We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere. Consistently good food and service”

Balans Soho Society - Stratford City
Ranked #5 513 of 25 573 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: After shopping and promenading around Westfield Shopping Centre, lose a morning, afternoon or evening in the finest way possible. Relaxed, spontaneous, sociable dining is very much the order of the day at Balans, whatever the time of day. Whether it’s for a brief encounter at breakfast, a meandering weekend brunch, a light lunch or a candlelit dalliance over dinner, Balans Soho Society extends the most cordial of invitations to whet the appetite or wet the whistle, whatever your pleasure. “If restaurants could win Nobel prizes, Balans Soho Society would be in line…’ Tatler Restaurant Guide.
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

We have been going to Balans Westfield Stratford for about a year now. We often go on a match day on our way to watch West Ham and this has become a real favourite for us.
The staff are excellent, friendly, helpful & knowledgeable. The manager, Cassie, is lovely, so professional and attentive. She always remembers us and makes us feel so welcome. She obviously runs a very happy efficient team. They all seem to like working there and nothing is too much trouble. All the waiting staff are very good, especially Diego.
The food is always good quality and served pretty quickly so if you are going to the game or in a hurry to get back shopping you won’t be unnecessarily delayed.
We enjoy the busy atmosphere and always look forward to going there. Well done! Keep up the great work.
Many thanks from John

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018

Visited mid-day on a Sunday,very busy,charming and friendly staff.
Only waited 15 minutes for our food,that was very good, tasty and hot.
Good atmosphere,will visit again.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank wood57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Visited here for breakfast while on a visit to London. It was a little pricey but the quality was excellent and the staff and service brilliant. They couldn’t be more helpful or more welcoming. Thank you!

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank GrannyBuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Met my friend for brunch Saturday morning and it was relatively busy but we still had choice of a number of tables. I ordered smoked salmon and avocado with poached eggs instead of scrambled. It was quite a wait for the food but when it arrived both eggs were solid through. I asked for new eggs and they said they’ll redo the whole plate. It took a good 20mins until the new plate of food came (my friend already had hers which came out right). The next plate came, one egg was slightly runny, the other wasn’t so runny but I didn’t want to wait even longer for another try at a poached egg. The servers were apologetic and friendly but the food could have been a lot better.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Booked a table for 2 a month in advance. Arrived to utter chaos. Eventually taken to my table which was a nice quiet table in the corner. A group of 5 loud idiots turned up who had booked the wrong Balans and were squeezed in next to me on a 4 seater table. Never again. Great menu but shame of lack of respect for other customers

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Balans Soho Society - Stratford City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing