We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain Bligh House
Ranked #2 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

My fourth stay at the Captain Bligh House confirmed what I already knew – this is the absolute best place to stay in London. I was in the Royal Suite for nearly two weeks and, as always, everything was beautiful, comfortable, spotlessly clean and welcoming. Gayna and Simon greet guests like old friends (actually, they do feel like old friends to me). With every visit, I love to see the latest enhancements that have been made to their guest apartments. Each apartment’s decor has a theme and all are lovely – their website has lots of photos of each apartment to help you select the one that best suits you. I am especially partial to the Royal Suite as it really showcases the house’s historic architecture – those gorgeous windows overlooking the gardens of the Imperial War Museum are bigger than the front door at my Los Angeles apartment. It is also a real treat to have such a well-equipped kitchen while traveling.

As others have said, the Captain Bligh House is ideally located, close to subway and bus stops, with loads of attractions and activities within walking distance, but in a quiet neighborhood that isn’t at all touristy. One of my favorite ways to get re-acclimated to London (and beat jet lag) is to take a short walk up to the Thames at Westminster Bridge and then walk east along the south side of the river. The views are breathtaking – you will see Big Ben, Parliament, the London Eye, St. Paul’s Cathedral, Shakespeare’s Globe, the Tower of London, and more.

Combine comfort, history, charm, location, and the most lovable hosts imaginable, and you will understand why the Captain Bligh House is the perfect London home away from home. I am already plotting my next visit, and somehow know that Gayna and Simon will find a way to improve on perfection.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DawnMarieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

We loved staying at Captain Bligh House. wonderful host. The rooms were superb, very clean and well maintained with lots of character. It is very central and easy for transport. It made our stay in london just perfect I would highly recommend it, we will return

Room Tip: all the suites are different we loved the royal style one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank grahamambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Just back from a 5 day trip to London - got to Captain B's house and was warmly met by Gaynor and what a lovely woman she is. The apt we had was the Crows Nest - 67 steps up to the top of the house - everything was spotless and comfortable, The pictures show it as it is. Shops were very close by - the Lambeth North tube was on the doorstep. Gaynor even arranged a hair appointment for me. Everything went very well - would definitely go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: all are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank schna11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

If you are looking for charm. clean accommodations, privacy and a great location, this is an excellent choice. Although the bedroom was on the smaller side, the bed was comfortable and en-suite bathroom very adequate. The living area was very spacious and the kitchen well equipped for making your own meals. The hosts were warm, welcoming and knowledgeable. Transportation to all the London sights within minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LacBromeSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed in the 2nd floor "suite", which was very small for a suite. It was nice but I have several complaints. 1) Noise: We could hear people above us talking, showering and moving around. Luckily they were not night owls. 2) Bedroom; The bedroom is very small. There was only about a foot of room on either side of the bed to move around...not good. 3) Shower: Small is not the word. One could not pick up any soap if dropped. 4) Nick Nacks: I know I am picky but I thought there were a little too many "royal" nick nacks all over the suite. Royal family pillows, paintings, cups, books, souvenirs, sculptures, pictures...... just tooooo many. I know I may be over critical but this is my review. The place was OK, average, nothing spectacular. But I can recommend it.

Room Tip: Get the suite, it is small but bigger than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1 077 in London
2 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#10 of 571 in London
172 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 571 in London
716 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 571 in London
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Bligh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Bligh House

Address: 100 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: R1 295 - R1 906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain Bligh House is situated within the wonderfully vibrant South Bank area with its exciting restaurants, theatres and street entertainers. A 10 minute walk to the London Eye, 20 minutes to Covent Garden or, with our excellent transport facilities, only an 8 minute bus ride to Piccadilly and London’s famous West End Theatres. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Bligh House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing