We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rachel B

Great little hotel, in a fantastic location.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Jun 2024
We stayed here for one night after a concert. This is a great little hotel, a few minutes walk from Victoria Station. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our bed was was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious with a really good selection. Would definitely stay here again.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 260
R 4 102
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 117
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 110
  • Canopy by Hilton
    R 4 117
5.5 km from The Windermere Hotel, London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 2 859
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 448
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 504
  • Priceline
    R 3 532
3.8 km from The Windermere Hotel, London
Restaurant
Room service
R 1 263
R 992
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 263
  • StayForLong
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 995
6.5 km from The Windermere Hotel, London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 3 882
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 763
3.7 km from The Windermere Hotel, London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 3 156
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 969
3.5 km from The Windermere Hotel, London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Royal National Room Standard Plus Twin
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 2 848
  • Algotels
3.9 km from The Windermere Hotel, London
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 2 890
  • travelup.com
5.4 km from The Windermere Hotel, London
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 1 737
  • Algotels
8.8 km from The Windermere Hotel, London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    R 2 122
  • Hotels.com
4.1 km from The Windermere Hotel, London
Free Wifi
View more hotels in London
Reviews (1 021)
Filter reviews
1 021 results
Traveller rating
603
309
62
33
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
603
309
62
33
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria station buckingham palace within walking distance lovely hotel breakfast each morning full english breakfast complimentary breakfast home away from home would definitely stay here again quiet street the ground floor excellent breakfast boutique hotel central location single room visit london comfy bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1 021 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2024

The 'superior' room was very cramped, the bathroom was small, and the shower was over the bath rather than walk-in. The only indication that it was a superior room was that there were bathrobes in the wardrobe. I asked if I could have a mat to put in the bottom of the bath, but was told they don't provide them, so I didn't feel safe and didn’t dare to use the shower on my own a second time. The bathmat was stained. The desk was cluttered with coffee maker etc – I tried to move it to make more space, but only succeeded in spilling water everywhere. The room was in a sort of semi-basement, so no view except an outside staircase and a wall. £230 a night, too.

Most people seem to come here for breakfast, rather than to stay. Certainly they do breakfast very well; prompt, friendly service and good menu choices. I had poached eggs on sourdough toast and my husband had the ‘full English’, preceded by Greek yoghurt with either granola and compote (him) or seeds and dried fruit (me). Strange English requests, such as a jug of hot water to top up the tea, were accommodated. They saw I was struggling with the stairs, so let me use the door to where our room was on the lower ground floor.

I had hoped to have dinner here, since I was dining alone while my husband was at a dinner elsewhere, but you can no longer get any meals other than breakfast at the Windermere. The hotel seems popular with American visitors.

We asked Reception to call us a taxi, but the person on duty said their device was broken. Fortunately they redeemed themselves the next morning, as the young lady on duty at least made an effort and went outside to try and hail a taxi for me. And we also had a delightful conversation with one of the owners on the last day – an elegantly dressed lady in a flowing printed shirtwaister. I think they are doing their best.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2024

This hotel was perfect for what we needed - a simple, comfortable place close to Victoria station. There are plenty of decent restaurants and bistros in the area. The room was very clean and functional and breakfast (served in the basement) was delicious.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMEdQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

Stayed at the Windermere Victoria London last night 15th march 2024 .I have rated the hotel as 5* if you’re looking for a clean comfortable accommodation with a lovely cooked Breakfast in the morning then it’s perfect . The only negatives I would say is if I was being picky has nothing to do with accommodation but the location is about a 15min slow walk from Victoria train so if you have mobility issues would get a taxi from there . But if coming by coach it’s only 5 min walk from Victoria coach station . The restaurant is down stairs but they may have a lift to access the restaurant but I would check first if stairs are a problem The bar is in the restaurant but you can order drinks to your room . It’s a small hotel which suited us as we didn’t have to worry about long corridors to negotiate with my walking issues . But again if your looking for a large plush hotel then look elsewhere.But if clean rooms good service and good food are your top criteria then it’s perfect Mrs Honey .

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kaylardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend while attending the C2C Festival at the 02 in London and we found an absolute gem here !
The hotel is in a lovely quiet residential area, yet only max 10 mins walk to Victoria Station with ideal transport links.
We had a room in the basement, while small ( it's a Victorian town house after all), the bathroom was modern and everything was spotlessly clean. A bottle of water ( refilled every day) was welcome too after a day's sightseeing but the biggest plus point for this hotel were the absolute fantastic breakfasts they offer ! I tried to have something different every day, they were so good !! The staff were really friendly too and so are the owners who also serve you at breakfast and have a chat with their guests. You can tell they really want their guests to have a wonderful time in London.

There is a night porter on too, you really feel safe and well looked after and I will definitely come back here again. Thanks for a great weekend!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kinedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily Co-Owner, Other at The Windermere Hotel, London, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, appreciated our charm and hospitality. The Windermere is a down to earth, family run, boutique hotel in Central London. We all hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Booked for our anniversary, assuming this was an upscale hotel. In truth, it is sadly barely on the level of a travellodge...
We contacted the hotel prior to asking for there to be a king double bed (as advertised) and not 2 single beds. We also requested to purchase chocolates and wine in advance to make the occasion mmkre special.
Arrived to find nothing waiting in the room (brought after we booked in) and 2 single beds put together.
Hotel said that this is all they offer when mentioned a "double bed." This is at best disingenuous.
Further, the room is tatty, in need of serious attention, the air-conditioning remote was missing, tv tilted on it stans and we hoped won't collapse, staines on the catpets, draon clearly not cleaned for a while and lastly - eventhough we specifically mentioned this was our anniversary, the hotel saw fit to place us in the bottom floor, a single glazed window next to the street. So no sleep for us.
Added 1 star as breakfast was ok.

Room tip: Ensure what the hotel are offering is real and know what you are buying. Or pay more to go to a better one or less to one that is just as goodifnotbetter
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ronenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily Co-Owner, Other at The Windermere Hotel, London, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

We are sorry to receive your comments online. The Windermere is a townhouse hotel in Central London, with rooms on all storeys. As you are aware, you reserved a "Deluxe Twin" room for your stay, which was prepared as a king size bed (instead of 2 single beds), as per your request. You ordered in advance of your arrival a bottle of our house white wine and a box of chocolates. This was delivered to your room after check-in, because the wine was kept chilled for you in our wine fridge, as we feel that white wine is best served chilled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews