We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic private room drinks party”
Review of The Orange

The Orange
Reserve with OpenTable
The Orange is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 130 of 24 667 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$60
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Belgravia
Transit: Victoria mainline & tube station 15 minute walk, Sloane Square 10 minute walk. Bus links to north & south London (C1, 211 & 11).
Description: Welcome to The Orange Public House & Hotel. In our beautifully restored building you'll find a bustling bar serving fine ales and cocktails. Our casual dining rooms on the ground and first floor offer a fresh and seasonal modern European menu. The Orange has four beautifully designed bedrooms that offer the perfect retreat after a long day in the city. Each room boasts complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious king size beds and en-suite bathrooms complete with Aesop amenities.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked out the Garden Bar (downstairs space available for private hire with own bar) for my engagement drinks event.

There was no booking of hiring fee, just a need to meet a minimum spend (£1,500).

Right from the word go, the staff at The Orange were fantastic. Ana, who was my point of contact for the booking, made sure that the run up was smooth and easy, asking for confirmation on details without being a pest. She also made some great recommendations for the wine list and canapes to be served. Everything was made clear and easy.

On the day, our hostess was Renata, whilst behind the bar were Tito and Henry. They service from all three was spot on. Renata made sure that everyone got a variety of canapes (which were delicious - particularly the salmon croque monsieur - I wish I had been more generous and ordered more!). Glasses were cleared away without any interference or issues. What was particularly helpful was Renata used common sense and her own judgement to pre-empt certain things without having to come and ask questions continuously. Meanwhile Tito and Henry kept the drinks flowing, with a smile and some banter - absolutely spot on guys!

If you are looking for somewhere to hold an event, you should definitely look at The Orange. I was really impressed by the level of service, from the response to the initial enquiry all the way through to a cheerful farewell at the end.

To everyone at The Orange, thank you so much for a wonderful evening. You made an event into a wonderful evening!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HenryDutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Henry,

You are more than generous, huge thank you from all Oranges !
Double hugs from Ana, Renata, Tino and Henry.
We have really nice bunch of committed happy individuals with plenty experience in events and large functions.
Chefs behind the scenes contributing hugely to our success, we are passionate about great food and seasonal ingredients.

Michael T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayd at the hotel and ate at the restaurant for Breakfast everyday and for dinner twice. They have a nice drink selection and a bistro type menu. What we had was all very good.

Thank Sush19067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sush,

Thank you for generous and positive feedback, we hope to score 5 stars next time you visit us :)


Michael T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We planned on an early dinner, therefore did not make a booking - until walking to The Orange, did we realized it was World Cup Saturday. The bar was packed as was the restaurant. The waitress looked around and found a wonderful table in minutes. We knew we wanted wood fired pizzas - sooo good !!! My white wine was served warm. The manager, with a smile, brought a new glass, checking to feel the coolness of the glass. We weren't rushed, the energy of the restaurant and bar very entertaining, we will be back! Had we made a reservation, seating is upstairs on the first floor. We didn't have dessert but the choices were mouthwatering!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TKwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TKwanderer,

Your review is most flattering ,thank you !
We are often busy due to solid reputation which coming along hard work and passion.
There is always space for guest coming without booking, we will always make it happen for you !

Michael T


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Impromptu visit before James Blunt concert, food is fantastic and the service is excellent. Highly recommend.

Thank Shona937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Shona,

You are fantastic and your little feedback is excellent !
We have delicious menu, well executed and served by dedicated team, glad you noticed it and shared with us !

You're beautiful
You're beautiful
You're beautiful, it's true


Michael T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch in the upstairs dining room. Cozy, rustic atmosphere. The food (from a relatively short menu if you don’t include pizzas) - is nicely plated and good, more gastropub than pub but not ‘high-end restaurant’. We may have got caught in a change of shift, so service, while friendly, was not proactive and a bit forgetful. Reasonable pricing. More a three-and-a-half than four, but overall you can have a relaxing time here.

Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lam,

Thank you for your time and feedback.
We offering balanced well designed menu with gastropub approach.
I appreciate constructive feedback in regards of staff. Our team is very friendly and hard working yet there is always some room for improvement and your comments are valuable training tools for us. I am sure next time we score 5 stars with you !

Michael T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orange also viewed

 

Been to The Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing