We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
126
34
15
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
34
15
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomwhitechapel stationmarco pierre whitetravelzoo dealwet roomwhite chapeltea coffee machinethe air con unitglass doorbrick lanemy boyfriends birthdaymassive bedtrendy hotelrainfall showerbreakfast servicecommon areasstaff at reception
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Really pleased with our stay at new road hotel, room was immaculate and really fresh. 5 minutes walk from Whitechapel station. We decided to walk to shoreditch on our first day & Tower Hill on our second day which only took 25-35 minutes. The surrounding area isn’t the prettiest but it doesn’t take long to get out of.
The staff were pleasant.
The only couple of things that weren’t ideal were, 1. The ironing station being on a different floor which wasn’t ideal when you’re rushing to get out. 2. We had a cosy room which was fine however when you turn the toilet light on in the middle of the night it lights up the whole room.
The rooms are small but as we were staying as a couple it wasn’t an issue, the bed was a nice size and it was perfect for our stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AbJamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewRoadHotel, Duty Manager at New Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hello AbJamx,

Thank you for your review, we're so happy you enjoyed staying with us! For next time, if you just let us know, we can bring an iron and ironing board to your room if you find this more convenient. Looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

The building is beautiful, as are the rooms. Very clean, modern, industrial themed and comfortable. It's well deserving of it's 4 star rating based on looks. We saw that there's a library, a gaming room and the bar/dining area which each looked amazing, however we didn't use any of them.

After a night at a 5 hour rock concert, coming back to the hotel was great. The shower was relaxing, the bed was very comfortable, the Samsung AC was a god-send and the very large Samsung TV was fine too.

There is a mandatory policy to pre-charge customers £50. This is not for room deposit. I was advised by staff at check-in that this is for extra chargeable services/consumables (drinks, food, on-site services). This policy is backwards. You're not given a choice, regardless of your intentions to use their facilities. If you didn't pay this online then you must pay on-site otherwise you'll be turned away. Customers then won't receive their money back for 3-5 business days. Next they'll be charging customers for an additional nights stay and refunding you only after not staying.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllisL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewRoadHotel, Reception at New Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Ellis,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm pleased to hear you loved the rooms and had a comfortable stay with us.

I believe there has been some miscommunication regarding the £50 pre-authorisation. It is not a charge but only an authorisation which will appear on your card as a 'pending' transaction. The purpose of this is for incidentals, so that should guests wish to use our bar or restaurant facilities, they can have this billed to their room. It does also serve as a deposit in the event of any damage to the room or missing items. This is clearly explained on the registration card that you signed at check-in, but perhaps the receptionist who checked you in did not properly explain this in person. My apologies for this lack of clarity. I would like to point out that our policy is not a unique one and there are many hotels which require a pre-authorisation for incidentals or as a deposit.

I also apologise that it was not properly explained to you how long it would take for the authorisation to be released. On check-out, we void the authorisation from our end immediately. The processing time is then entirely dependent on your bank's processing times; for many UK banks, it only takes a matter of hours or is even instant, but in rare cases it takes up to several working days, particularly if it is the weekend as it was in your case. I'm sorry that this was not explained more clearly to you at check-in. I can assure you it was never the intention of our reception team to deliberately mislead you, but on very busy days with many check-ins and with staff who speak English as a second language, perhaps some things get lost in translation.

It is really a shame that this issue has tarnished what sounds like an otherwise wonderful experience. I hope you will be open-minded enough to come back again so we can change your mind about the hotel.


Kind regards

Emma Robertson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Booked this a few weeks before going to London for a gig. Most places were £300+ a night whereas this place was much more reasonable. I didn’t have high expectations, just looking for somewhere to sleep before heading home. This place is brilliant! Very new so clean, modern, functional. Room was bigger than expected with tv, dresser, full length mirror, hairdryer, nice wet room with powerful hot waterfall shower and small hose shower also. Complementary hand cream and shower gel, nice big fluffy towels and smaller hand towels. No kettle in the room but they have a well kept communal library with tea and coffee facilities you can use. Also a game room but didn’t visit. Motorised black out blinds meant we slept like logs and didn’t wake up super early with the sun! We didn’t have breakfast but Marco Pierre White restaurant downstairs with breakfasts cooked to order or the hotel bar serves pastry’s and coffee. I have recommended to friends and family and hope to come back soon! Also, nearest station is Whitechapel with overground and Tube, meant we could bypass Waterloo on the overground which was an extra bonus!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewRoadHotel, Reception at New Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Jenny,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! Great to hear you loved the rooms and had a wonderful stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back at the hotel again soon!


Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Totally loved our stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was great - large bed, large TV and large shower. We ate in the hotel and it was excellent. Prices were fantastic for the standard of food and drink. Definitely recommend the hotel - we’ll certainly be going back

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eastonstaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewRoadHotel, Reception at New Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Eastonstaggs,

Thank you so much for the review! It’s great that you loved the rooms and that the service was excellent. I’ll pass on your lovely comments to the restaurant team as well. I hope we’ll see you back in the hotel again soon.


Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Don't get me wrong this is a lovely clean modern & industial Hotel, with work rooms and yoga space upstairs great for hip traveller. Very good food at the Chop House......however and this is a big one if you don't want an early start....The constant banging of the self closing fire doors shook our room from about 7.30am every 10 mins or so.... Really not want you want after a night out!! ( you must fix this!! ) also not having tea or coffee in the room is a pain you have to leave the room to a google style working area to make you own coffee. Will not be back would rather pay double for a good nights sleep

Room Tip: Go for the more expensive rooms & take ear plugs
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewRoadHotel, Reception at New Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Simon,

Thank you very much for the review. Glad to hear you like the hotel style and the restaurant as well. We appreciate the feedback regarding the doors. I'm so sorry to hear you didn't have a good night's sleep as a result, we will look into what we can do about this issue.


Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews