We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Daisy

Perfect stay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2021
Our stay at The Montcalm was amazing!! All the staff, especially Andreea, were incredible - so attentive and made our time perfect - everything we asked for was sorted without a problem! The room was beautiful, and the rooftop bar was incredible - the staff were amazing and made our trip amazing! Thank you Montcalm!!
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deepak Panicker- Hotel Manager, General Manager at Montcalm Royal London House, responded to this review
Responded 10 Sept 2021
Dear Daisy,

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback.

We truly appreciate your feedback and value your business in every possible manner.

Andreea and team are super glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you so much for your kind and motivating words.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Deepak Panicker
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge LondonCity Exterior
R 1 259
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
1.0 km from Montcalm Royal London House
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 2 332
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
2.6 km from Montcalm Royal London House
R 4 071
  • Priceline
    R 3 853
  • Vio.com
    R 3 699
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 846
1.2 km from Montcalm Royal London House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 4 816
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 807
  • Vio.com
    R 3 411
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 806
6.6 km from Montcalm Royal London House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Royal National Room Standard Plus Twin
R 3 505
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 3 039
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 643
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 400
2.9 km from Montcalm Royal London House
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
R 3 257
  • Priceline
    R 2 788
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 2 619
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 548
6.6 km from Montcalm Royal London House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
R 2 580
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    R 2 255
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 2 178
  • Travelodge
    R 1 306
0.1 km from Montcalm Royal London House
Restaurant
R 2 502
  • Priceline
    R 2 132
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 116
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 2 123
2.9 km from Montcalm Royal London House
Free Wifi
R 1 239
R 984
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 984
  • Agoda.com
    R 982
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 239
6.8 km from Montcalm Royal London House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in London
Reviews (4 284)
Filter reviews
4 285 results
Traveller rating
3 720
384
105
41
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3 720
384
105
41
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar guest experience team moorgate station the club lounge macaroons my partners birthday underfloor heating glass of prosecco mood lighting spa facilities rose petals amazing hotel liverpool street fantastic stay junior suite top floor would highly recommend this hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 758 - 1 763 of 4 285 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2021

Stayed here at the weekend with my husband for a night away on our own without the children, relaxation and shopping.
We stayed in a Montcalm Club double room with a lovely view looking over Finsbury Square. The room was beautiful, exceptionally clean, lovely big bathroom, very comfortable bed and it was very quiet.
We had wine and macarons left in the room for us and our bag was brought up to the room after we checked in.
We had a problem with the air con in the room that wasnt able to be fixed but we were offered to either change the room or have a fan brought in.
We used the spa we had previously booked and robes and towels were also delivered to our room.
The complimentary drinks and snacks before we went out for dinner was a lovely touch as well.
Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice, tea, coffee and juice.
All of the staff were friendly, attentive and nothing seemed too much trouble. Special mention to Mary who checked us in and out and Daniel who was one of the friendliest people we have ever met and treated us like royalty. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone and look forward to our future stays.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank linzir2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deepak Panicker- Hotel Manager, General Manager at Montcalm Royal London House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback.

We truly appreciate your feedback and value your business in every possible manner.

Mary, Daniel and team are super excited to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you so much for your kind and motivating words.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Deepak Panicker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

We couldn’t fault much at the Montcalm but there were a few small niggles that you don’t expect from a 5 star hotel.

On arrival, we had a friendly welcome and were advised that there were no robes or coffee machine in our room and they were available on request. We asked if we could have both and the robes turned up 20 minutes later but the coffee machine never arrived. Not a big deal and we didn’t chase it up but it was a little frustrating when I remembered on Saturday morning and really wanted a coffee!

When we booked we were asked how we wanted our room to smell with a range of fragrances available so we chose orange blossom! We also had a choice 4 or 5 different pillows both of which we thought were nice touches…or at least they would have been if we’d actually had them but there was no fragrance to the room and we had standard pillows. However, the bed was really comfortable and probably one of the best we’ve ever stayed in so it wasn’t much of a problem. I don’t think we missed the smell of oranges either but if you’re going to advertise these extras you should probably actually deliver them.

We stayed for 2 nights and after the first night we thought maybe the room might have been cleaned or at least the bottle of water in our room replaced but it was left untouched. Again, not a big deal but frustrating when you get back after a day out when other 5 star hotels we’ve stayed in would have refreshed the water and made the bed. We later found out that there was a button on the touchscreen display to request your room to be cleaned but this wasn’t very clear and it wasn’t really necessary to have it cleaned, just a made bed and a fresh bottle of water would have been nice.

When visiting the pool we went down in our robes and signed in. We weren’t given towels but assumed maybe they were by the pool area. However, they weren’t which meant we had to return to our rooms wet in our robes. As with the other grumbles, not a big deal at all but just small annoyances that you don’t expect from a 5 star hotel.

We tried booking in to the rooftop Aviary bar several days before we arrived but it was fully booked online so we sent an email to see if we might be able to get in if there were any cancellations. We were told there was some availability for drinks but it would be subject to a £100 minimum spend. Now we both like a drink or two but I’m not sure the two of us could have drank that much! We tried our luck on Saturday night anyway and managed to get in quite easily and were lucky enough to actually get a “VIP” sofa. We had a cracking view and it’s a lovely bar but we were glad we hadn’t agreed to the pre-booked minimum spend. We would have also been very disappointed if we’d paid the £500 deposit required to secure the sofa when booking online. Don’t get me wrong, the view is great but I don’t feel it justifies forcing a minimum spend or taking a £500 deposit for just 2 people as it really didn’t feel that VIP.

Our breakfast was in the same bar on Sunday morning and unsurprisingly many people did the same as us and had a lie in and arrived just before the 10 o’clock cut off. Whilst I appreciate this is probably quite annoying for the staff it’s not really surprising on a Sunday but they didn’t seem prepared for it and it was quite chaotic with no plates and no coffee. They were replaced after a small wait and the food itself was ok but I would have expected more at over £20 a head.

I should say though that despite a few grumbles this is a nice hotel. Our room was spacious and well appointed with a huge TV that had Sky TV (complete with Sky Sports) which I’m not sure I’ve ever had in a hotel room. This was a nice surprise as it allowed me to watch the cricket whilst my wife was getting ready! The pool and jacuzzi are good, if a little small. The location is great with Moorgate tube station only a short walk away and Shoreditch and other Central City areas not far away either. The staff were all helpful and polite and none of the problems mentioned above took away from our stay too much. However, I feel that when you decide to treat yourself to staying in a 5 star hotel you do so in expectation that those little details are taken care of.

Overall we had a fab anniversary weekend and by booking direct with the hotel we got a pretty good deal. I would still recommend the Montcalm as a good place to stay but I’m just not sure we really got the full 5 star experience and our own 4 star review reflects that.

Room tip: Try walking in to the Aviary bar rather than paying the £100 minimum spend.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank markbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deepak Panicker- Hotel Manager, General Manager at Montcalm Royal London House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Dear Mark,

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback.

We truly appreciate your feedback and value your business in every possible manner.

It gives us immense pleasure to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Kindly be assured that your feedback has been relayed on to all teams to ensure that you are well looked after on your next stay with us.

Thank you so much for your kind and motivating words.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Deepak Panicker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021

My daughter and I spent a wonderful night at the hotel and amazing cocktails with friends in the rooftop Aviary bar.
The staff were friendly and attentive and the bedroom perfect.
Can’t wait to stay again!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Boothb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deepak Panicker- Hotel Manager, General Manager at Montcalm Royal London House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Dear Booth,

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback.

We truly appreciate your feedback and value your business in every possible manner.

It gives us immense pleasure to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you so much for your kind and motivating words.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Deepak Panicker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

Booked a quadruple room through booking.com. Room was 2 adjoining doubles - initially the inter-connecting door was locked and rooms set up as 2 x doubles but this was soon corrected. Rate included use of the swimming pool and jacuzzi downstairs - note this needs Pre booking and children only allowed 9am-midday. Our rate included access to the Club Room - open 5.30-8.30pm Friday and Saturday - free drinks, nibbles, fierce aircon and great people watching of people stumbling out from the Roof Terrace bar. TV in room had all sky channels. Minibar was empty so could be used for bottled water - freely supplied by hotel. Aircon, lights, cleaning all controlled from the panel by the bathroom. Bonus was we thought the rate included continental breakfast in the Club Room but Roof Terrace breakfast was also included. Also staff on roof terrace booked us a last minute table for Pre dinner drinks on 2 nights (children only allowed before 6pm).
Only problems were a very rude Bar Manage in the downstairs lobby bar and the pool booking for children rules and the fact that the rules are not communicated in advance or consistently applied to all guests.

Room tip: Pool / Spa is a different company - needs Pre-booking and children only allowed 9am-12pm. Roof Terrace worth a booking
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Adea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deepak Panicker- Hotel Manager, General Manager at Montcalm Royal London House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback.

We truly appreciate your feedback and value your business in every possible manner.

It gives us immense pleasure to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you so much for your kind and motivating words.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Deepak Panicker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021

I stayed here yesterday and the staff was fantastic. I was treating my friends and the guest manager at the hotel January was super accommodating and very helpful with my needs. She made our experience super fantastic! Definitely a great recommendation for friends looking for a short break or treat.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 827evelyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deepak Panicker- Hotel Manager, General Manager at Montcalm Royal London House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback.

We truly appreciate your feedback and value your business in every possible manner.

January and team are super delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you so much for your kind and motivating words.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Deepak Panicker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews