We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny(worth)”

The Monarch Theatre
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 12/04
20:00
Ranked #14 722 of 24 338 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: THE MONARCH THEATRE Whilst the main spaces within Park Row are inspired by DC - with a subtle nod to the characters and hidden easter eggs for those in-the-know - the halo concept, The Monarch Theatre, is a fully immersive restaurant experience, with state-of-the-art floor to ceiling projection mapping and an incredible tasting menu. PARK ROW Park Row, the first fully immersive DC-inspired restaurant experience found anywhere in the world, is now open. Featuring five premium restaurant and bar spaces, Park Row combines multi-sensory storytelling with world-class food and drink that draws from some of Gotham City’s most famous (and infamous) residents, creating a gastronomic theme park for comic book fans and foodies. Situated within a stunning Grade II listed Art Deco venue within the heart of London’s theatre-land, guests will step off the streets of Soho and descend into the DC universe via a secret door in Wayne Manor, home to the famous billionaire.
Reviewed 4 October 2021

So first of all, yes, this is an expensive experience - £195 per head for the wine pairing menu - but nevertheless I would say that the Monarch Theatre is excellent value for money. The tasting experience was over 3 hours long, it had (I think I'm counting right) 11 different dishes, plus puzzles and magic and an incredible anti-gravity climax which I'm not going to spoil here. I was entertained and delighted the entire time, and the food was fantastic. It's dinner and a show in one - a complete all-night adventure with wine and cocktails included. If you got the best seats at a show and then went for a slap up meal after with some drinks, you would easily spend more than this altogether, which is why I say it is excellent value for money, despite its hefty price tag. If you want something different and can afford this, then I couldn't recommend it enough. Also, you don't need to know much about Batman and his friends to still enjoy the night.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sammaclondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodore V, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2021


Hi, so glad to hear you had a good experience at Park Row/The Monarch Theatre. We’ve shared your fantastic feedback with the team and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2021

Came here for a friends birthday lunch and was totally blown away with the theatrics and stunning visuals. Despite the immersive nature, the food also did not disappoint and was every bit as good as the visuals on show. The wine pairings were also perfect, and we were expertly guided through by Milena on the day. I would highly recommend this if you are looking for something a bit different to the norm. Everyone had an amazing time.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank 712arunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodore V, Guest Relations Manager at The Monarch Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2021


Hi 712arunc, so glad to hear you had a good experience at Park Row/The Monarch Theatre. We’ve shared your fantastic feedback with the team and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2021 via mobile

I came here for lunch. The initial impression was good but it went downhill from there. My table was placed very closed to the bar counter and it was unpleasant when a large crowd started to form and ended up standing very close to my table. I had to request for a transfer to a different table. The starter of salmon omelette was very salty. The wait time between the starter and main was very ling and I had to remind the waiter. The main of pork loin was ok but the gravy was again too salty. Both men and ladies washroom were out of service and there was a queue to use the disabled toilet.
Waiter was apathetic and didn't show any enthusiasm in serving me.

Date of visit: October 2021
2  Thank philiplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2021 via mobile

Our experience at the Monarch Theatre was absolutely incredible. Each course was stunning and the wine pairings were perfect. From the second we walked through the door we were blown away by the venue. All the staff were attentive and friendly from the coat room through to the chefs. An expensive experience but worth every penny.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2021

Park Row says it's a DC-inspired restaurant but it really isn't. The only connection is some paintings with a vague link and a penguin on the bar. It seems they only use the DC name to get customers through the door. If you didn't know the DC connection before going you wouldn't even realise.

The restaurant itself is very nice, the staff, atmosphere and food are good but there are a lot of places around London with a similar price tag where your money would be better spent.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank junaid_alvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Monarch Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Monarch Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.