We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but slow”

Hammersmith Apollo Theatre
Ranked #330 of 1 870 things to do in London
Attraction details
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Hammersmith is a great venue definitely worth seeing shows here
Get standing if you can you save a fortune and have great views
The only downside is the bars get very slow and very busy staff too slow

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank becky1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"standing tickets"
in 16 reviews
"great acoustics"
in 11 reviews
"great sound"
in 9 reviews
"brilliant venue"
in 8 reviews
"sound quality"
in 14 reviews
"tube station"
in 27 reviews
"great view of the stage"
in 8 reviews
"great seats"
in 11 reviews
"gig"
in 66 reviews
"queue"
in 71 reviews
"auditorium"
in 29 reviews
"stalls"
in 47 reviews
"foyer"
in 16 reviews
"comedian"
in 18 reviews
"acts"
in 18 reviews
"loos"
in 11 reviews
"audience"
in 25 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Although the concert we attended was fab, the staff within the arena spoiled the event. They are rude, stand in your view, anyone standing up enjoying ate told to sit down, one if the staff even stood, asleep!, when he did wake he was directing people totally the wrong way to their seats - not impressed by these staff at all - totally spoiled the atmosphere. The bar staff however were polite & served quickly .

Would think twice before attending anything here again.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank AnnFM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Have attended numerous stand-up shows at this venue, but attended our first rock gig here. It was ridiculous, we had to queue for 40 minutes then when we finally got to the entrance we had to go through an airport style metal detector. I realise after the Manchester bombing that we are on high alert, but this struck me as being a little excessive and put us in a bad mood before the gig started. We never get the balance rightbin this country its always completely ove the top or nothing at all.

The staff at the venue really didn't help the situation as they continualy shout at people like they are school children which is just what you want when you have paid nearly £200 for the tickets.

This will be the first and last concert we attend here, the venue is ok, but the acoustics are not the best for a rock concert. The facilities are ok, drinks are a total rip off as you would expect.

We enjoyed seeing Daughtry but would not return to Hammersmith again in a hurry.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank Bundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

I love the band they played fantastically. They get 5*s

The theatre sound is a bit iffy didn't do them justice. Bit bothered by that. The people sat Infront of us.... In the circle yes row C, 1234 seats... The most ANNOYING people I have ever sat in front of. Arrived late. Talking. They were very tall and kept leaning to talk to eachother. Then there seemed to be musical chairs. They kept swapping places with people they came with further back. Up down up down up down. Luckily the man sat next to us said something before I blew my top. But showsec security really need to get their act in gear rather than worry about the odd person in the aisle too long !

Anyway toilets clean. Drinks prices are scorching. But it's London

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank rebel_riot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Had booked the last of the seats for Suede, row Z.
Wasn't expecting to much of a view, however was pleasantly surprised.
Due to the theatre not being over large we had an excellent view.
Getting in and out was easy.
Arrived by tube from Victoria, theatre right outside tube station.
Could not have been better.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 228carlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hammersmith Apollo Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Hammersmith Apollo Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing