We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breaks the heart ❤️ ”

Animals in War Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
US$131,59*
and up
War Memorials of London Private Tour
Ranked #169 of 1 909 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

For all animal lovers - one of the greatest memorials standing. They served because they had no choice! My Grandfather's horse in the first wild war was called 'socks' - this is such a fitting tribute to all those animals that stood hoof and paw with the men and women who were conscripted. How great our respect - we owe them everything we have today. May they roam in pastures new with a gentle sun on their backs ❤️ a MUST see!

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank PatriciaDE24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"park lane"
in 24 reviews
"marble arch"
in 12 reviews
"fitting tribute"
in 9 reviews
"lives lost"
in 4 reviews
"animal lovers"
in 4 reviews
"speaker's corner"
in 4 reviews
"allied forces"
in 3 reviews
"upper brook street"
in 2 reviews
"princess royal"
in 2 reviews
"moving tribute"
in 2 reviews
"nice monument"
in 2 reviews
"great tribute"
in 2 reviews
"closer look"
in 2 reviews
"green park"
in 2 reviews
"poignant"
in 10 reviews
"sculptures"
in 15 reviews
"conflict"
in 8 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

This 2004 monument rises to the challenge of recognizing and commemorating the countless animals that have served with British armed forces. People who care about animals are bound to be moved by it. On the Park Lane side of Hyde Park, it is a carved wall of Portland stone, with sculptures of two mules, a horse and a dog in bronze.

Date of experience: May 2017
3  Thank mrsagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

After going for a walk near my hotel I came across this memorial just down from Marble Arch.

It is a lovely fitting tribute to all those animals used for various war efforts throughout the years against their will.

Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank garywhitehouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

As an animal lover, I made it a point to wander past here and snap a few years photos on my recent trip to London. It really is a touching memorial to all of the animals who have served over the years.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank takesecondexit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2017

This war memorial is a tribute to the countless animals that have served and died under British military command throughout history. The memorial is located on Park Lane, at the edge of Hyde Park. A moving tribute, one of the two inscription reads, "They had no choice."

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank nellielim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Animals in War Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Animals in War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing