We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
126
324
195
60
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
324
195
60
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to paddington station hyde park family suite sussex gardens heathrow express budget hotel breakfast staff restaurants and pubs cooked breakfast full english stayed nights would stay here again rooms are small long weekend five minute walk short stay bus stop
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Planned a trip to Europe and was going to stay at this hotel while in London but had to cancel due to my travel companions losing their home in Hurricane Irma. Instead of doing the right this and giving us a refund for the $300 we spent on reserving a room this hotel decided to keep it. Keeping the money of hurricane victims. Classy.

I've contacted them four times regarding a refund or credit for our stay and each time have received a resounding no. The lack of compassion and human decency shown by this establishment during a natural disaster is appalling. You should be ashamed of yourselves. Here's a few pictures from their neighborhood so you have an idea of the kind of devastation we're talking about.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank anderson1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Below is a copy of our response that was sent to you on sept 11th 2017,

"Dear Candace Anderson,
We are sorry to read about your misfortune. Our records show that your reservation was made on Expedia at the discounted non-refundable rate and unfortunately a refund will not be possible. Your best course of action is to contact either Expedia or your travel insurance for this matter. As it stands your reservation is still confirmed and we hope to welcoming you in our hotel. Kind regards, Thierry"

Clearly, you selected a discounted non-refundable rate so for whatever reason you cancel a refund is always going to be at risk.

Travel insurance is advised whenever non-refundable offers are taken up otherwise the option of a 48 hour cancellation of is always available on our bookings. In line with airlines and most other companies in the service industry conditions apply and we cannot make decisions based on each clients circumstances.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Spent nine nights here, great place for transport, buses, the tube, taxis . Lots of local eateries too. Hotel was comfortable but the room we had was noisy. Day staff very helpfu, night staff on reception not all that friendly but ok. Breakfast included was fine, but I'd suggest don't ask fro scrambled eggs, they were dry and tasteless.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the street
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you for your frank and forthright review following your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Late writing this review lol We were there March 2016. There were 6 of us travelling and we booked 2 x triple rooms. The hotel was central, clean, staff were lovely...especially the lady from NZ. Would stay here again, great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

The lady from NZ has become Australian. However we all appreciate your kind words and hope that you make it back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Very helpful and friendly staff, and the room was clean and quiet. Just a few minutes walk from Paddington station and underground. Breakfast was ok, a small plate of english breakfast. Would stay here again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FrodeT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Excellent experience. Five minutes walk to Paddington Station, leafy street, Kensington and Hyde Park nearby. Moderate walk to Mayfair and shopping and bit more to see Parliament, Downing St, and all that. Very pleasant walks from hotel via parks. Property is well run and you feel secure. Keys turned in at desk when leaving to go out, front door locked and visible from front desk staff who buzz you in. Restaurants nearby. This is an older property as all in the neighborhood but well maintained. Room and bath very clean, neat, and tidy. Linens immaculate. Elevator. Noticed several families at breakfast which was included in booking and solid. I needed hotel night before Heathrow departure. Walked to Paddington Station and took Heathrow Express. I would stay again as I found the combination of location, service, and value excellent. Very friendly and cheerful staff.

Room Tip: Third floor was fine as they have elevator. Sunny room faced leafy street. Pretty quiet night I was there.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Clifford K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Clifford K,

Thank you for composing such a glowing report following your stay in September. apologies for not responding immediately but my eye was taken off the boil by some naughty reviews that required immediate attention.

There are some hotels that have a London post code that are nowhere close to the centre which confuses many visitors but fortunately we are not one of them. Our location is absolutely in prime position as you have alluded to.

Value for money is indeed our mantra and because of this we have maintained a loyal customer base over many years.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews