We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
piel_canela_2009
San Francisco

Best night sleep of our trip

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 Jun 2024
I would like to put this in perspective to our stay in another Ibis (first time in Edinburg) and this is our first experience with this chain. However, most of our England hotel experience was poor until this hotel. Earlier on we stayed in their Edinburg property and had all kinds of issues ( entire hotel had no hot water- noisy, etc). However, the hotel staff was very kind and we left unimpressed but content with their treatment. When we left the young manager at Edinburgh said she would write an email alerting the hotel in London that we required a quiet room as we had not been able to sleep well in the previous property. Unfortunately they didn't or was missed. However the person at London reception was very nice and offered us an upgrade after I told her what we had experienced. The room 111 was very nice and had a balcony. The curtains were working and we had the best night sleep of our vacation. for that we are grateful. However, the hotel is a budget and had we not had an upgrade we can see how this may miss the mark. All and all we are impressed with their customer service. At least they try unlike other places.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: if possible get a room with a balcony
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 062
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 762
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 473
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 773
2.3 km from Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
R 3 131
  • Priceline
    R 2 883
  • Vio.com
    R 2 594
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 571
2.1 km from Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 2 360
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
5.9 km from Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
Royal National Room Standard Plus Twin
R 2 865
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 220
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 2 497
  • Priceline
    R 2 883
5.0 km from Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 2 113
  • Priceline
    R 2 113
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 1 886
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 102
6.2 km from Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 4 115
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 4 137
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 3 370
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 125
7.8 km from Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Travelodge LondonCity Exterior
R 3 187
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
7.9 km from Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 2 167
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 2 543
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 2 040
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 143
5.2 km from Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
Free Wifi
R 1 252
R 1 000
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 000
  • Vio.com
    R 998
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 991
5.6 km from Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
R 4 022
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    R 3 749
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 316
  • Travelodge
    R 1 251
7.4 km from Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
Restaurant
View more hotels in London
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
206
142
51
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
206
142
51
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large waitrose great location the royal albert hall the natural history museum tube station piccadilly line boiled eggs continental breakfast air con rooms are small safe area bus stop stylish hotel tea coffee facilities the breakfast area perfect hotel comfortable bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2024 via mobile

I was frustrated by this hotel which was very good, but……there is nowhere to put my bag other than the floor, despite the room having plenty of space. The clothes rail is above the kettle and coffee/cups so you can’t hang anything longer than a jacket (or that you don’t want to risk being splashed/steamed). Don’t expect to take a hanger off the rail and hang your dress on something else either, as they are the ones on prongs with plastic attachment fastened to the rail.
Other than a hotel that thinks you will check-in without a bag or clothes it was clean, comfortable and fairly quiet (even though I was on the road side). Enjoyed the continental breakfast, friendly efficient staff and close to tube station too!

Room tip: Take your own clothes hanger if you have a dress!
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Mutley1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting both the positive aspects and areas for improvement during your stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you found the hotel clean, comfortable, and well-located, and that you enjoyed our continental breakfast and the service provided by our friendly and efficient staff. It's wonderful to know that the proximity to the tube station added convenience to your stay.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the storage of your bag and clothes. We understand how important it is to have adequate space and practical solutions for storing personal items. Your comments about the placement of the clothes rail and the type of hangers provided have been noted. We are currently reviewing our room layout and storage solutions to better accommodate our guests' needs and ensure a more comfortable stay in the future.

We truly appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our services and facilities. Should you choose to stay with us again, we hope to provide an enhanced experience that meets all your expectations.

Thank you once again for your review.
All the best!








ibis Styles London Gloucester Road Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

Enjoyed our stay at the Ibis Styles. It has a great location- very close to the Glouster Road underground station. We took the Piccadilly line directly from Heathrow Airport. Station is also serviced by both Circle and District Lines so easy to get around. Issue on the Piccadilly line when heading back to Heathrow so we got underground to Paddington and then Elizabeth line to Heathrow.

Staff pleasant and helpful. Room basic and not very big- but more than sufficient for a few days. Not a lot of storage space but that did not bother us- might be an issue if someone had lots of luggage. Nice balcony. Bathroom small but had everything and a good shower. Toiletries were wall dispensers- shampoo and shower gel. Room had desk/chair, TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities. Room cleaned every day - but every day when we came back the balcony door had been left open by cleaners.

Continental breakfast was nice start to the day. It is not very extensive but was ample and had fresh fruit, ham, cheese, tomatoes, bread, pastries/mini muffins, jams, boiled eggs, tea/coffee machine. Breakfast room was small and gets congested around the toaster/ coffee machine (as in most hotels). We just went early.

Lots of places to eat and drink nearby. We had a nice meal in Steak and Co and the Stanhope Arms was nice for a drink. There is a Tesco Express, Waitrose, Boots, Cafe Nero, Paul's nearby. Victoria and Albert and Natural History Museum a short stroll away.

Easy to get to Bridge Theatre and Duchess Theatre to see a show.

Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Dear Marco,
Thank you for your detailed review! We're delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience at the Ibis Styles and found our location so convenient.

We understand that the room was on the smaller side and that the storage space might be a concern for guests with a lot of luggage. We appreciate your flexibility, and we’ll consider ways to improve our storage options for the future. Regarding the balcony door being left open, we'll address this with our cleaning team to ensure it doesn't happen again. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We would be thrilled to welcome you back on your next visit to London. If there's anything else we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable, please let us know. Thanks again for choosing Ibis Styles!
Warmest wishes,


ibis Styles London Gloucester Road Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

This is a hotel I will stay in again and again. Very good location soo close to Gloucester Road tube station. The staff are always fantastic and soo helpful. This time we were greeted by Anish who welcomed us back and was always pleasant. We had a few drinks to take to our room; which was spacious enough for our stay and was clean. We opted not to have a clean and so just asked for more tea/sugar from the lobby when we next passed. On our last day we checked out but kept our cases in luggage hold whilst we went exploring a bit more. We will be back again next year!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 978andim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Ibis Styles London Gloucester Road, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you for this kind review following your stay.

It is wonderful to hear that you found our location was ideal and that you had an enjoyable stay. Our team sincerely appreciates your kind words, these encourage us to continue to provide outstanding service.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Kindest regards,


ibis Styles London Gloucester Road Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Second stay at this property and in the year since I last stayed, it seems like competence has depleted. Two of us staying in a Double with Balcony for 6 nights to celebrate a friend's birthday (friend was staying in their own double room). The double with balcony is TIGHT for a couple, especially unpacked. For longer stays, look elsewhere, storage will be a problem. The Pros: Patio was nice and spacious! Wish we got to use it more often but a bit chilly in March, unfortunately. Location, location, location... proximity to the Gloucester Road Tube, grocery, restaurants, pubs, pharmacy... all stumbling distance away!). The bed was comfortable for us. Housekeeping did great job, daily, keeping the room tidy. Good water pressure. Air conditioning kept the room cool!
The negatives: The first thing that I immediately will notice is how staff will make a person FEEL. This is what guests will remember the most. And should be included in the training of staff in any hospitality position. I am also noticing in reviews of other guests on other platforms, the attitude of staff towards guests was noted. Immediately started off on the wrong foot the day of check-in, when we arrived about an hour before the posted check-in time. I inquired if our room was ready and the woman checking me in said, "well, check-in time is not until 3pm." Okay, fair, but instead of that response, how has this woman not been trained to respond, "Sorry, your room is not quite ready yet, but we would be happy to hold your luggage and notify you the moment that it is ready!" Hospitality 101. Several mornings, no greeting from staff in the lobby. The staff seemed perplexed that we requested ice on a daily basis (no in room ice buckets nor refrigerators so had to purchase ziplock baggies) to keep drinks/ waters cold. Even a one star property should have ice available. By night 3, a staff member notified us the ice maker was broken and there was none available. Question: In a property where breakfast is served daily, how is there no ice to keep food items/ beverages cold? The next evening, I asked another staff member if the ice maker had been fixed and she looked at me as if I were speaking another language and said there was no problem with the ice maker. How confusing of an experience for me! No facial tissues in the bathroom. The door between the bedroom and bathroom entrance would slam shut, no soft close so we needed to stuff a shoe in the door jam so it wouldn't wake the other person in the middle of the night. Bathrooms were dated and had dirty/ tarnished fixtures. Cracked sink. Bathroom mirror was built for someone 5'6". Clearly it was a replacement mirror because the previous mirror markings/ mountings were still on the wall. Sliding shower door would not stay shut so had to stuff a towel in the doorway on the floor to keep the door from opening and getting the bathroom floor soaked. I didn't bring these details to the attention of the staff because I found them unapproachable on day one. If the staff is going to give me a hard time about ice, how are they going to react to having to solve an ACTUAL problem?
The love is in the details, and when you are traveling, it is all details... which goes unnoticed by the staff at this location. Should send the lobby a copy of Emily Post's "Etiquette," in care of the manager, who held his daily morning meeting in the lobby at 10:30am. Who holds a daily management meeting in front of guests??? Will be staying at another property at Gloucester Road next visit.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank danek101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024

This hotel surprised us. We didn’t think we would sleep in something that is slightly bigger than a shoebox (room 207). On one side of bed is about 15-20 cm to the wall with window, on the oter side of bed is about 30 cm from the wall with bathroom dors - that are so only 30 cm of my pillow. Bathroom smell of mould, so I smell that all night. My husband pillow is nearly on the router, so what about radiation?
If my husband wants to go to the bathroom, he can go only sideways. And if he want to dress or undress, I have to wait on bed, there is no place for both. Fortunately we came to London only with hand lugage, it would be a problem how to open normal suitcase in this room. Very interesting invention is hanger for clothes (of course there is no cupboard in the room) under the cieling over the cabinet with coffee maker.
Hotel is though interesting decorated in the style of London undrground. Personel is nice, nothing to complain so far, breakfast is okay.
I am wondering if we got room like that because we booked it through Booking as there are different rooms seen on web pages. First time in Ibis Styles in Brisbane 2016, nice experience, last time in Ibis in this hotel in London.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Escape97293
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews