We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy and convenient”
Review of Mitre House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitre House Hotel
Ranked #549 of 1 077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Mitre House because of those 3 things-the small bathroom was spotless, the bed linen and towels were very clean, the bed was comfy, the room was warm and the position was so convenient for Paddington Station after training it in from Heathrow. I must also mention the efficient staff at breakfast, which was more than adequate! Just wished the gentleman who took the night shift at Reception could have managed at least one smile-although it was more than made up for by the lovely helpful lady who was there in the morning!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AnneF56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts following your recent visit.
We are delighted that you have mentioned that the hotel is clean, warm and that the majority of the staff are friendly and efficient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

Planned a trip to Europe and was going to stay at this hotel while in London but had to cancel due to my travel companions losing their home in Hurricane Irma. Instead of doing the right this and giving us a refund for the $300 we spent on reserving a room this hotel decided to keep it. Keeping the money of hurricane victims. Classy.

I've contacted them four times regarding a refund or credit for our stay and each time have received a resounding no. The lack of compassion and human decency shown by this establishment during a natural disaster is appalling. You should be ashamed of yourselves. Here's a few pictures from their neighborhood so you have an idea of the kind of devastation we're talking about.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank anderson1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Below is a copy of our response that was sent to you on sept 11th 2017,

"Dear Candace Anderson,
We are sorry to read about your misfortune. Our records show that your reservation was made on Expedia at the discounted non-refundable rate and unfortunately a refund will not be possible. Your best course of action is to contact either Expedia or your travel insurance for this matter. As it stands your reservation is still confirmed and we hope to welcoming you in our hotel. Kind regards, Thierry"

Clearly, you selected a discounted non-refundable rate so for whatever reason you cancel a refund is always going to be at risk.

Travel insurance is advised whenever non-refundable offers are taken up otherwise the option of a 48 hour cancellation of is always available on our bookings. In line with airlines and most other companies in the service industry conditions apply and we cannot make decisions based on each clients circumstances.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Spent nine nights here, great place for transport, buses, the tube, taxis . Lots of local eateries too. Hotel was comfortable but the room we had was noisy. Day staff very helpfu, night staff on reception not all that friendly but ok. Breakfast included was fine, but I'd suggest don't ask fro scrambled eggs, they were dry and tasteless.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Late writing this review lol We were there March 2016. There were 6 of us travelling and we booked 2 x triple rooms. The hotel was central, clean, staff were lovely...especially the lady from NZ. Would stay here again, great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Very helpful and friendly staff, and the room was clean and quiet. Just a few minutes walk from Paddington station and underground. Breakfast was ok, a small plate of english breakfast. Would stay here again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Frode T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#824 of 1 077 in London
51 reviews
Knightsbridge
Roof Garden Rooms
Roof Garden Rooms
#664 of 1 077 in London
150 reviews
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#733 of 1 077 in London
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#424 of 1 077 in London
1 074 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#497 of 1 077 in London
530 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#336 of 1 077 in London
1 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Address: 178-186 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #549 of 1 077 Hotels in London
Price Range: R1 506 - R2 391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a prime location just north of Hyde Park. Served by 2 underground stations, Paddington and Lancaster Gate just a few minutes walk away. Old style architecture but with comfortable, clean and secure rooms. Staffed 24 hours a day this well established hotel is an independent hotel designed for individuals. Lift access to all floors and a free car park (20 spaces) based on a first come basis in front of the hotel. English Breakfast. Bar and piano lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing