have rented in recent years
However one should be aware that:
the dining room is on the ground floor and the kitchen on the first floor: this can be inferred from the web site'' a dining room with large fireplace and beautiful, 17th century, exposed brick wall; a modern, well-equipped kitchen (1st floor)''.
They are linked by (website again)'' staircase is typical of houses of this age, in that it is quite narrow and steeper than modern staircases'',
What is not said is that there are signs in the appartment asking you to use baskets to carry meals, dishes etc from the kitchen to the dining room and back. Indeed 3 baskets are provided for this.And the ' typical staircase' is in our opinion dangerous. We ended up having one of us at the bottom and one on top passing baskets around.
The appartment is not that quiet as it is located on a medium size road with bus service.
The curtains in the bedroom we used let light in as of 5 am; I used a sleeping mask.
The train station is just around the corner but there is no train noise.Note that these are British not Swiss trains.We took 8 trains: 4 on time, 3 late (5-15) minutes and one cancelled (we used tube + bus that time). There is a convenient trains just after 9h30 am(non peak fare) Using it+ tube we got to the National Gallery around 10h20 one morning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: reasonable location
Liked least: Staircase
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2012
We are glad that these guests liked most aspects of the accommodation. While the staircase is a little steep it only has 10 steps. The kitchen being upstairs is, of course, unusual, which is why we mention this in all our advertising. It is a quirk of this beautiful historic building which dates back to 1595AD. We provide the baskets which the reviewer mentions because, in our experience, they make it much simpler when carrying things upstairs. We also provide an additional kettle and toaster and breakfast food containers in the dining room.
I think these guests may have got a little lost on the way to the National Gallery. Transport for London's journey timing (see www.tfl.gov.uk) is maximum 33 minutes from Winchmore Hill Station to Leicester Square Station, the nearest tube station to the National Gallery. Depart Winchmore Hill 9.33am - arrive Leicester Square 10.06am. It is always good to check your journey on www.tfl.gov.uk if you are unsure how best to get somewhere in London. Trains through Winchmore Hill are generally reliable. So I am sorry that these guests seem to have been very unlucky.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$197
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing