We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most moving monument or work of art I have ever seen, only next to the Pieta in St. Peter's Basilica.”

Animals in War Memorial
Ranked #169 of 1 872 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I have always loved animals. I made it a point to find this monument on my 8 day trip to London in early September of 2017. Upon finally coming upon it, as it is quite hidden by overgrown trees, the tears came to my eyes and fell down my cheeks like a soft but steady rain, and found myself petting their figures and speaking to those poor souls their figures represented, now long gone from their toils of this earth. If you have a heart for animals, and for what the innocent creatures of war were forced to endure by humankind, it is a must see on your next trip to London! The moving words, "They had no choice," will tear your heart out.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank noladesiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"park lane"
in 24 reviews
"marble arch"
in 12 reviews
"fitting tribute"
in 9 reviews
"animal lovers"
in 4 reviews
"speaker's corner"
in 4 reviews
"allied forces"
in 3 reviews
"lost their lives"
in 3 reviews
"upper brook street"
in 2 reviews
"princess royal"
in 2 reviews
"moving tribute"
in 2 reviews
"nice monument"
in 2 reviews
"portland stone"
in 2 reviews
"great tribute"
in 2 reviews
"closer look"
in 2 reviews
"green park"
in 2 reviews
"poignant"
in 10 reviews
"sculptures"
in 15 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

We came across this monument by chance & we are SO glad we did.
I got quite emotional whilst admiring the fantastic statues.
A MUST SEE!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Just drove by it and I was surprised to see it, but it is a nice tribute to the animals lost in war.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Spamky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

For all animal lovers - one of the greatest memorials standing. They served because they had no choice! My Grandfather's horse in the first wild war was called 'socks' - this is such a fitting tribute to all those animals that stood hoof and paw with the men and women who were conscripted. How great our respect - we owe them everything we have today. May they roam in pastures new with a gentle sun on their backs ❤️ a MUST see!

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank PatriciaDE24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017

This 2004 monument rises to the challenge of recognizing and commemorating the countless animals that have served with British armed forces. People who care about animals are bound to be moved by it. On the Park Lane side of Hyde Park, it is a carved wall of Portland stone, with sculptures of two mules, a horse and a dog in bronze.

Date of experience: May 2017
3  Thank mrsagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Animals in War Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Animals in War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing