We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JMiller19
Harrisburg, PA

Close to attractions

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 May 2024via mobile
Hotel location is great for access to the tube, shops, dining, Hyde Park and other attractions. The hotel rooms were small, but to be expected in the city. The rooms were clean. They do not offer maid service daily, but there are towels in the basement and extra supplies if you need them. The staff were friendly and helpful. The coffee in the lobby was great. Would stay here again.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Citadines Reception, Other at Citadines South Kensington London, responded to this review
Responded 03 Jun 2024
Dear JMiller19, Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel's location convenient for accessing attractions, shops, dining, and Hyde Park.
We understand that space can be limited in a city, and we appreciate your understanding regarding the size of our rooms. We're glad to hear that despite this, you found them clean and comfortable during your stay.
We appreciate your understanding that we do not offer daily cleaning services. However, we're glad that you found our supply of towels and extra amenities in the basement convenient. Our staff is always available to assist if you need anything during your stay.
Thank you for your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff. We strive to provide exceptional service, and we're delighted that our team made a positive impression on you.
We're glad you enjoyed complimentary hot beverages in our lobby. Providing a delightful start to your day is important to us, and we're pleased that our coffee met your expectations.
Thank you for considering staying with us again in the future. We greatly appreciate your support and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back. Warm Regards, Alona Ivanenko - Senior Receptionist
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 062
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 761
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 3 449
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 773
2.0 km from Citadines South Kensington London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
R 3 131
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 571
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 2 603
  • Priceline
    R 2 883
1.8 km from Citadines South Kensington London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 2 360
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
5.7 km from Citadines South Kensington London
Royal National Room Standard Plus Twin
R 3 324
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 213
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 2 497
  • Priceline
    R 2 883
4.8 km from Citadines South Kensington London
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 2 113
  • Priceline
    R 2 113
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 1 886
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 101
6.1 km from Citadines South Kensington London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 4 137
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 115
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 3 370
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 125
7.7 km from Citadines South Kensington London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Travelodge LondonCity Exterior
R 3 187
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
7.8 km from Citadines South Kensington London
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 2 543
  • Priceline
    R 2 167
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 2 040
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 151
5.0 km from Citadines South Kensington London
Free Wifi
R 1 250
R 1 000
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 000
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 991
  • Vio.com
    R 998
5.3 km from Citadines South Kensington London
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
R 4 022
Go to your Happy Price
  • Travelodge
    R 1 251
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 334
  • Vio.com
    R 3 446
7.2 km from Citadines South Kensington London
Restaurant
View more hotels in London
Reviews (1 265)
Filter reviews
1 265 results
Traveller rating
613
458
111
50
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
613
458
111
50
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gloucester road great location hyde park one bedroom apartment the sofa bed royal albert hall coffee machine min walk kitchenette pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1 265 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

Excellent hotel-apartment in a very convenient location. The accommodation is clean and comfortable with everything you need. Beds were very comfy although sofa bed was a little squeaky. Kitchen is well equipped for breakfasts, reheating food etc. Coffee machine and free fruit in reception is a welcomed touch as we enjoyed our coffees each morning and hot chocolates on our return each day.
The hotel is a short stroll from Gloucester Rd station on the Picadilly, District and Circle line - you can catch the Picadilly line to and from from Heathrow. A short stroll from Kensington Palace/Gardens and very convenient to Royal Albert Hall plus Kensington museums. Surrounded by restaurants and cafes plus a couple of supermarkets including a large Waitrose near the tube station, food options are easy. We loved our stay, made welcome by Citadines’ friendly, helpful staff.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Wendy0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Salvatore Guttilla, Guest Services / Front Office at Citadines South Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Dear Wendy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Citadines South Kensington and found our location convenient and our apartments comfortable.

We're pleased to know that you appreciated the cleanliness and comfort of our apartments, as well as the well-equipped kitchen facilities. Your feedback regarding the sofa bed is duly noted, and we apologise for any inconvenience it may have caused. We'll certainly look into this matter to ensure all aspects of our accommodations meet our guests' expectations.

It's wonderful to hear that you took advantage of the complimentary coffee machine and enjoyed our selection of fresh fruit in the reception area. We're glad that our location near Gloucester Road station and various attractions such as Kensington Palace/Gardens and the Royal Albert Hall made your stay even more enjoyable.

We greatly appreciate your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff. Providing excellent service is always our top priority, and we're thrilled that our team made you feel welcome throughout your stay.

Thank you once again for choosing Citadines South Kensington, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Celia Bau
Residence Manager
Citadines South Kensington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024 via mobile

Great central location walking distance to tube and Kensington Park and Royal Albert Park. Hop on hop off bus also passes out front for tourist. friendly helpful staff. Nice rooms with comfortable bedding with good pillow selection.
Only negative was water pressure in shower.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BrisTravellerKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Citadines Reception, Other at Citadines South Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Dear BrisTravellerKW,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, and we appreciate your honesty about the water pressure in the shower. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our great central location, within walking distance to the tube, Kensington Gardens, and Royal Albert Hall.

We're glad that our friendly and helpful staff made a positive impact on your stay. Delivering exceptional customer service is a top priority for us, and we're delighted to hear that our team met your expectations.

It's wonderful to know that you found our rooms to be nice, with comfortable bedding and a good selection of pillows.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the water pressure in the shower. Your feedback has been noted, and we will work to address and improve this issue to ensure a better experience for our guests in the future.

Thank you once again for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We value your input and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even more enjoyable stay in the future.

Best regards,
Alona Ivanenko/Senior Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

What was great: stuff (ultra helpful), location, cleanliness, both bed and sofa are comfortable for sleep.
What was good: apartment size, amenities (kitchen, wi-fi), coffee in the lobby
What can be better: there is enough space in the apartment, so, additional armchair or lazy bag could be added when there are 3 people in the apartment. Also smart TV or exposing HDMI input for the TV would be nice. Few shelves or small bookcase for the living room will be fine.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Drasko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Salvatore Guttilla, Guest Services / Front Office at Citadines South Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Dear draskop764,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us! We're thrilled to hear that you found our staff ultra helpful, enjoyed our prime location, and appreciated the cleanliness of our apartments. It's delightful to know that both the bed and sofa ensured a comfortable night's sleep for you.

We're glad you found the apartment size and amenities satisfactory, including the kitchen and Wi-Fi, as well as enjoyed the convenience of coffee in the lobby.

Your suggestions for improvement are greatly appreciated, and we'll definitely take them into consideration for enhancing our guests' experience. We understand the importance of additional seating options and will explore the possibility of adding an armchair or lazy bag in the apartments suitable for three people. Moreover, introducing smart TVs or providing access to HDMI inputs is an excellent idea, and we'll look into implementing this feature. Additionally, we'll consider adding shelves or a small bookcase to the living room for added convenience.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in the future!

Warm regards,
Celia Bau
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2023 via mobile

The location is convenient, within an easy walking distance to the Gloucester Road Station and bus stops are near. The Waitrose supermarket next to the station is a good store, and the many restaurants and coffee houses in the vicinity mean there is no need to worry about food. Hyde Park, the museums are close by.
The area is nice. We lived at Cornwall Gardens, just opposite Citadines, when we were in UK the first time in the 70s so there was much to reminisce about as we walked along Gloucester Road.
Citadines South Kensington met our expectations of a well run apartment hotel. The room is clean and the kitchenette well equipped. There is an also self service laundromat in the basement.
The bonus is the coffee machine in the lounge. After being out in the cold, it was nice to step in to a hot cup of good coffee. There are fruits too for guests - nice touch.
To top it all, the staff are helpful and kind.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Leesah65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Salvatore Guttilla, Other at Citadines South Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2023

Dear Leesah65, thank you for sharing such a lovely review! We're thrilled to hear that our location, the apartment and the amenities we offer met your expectations. It's wonderful that you found time to reminisce about the area and enjoyed the proximity to Gloucester road station, Waitrose and the surrounding restaurants. We also appreciate your kind words about our staff, and we all hope to welcome you back for more memorable experiences!

Kind regards,
Salvatore Guttilla - Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2023 via mobile

We stayed here due to its proximity to Hyde park (literally 5 mins away) as we were down for the winter wonderland (20min walk through the park to wonderland). It worked out perfectly.
National history museum/ Royal Albert Hall all very close. And what a safe, posh neighbourhood it is too. Lovely.
Very close to Gloucester Road station. (3min walk).
Staff were lovely and on check in asked if we would like a free upgrade to the 2 story studio apartment which was very kind and appreciated.
Yes some little things could do with a touch up in the rooms but this is irrelevant.
Great hotel in a great location.
Will definitely be staying again with the family!

PERFECT FOR WINTER WONDERLAND (if you can get it for under £300 a night)

Thanks team!

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jamesbP7335UM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Salvatore Guttilla, Guest Services / Front Office at Citadines South Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Dear James,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your stay at Citadines South Kensington.

We're thrilled that our location near Hyde Park worked out perfectly for your visit to Winter Wonderland. It's fantastic to hear that our proximity to attractions such as the National History Museum and Royal Albert Hall contributed to your enjoyable stay.

We take pride in our safe and upscale neighborhood, and we're delighted it added to your experience. Being close to Gloucester Road station is indeed convenient for exploring the city.

We're glad you appreciated the gesture of the free upgrade to the 1-Bedroom apartment. Your feedback about room touch-ups is noted, and we'll use it to further enhance our accommodations.

It's heartwarming to know that you're considering staying with us again with your family. We look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring another great stay.

Thank you for choosing Citadines South Kensington, and we appreciate your kind words!

Warm regards,

Celia Bau
Residence Manager, Citadines South Kensington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews