We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ravi
St. Albans, United Kingdom

Great hotel in a great location

Review of The Rembrandt
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 May 2024via mobile
Really enjoyed our short stay...staff are so helpful and can't do enough to make you feel welcome.
Usually, I stayed in branded hotels, but I really enjoyed this hotel...great bar and breakfast was superb.
Amazing location with car parking 7 mins walk away.
You won't be disappointed.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rembrandt, responded to this review
Responded 07 Jun 2024
Dear 636ravib

Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short stay and describe us as a "great hotel in a great location". We believe that our neighbourhood provides something for everyone, three world famous museums, designer shopping including Harrods, Hyde Park, plus The Royal Albert Hall. There is also an abundance of bars, cafes and restaurants catering to all culinary tastes.

We are pleased that you enjoyed 1606 Lounge Bar, were made to feel very welcome by the team and that you loved our extensive buffet breakfast. We are really pleased that we did not disappoint.

We hope that you will consider returning to us again in the future.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Royal National Room Standard Plus Twin
R 3 034
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 217
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 719
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 202
4.3 km from The Rembrandt
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 4 644
R 4 137
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    R 4 141
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 137
6.8 km from The Rembrandt
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 2 113
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
7.0 km from The Rembrandt
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 2 975
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 340
2.3 km from The Rembrandt
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 2 897
  • Algotels
2.1 km from The Rembrandt
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 2 980
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 430
4.3 km from The Rembrandt
Restaurant
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 4 470
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 697
3.8 km from The Rembrandt
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
    R 2 169
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 051
  • Algotels
4.4 km from The Rembrandt
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    R 838
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 068
5.5 km from The Rembrandt
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exec Twin Room View
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 2 998
  • Algotels
6.8 km from The Rembrandt
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in London
Reviews (3 760)
Filter reviews
3 761 results
Traveller rating
1 707
1 439
346
144
125
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 707
1 439
346
144
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria and albert museum south kensington tube station grand room jacuzzi bath the natural history museum british airways health club excellent location directly across the street lounge bar full english breakfast executive room minute walk breakfast was included lovely hotel piccadilly line west end
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 3 761 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2024

We arrived 1 hour early, for our 3 night stay .. the nice receptionist told us our room is ready but if you want to go in early you have to pay £50…Hotel policy .. In all my travels I’ve never ever heard of that before.. it’s a disgrace to ask, she was a bit embarrassed when we complained.. but she said comeback in 1 hr.. we didn’t use hotel restaurant or bar for this reason ..

Room tip: Everything else ok
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0per22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear r0per22

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

It is always disappointing to receive negative feedback and we are sorry that you were offended by our policy to charge for an early arrival. This service is available, subject to our availability and a large number of our international guests are extremely grateful that it is provided, especially if they have been travelling on overnight flights. Indeed if guests are attending special events and functions then they are happy to pay the set fee, in order to secure access to their accommodation, earlier than our advertised check-in time of 3.00pm.

We are sorry that this policy, caused so much upset.

We wish that your stay in May had been a more positive experience.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2024 via mobile

There are a lot of pluses for this hotel. It's kept clean and the upkeep is continual like a cruise ship. I saw people dusting and wiping windows woodwork, and surface areas contniually. The interior is pretty new and the morning breakfast is more than I expected even though I'm not used to eating so much food in the morning. I would have given it a five if the hard foam rubber pillows were replaced with down pillows and if security on Sunday evenings was better. There was one person working the front counter around 8pm and as I tried to take my own lift a suspicious woman was hanging out in the elevator and told me get in. I said no as I prefer privacy in my own lift. I pushed it three times before taking the luggage lift- May 29 . Check your security cams.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 3Michellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2024

Dear 3Michelin

Thank you for reviewing The Rembrandt following your recent stay, we are pleased that it was a mainly positive experience.

We are thrilled that you loved our location, that we were centrally located for your stay and visiting all of the nearby attractions.

Thank you for your positive comments, regarding our excellent housekeeping standards, we pride ourselves on ensuring that the hotel is well maintained and that it is spotlessly clean.

In our experience, our guests prefer our foam pillows which are regularly replaced and are also good for guests with allergies, however feather pillows are available on request.

As you know, only hotel residents with a valid key-card can operate our public lifts, this is an added security measure, no unauthorised guests/personnel can operate these lifts.

Thank you for sharing your detailed experience, I hope that you will consider returning to us again on a future trip to London.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2024 via mobile

This hotel was in a great place for visiting London. Close to South Kensington tube (Circle/District & Piccadilly lines) so perfect for Heathrow. Walkable to Knightsbridge, the museums, Hyde Park & The Kings Rd. The staff were friendly & hard working. The hotel appears to be doing as much as it can to be "green".
We had an executive king room facing the V&A museum. The bed was comfy with nice pillows. The modern bathroom was supplied with soap, shampoo and lotion (fyi no hair conditioner).
The included breakfast was really good as mentioned in other reviews. For a capital city hotel it was very good value for money. Will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joannamufcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2024

Dear Joannamufcfan

Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt and for awarding us your to score.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your four night stay and that we provided a fabulous base for you to explore the capital.

Like you, we love our location in the Museum Quarter, directly opposite the V&A and within walking distance of Harrods, Hyde Park and Kensington Palace & Gardens. We also benefit from great transportation links, as we are in between South Kensington & Knightsbridge underground stations so our guests have access to three tube lines the Circle, District and Piccadilly. We are also on a 24hr route into the West End so travelling around the capital is easy.

We are delighted that you appreciated our efforts to go "green" and that you found the team friendly and hard working.

We want all of our guests to have a positive experience and to wish to return so we are over the moon that you feel we provided very good value for money for you wonderful stay.

Please come back soon!

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2024

This hotel is in a great location! A short walk from the South Kensington Underground stop and across the street from the Victoria and Albert Museum. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast buffet had many options to choose from. There are good restaurants nearby.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2024

Dear kathleenw608

Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt, following your recent stay and for awarding us your top score.

We are thrilled that you describe us as a comfortable hotel, in a great location. We ae pleased that your bedroom was quiet , well appointed and that you really enjoyed our extensive buffet breakfast.

Like you, we love our location in the Museum Quarter close to the Royal Albert Hall, Harrods, Kensington Palace & Gardens and Hyde Park. Our guests also have the choice of using South Kensington or Knightsbridge underground stations or alternatively the No 14 bus which is a 24hr service into the West End, which makes travelling around the capital easy.

As you know our neighbourhood also benefits from an abundance of restaurants, bars and cafes which cater to all culinary tastes and monetary budgets.

We hope that you will consider returning to us again on a future trip to London.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024 via mobile

Would stay again...
* The location is amazing and very safe. Right across the street from the Victoria Albert Museum, 5 min walk to the Natural History Museum and 10 minutes to Harrods. The EL&N cafe/patisserie is right nearby too.
* The staff were super kind, especially the bell staff and concierge.
* Our room had a jacuzzi tub and towel warmer. Nice touches! Unfortunately, the tub never really got hot. Warm yes, not warm enough for an enjoyable tub.
* There is one outlet for American plugs and there are a lot of outlets. However, none of them near the bed to keep a phone charging if you, like me, use it as an alarm clock.
* They co-op parking with the Chelea Cloisters and you get a discount for overnight. However, and this was a big deal as my mum can't walk far...it's not a close walk. More like 10 minutes which is a lot if you are trying to pull a suitcase and have a cane. If I had known this, I would have made another choice or dropped my mum off.
* They do the standard eco friendly steps but also plastic-free key cards and door hangs!

Room tip: Parking is not nearby. Bring a phone charger with a long extension if you need bedside charging.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank amesl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lesley Denyer, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2024

Dear ames197

Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt following your recent stay and for listing your pros and cons.

Like you, we love our location in the Museum Quarter, close to The Royal Albert Hall, Harrods and Hyde Park.

We are pleased that we provided clean, comfortable accommodation, with a jacuzzi bath and friendly helpful service, particularly from our Concierge.

Belatedly, we can only apologise that there were no power sockets near your bed, for your mobile, and that the jacuzzi water was only warm not hot. this is most unusual. We are also extremely sorry that the walk to Chelsea Cloisters was not convenient for you and your Mum. There is a designated off loading bay at the front of the hotel which would have provided a solution for you both, as you could have dropped your Mum off, and saved her the walk.

We want all of our guests to have a positive experience and to wish to return so we hope that the pros outweigh the cons , especially as you have indicated that you would stay with us again. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Please come back soon.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews