We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little Bakery”

Primrose Bakery Kensington
Ranked #320 of 482 Dessert in London
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Description: Primrose Bakery was founded in October 2004. Having started out baking for children's parties, Martha Swift and then business partner Lisa Thomas, quickly noticed how well the cupcakes went down with adults! Now twelve years on, Martha Swift is sole owner and the business continues to go from strength to strength. We have three shops located in Primrose Hill, Covent Garden and Kensington, plus five cookbooks and an App. At times it's hard to believe that something that started at home has grown so much. It gives us all a huge sense of satisfaction to see people queuing out into the street on a Saturday afternoon, waiting to buy our cakes - there is no better feeling than this, to see that people really do want to buy and eat what we have made. We have tried to keep it to simple old fashioned cooking, using good quality, seasonal and well sourced ingredients, as one might use at home when baking for your own children, friends and family. We hope you enjoy our cakes!
Restaurant details
Description: Primrose Bakery was founded in October 2004. Having started out baking for children's parties, Martha Swift and then business partner Lisa Thomas, quickly noticed how well the cupcakes went down with adults! Now twelve years on, Martha Swift is sole owner and the business continues to go from strength to strength. We have three shops located in Primrose Hill, Covent Garden and Kensington, plus five cookbooks and an App. At times it's hard to believe that something that started at home has grown so much. It gives us all a huge sense of satisfaction to see people queuing out into the street on a Saturday afternoon, waiting to buy our cakes - there is no better feeling than this, to see that people really do want to buy and eat what we have made. We have tried to keep it to simple old fashioned cooking, using good quality, seasonal and well sourced ingredients, as one might use at home when baking for your own children, friends and family. We hope you enjoy our cakes!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such character. Excellent merchandise. Gluten free options available. Small & nicely decorated. So obviously not a chain.

Thank Zehra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018

By far my favorite bakery I have found in Europe. My husband and I were dying over the croissants. We ended up going 2 days in a row because we loved it so much. Make sure you get a croissant and a cookie dough cupcake! Cute and vintage decor and amazing staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimroseB195, Public Relations Manager at Primrose Bakery Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

I popped in for a treat after viewing Leighton House with my children. The shop is so adorable they were doing a fashion shoot in the window. The cakes look amazing; unfortunately they were so dry I couldn't eat more than a bite. My 9-year-old happily ate the rest of mine and loved her cookies-n-cream cupcake. My 12-year-old commented that the salted caramel icing was amazing but the cake itself was really dry.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimroseB195, Public Relations Manager at Primrose Bakery Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Hi there,

Very sorry to hear that you had this experience, we bake everything on site and daily, so hope to never serve dry cakes!
We take this type of feedback very seriously so please email primrosehill@primrose-bakery.co.uk if you would like us to sort anything out for your next visit to try and change your opinion
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

I will happily vouch for Apple & Blueberry cake, Pumpkin, Ginger & Courgette cakes.
Lots of really good new flavours ever so often.
Great place for a coffee and a slice of cake.

Thank Pubudu .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

We went there for a break during a cold winter walk. The waitress were really nice, the place is cute and more important: The cupcakes are really good. It's a nice place to stop by !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Primrose Bakery Kensington also viewed

 

Been to Primrose Bakery Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing