We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 236)
Filter reviews
2 236 results
Traveller rating
246
921
714
215
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
921
714
215
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviews russell square british museum atrium bar night bar piccadilly line trouser press tube station english breakfast large hotel beans covent garden tea and coffee kings cross bit dated buffet style west end short break
Filter
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 2 236 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2016

This is a good hotel, an easy walk to Covent Garden area and nearby tube stations. The hotel has plenty to offer; bar, restaurant etc. and the place has a feeling of space about it. The room we had was very hot so I slept with the windows open, the room overlooked the fountain and there was no noise to be heard from the street which is a bonus. Breakfast is buffet style and was good quality with plenty on offer and friendly service. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our Imperial Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast which had plenty of variety and you appreciated our central location, only a short distance to Covent Garden. Equally, fans are available from our housekeeping office, which is open from 8:00am to 10:00pm, so we apologise if you were not aware of this at the time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Imperial Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I had sent an email to hotel and asked for a quiet room. Unfortunately it was not and right after entering the room I called reception and asked for another room. Reception did not like our request because we were a member of a bigger group but luckily they managed to change it anyway. I heard that the other members of our group did not sleep so well due to traffic noise because the sound-proof of the walls is really poor. You could easily hear TV from the room next to yours too.

In the room there was no air conditioning, no minibar, no safety box. The safety box was located in the reception and the rate was acceptable (0,50 GBP/day + 20 GBP deposit which you got back after returning the key). Unfortunately the safety box service was available only from 9AM until evening. So if you check-out early, don’t forget your valuables in the safety box…

The bed was soft and short. There were also some black hair in the sheets although they should have been clean and unused… There were wheels under the beds so you could move the beds very easily – but couldn’t sit on the bed and lean on the wall because the bed escaped under you… Pillows were terrible. I got pain in my neck during of our 3-night stay… Bring your own pillow if you don’t like hard pillows.

The breakfast was typical English one, I assume. I missed fresh fruits, vegetables, cheese, yoghurt etc.

There was free wi-fi in the room. It work ok but couldn’t upload any Youtube videos.

The check-out time is 11AM. Be prepared to hang “Do not disturb” -sign on your door if you wish to sleep late. On the last day we forgot to do that and the housekeeping started to knock on our door at 8:40AM on Sunday morning…

The location was great. There is souvenir shop and exchange shop next to the hotel. There are also restaurants, markets, small park and underground station very near.

Rating: Only 2 points to the hotel but 4 to the location.

Special thanks to nice personnel: Nizam in the breakfast room and Marcela in the reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Toippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Imperial Hotel. We are pleased to note that you appreciated our central location, in the heart of Bloomsbury. We will be sure to pass your kind comments regarding Nizam and Marcela onto them both. Equally, we do not advertise that we have air conditioning or a mini bar in any of our rooms, however, fans are available from our housekeeping office, so we apologise if you were not aware of this. Fridges are also available on request and fridges if required to store medicines. Our housekeeping staff would have been able to assist with locking the castors in place, they should have been locked after servicing, so we apologise for any inconvenience caused. We have immediately forwarded your comments regarding the internet server onto our IT Department to carry-out a further audit. We will also be sure to pass your comments regarding yoghurt being added to our continental breakfast onto our Purchasing Department, for their consideration. The opening times for Travelex’s safety deposit box is stated in our Guest Service Directory. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss your stay with us further.

Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Stayed here with a super break deal.Its not the Ritz---but for what it costs---well its more than adequate ---
Once you adjust and find where the hotel is located --its a mere breeze to walk down to Covent Garden or Leicester Square----would not hesitate in staying here again--Breakfast was good --but a bit hassled Staff were okay
The hotel is looking a bit tired mind you-----but can they afford to close ?--with it being such a budget based place i reckon its good for the job---getting into London --looking around--enjoying the sights--and then off home
AND lastly --yes the noise--well i think thats because the rear rooms look on to the laundry !---it covers the 3 or 4 hotels in the group --and yes--they seem to work all night----did'nt bother us tho

Room Tip: One at the front
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay at our Imperial Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast and you appreciated our value for money in such a central location, only a short distance to Covent Garden and Leicester Square. Equally, the Imperial Hotel is ideally located in the centre of London and can be associated with a certain level of noise, however our guests are not normally affected by this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Imperial Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I stayed here on a business trip and it was the worst hotel I've stayed in in a very long time. The beds are horrible, same with the bedding, so if you want to be comfortable, this isn't the place for you. I don't mind small rooms or twin beds, but the beds shouldn't be so small or uncomfortable. They also do not have any down pillows, just hard foam ones. The shower water temperature never stayed constant, it was either freezing or scalding. The breakfast is rather horrible, especially for those you who like to eat healthy foods. 3 different ways of cooking eggs but not sure how they get their scrambled eggs to be white, bean and meats and cardboard toast. None of the fine breads/cheeses you expect from Europe, no fresh fruit. The hashbrown cakes were not even edible. The coffee was terrible. Considering how expensive this hotel is, it is really not worth it.
The internet is also terribly slow. good thing it was free.
The room was also rather stuffy and since you can't leave the windows open because of the noise, you ended up roasting during the night.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room the overlooks Russell Square, too noise with thin windows
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Imperial Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our staff are on duty twenty-four hours a day and would have been able to address any of your concerns, had you raised them at the time. The housekeeping office is also located on the first floor, where you could have requested additional pillows and a fan. Our breakfast staff are on hand for any additional requests, including cheese and we have passed your comments on to our chef and purchasing department for their consideration. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss your stay with us further.

Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have stayed at in a long time. University College London booked me a room here otherwise I likely would have stayed elsewhere. But the beds are awful as well as the bedding. The beds are extremely hard with springs poking you in the ribs all night. The pillows are hard to. There was no position I could sleep in that didn't hurt my bones or my ears. Perhaps for overweight people the bed is more comfortable but for thin people definitely not. And this poor sleep quality for a hotel that costs more than 100 pounds a night. In other countries it wouldn't be more than 40. I would rate this as a 1star hotel.
The decor is horribly outdated, the shower had a peep hole in it and the toilet seat was broken. breakfast was greasy food and bland white bread. No fresh fruit or healthy options available.
There is no air conditioning so the room was quite warm when I arrived. This must be a horrible place to stay in mid summer. It's also very noisy, walls are thin.
I don't see how others gave it good reviews. There have to be better quality hotels and I'm checking out early so I can get a good nights sleep.
The only positive aspect is that the staff is very friendly.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
3  Thank julios6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Imperial Hotel. We are pleased to note that our staff were attentive and courteous. Equally, we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room. Our staff are on duty twenty-four hours a day and would have been able to address any of your concerns, had you raised them at the time. We generally receive positive feedback regarding our mattresses and we will continue to monitor this in the near future. Our breakfast is normally praised for its variety of choice, including a full English breakfast, fruit, cereal, bread rolls, and porridge, however, we have forwarded your feedback onto our Purchasing Department and Head Chef for their consideration. We do not advertise that we have air conditioning in any of our rooms, so we apologise if you were not aware of this prior to your visit. Furthermore, fans are available from our housekeeping office, subject to availability. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss your stay with us further.

Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews