We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 979)
Filter reviews
3 979 results
Traveller rating
3 107
521
179
97
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3 107
521
179
97
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath bastion restaurant liverpool fan shankly memorabilia great man amazing hotel bottle of prosecco sister hotel luxury room football fans rooftop bar hen parties afternoon tea signature living birthday treat every member of staff fantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 3 979 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

i would recommend this to anyone, whether you're a Liverpool supporter or not, this hotel is amazing. it's very central and there's loads going on. We booked in for afternoon tea. The hotel reception is impressive, and everyone is happy and very helpful. There was a vegetarian in our party and when it was pointed out there was only one sandwich on the menu for her to eat, she was told that the chef would sort it out for her and she was far from disappointed the tea and coffee was in abundance, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff we came into contact with, even the boss himself had time to talk to us. if you area football fan, and a fan of the man himself, there is a lot of memorabilia on Bill Shankley and we are planning another visit to look at some that we missed today

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Guest Relations Manager at The Shankly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Linda O

Thank you for your wonderful 5* review.

We pride ourselves in delivering a memorable time with exceptional service so the team will be delighted with your comments. I will also pass on your comments to everyone, and may I say, as Bill's granddaughter,it was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

We do offer some fantastic offers and packages so please be sure to contact us directly to book in.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warmest Wishes

Emma Parry
emma.parry@shanklyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

The hotel is centrally situated within easy walking distance of central shopping areas and a 10 minute walk from the Albert Dock. Our room was large & spacious but quite cold and quite dark. WE stayed Sunday, Monday and got a really good deal on the price. Be warned that this hotel caters for stag & hen groups as well as birthday party groups. Had to complain about loud music in the room next door at 11.30pm. Hotel staff dealt quickly with the noise issue & it stopped immediately. Parking advertised at a special rate which was simply the car parks usual rate. Good base and a must if you’re a football fan for all the Shankley memorabilia
.
,

Room Tip: Request rooms away from the partygoers!
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Guest Relations Manager at The Shankly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Maria D

Thank you for taking your time to write a review after your recent stay at the Shankly hotel.

I am disappointed to read that aspects of your stay were not up to our usual high standard of service we strive to deliver to all our guests on a daily basis. As a member of the Shankly family, I take all reviews very seriously, and aim to rectify them with immediate effect. I just need to ask you a few questions, if you are available.


I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this in more detail, please contact me at your earliest convenience on emma.parry@shanklyhotel.com

Kind regards

Emma Parry
Shankly ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We stayed at the Shankley 11th June and from the minute we walked into the hotel from the car park, we were impressed. Their reception staff were friendly and very informative of the hotel, its' history and local amenities.

We arrived in Liverpool earlier that we expected; our bags were stored securely and after being informed of what there was to see locally we were off to sight see.

We were not disappointed in anyway - The Shankley Hotel was bang in the middle of where we wanted to be. To our right in 500 yards was the museums and art galleries
and to the left just 10 minute walk was the famous Caver Club, shops and eateries that led us down to the dock side.

Room service at the Shankley was first class; our room, which was rather large, was delightful. Just a couple of niggles - there was no shaving light over the bathroom mirror and for my friend who is only 4ft 10ins she needed a stool to see through it. The bath was HUGE; to use the shower you had to stand in the bath - no safety rail or mat to ensure you didn't slip .

Our dinner in the hotel was splendid and our breakfast was the best yet! A proper English Breakfast - pity the coffee didn't meet expectations.

Overall we had a good stay at the Shankley and would probably go back if just for the on--site car park.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Guest Relations Manager at The Shankly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Jean B

Thank you for your lovely review!

I am pleased to read that you found the team here friendly and your room excellent. We pride ourselves on the experience we deliver to our guests and customer service is the pinnacle to our business.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon! Hopefully we will pick up that extra star.

Warmest Wishes,

Emma Parry
emma.parry@shanklyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

I want to provide a very open and honest review. We checked in yesterday to a disgusting smelly double room, the reception staff were polite and swift and upgraded us to a 9 bed room- there was only myself and my husband staying there which was very amusing. The lobby is impressive, however the hotel does require some TLC and has become very dated very quickly. Went to the bar for a drink only to be told they do not sell New Zealand wine which then was available as we sat down for dinner (baffling). Staff at dinner didn't seem to know what they were doing with our waitress telling us her head was up her Axxx.............I shake my head in bewilderment. The food however was very nice. Our bed was comfortable and the room was quiet which is a surprise as you are literally in the heart of the city here so again location is great. Breakfast this morning, just more chaos as the food was not ready. Ultimately this hotel has got the ability to be first class but they really need to train their serving staff both on the bar and on the food, half of them just looked like they didn't want to be there. Would I visit again.......unfortunately I have to for a friends hen do later in the year. Would I recommend the place? Not as things are no. There is better in Liverpool for your money. Sorry!

Room Tip: This hotel is made for stag and hen parties. Pick wisely
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Guest Relations Manager at The Shankly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Julie W

Thank you for taking your time to write a review after your recent stay at the Shankly hotel.

I am disappointed to read that aspects of your stay were not up to our usual high standard of service we strive to deliver to all our guests on a daily basis. As a member of the Shankly family, I take all reviews very seriously, and aim to rectify them with immediate effect. I just need to ask you a few questions, if you are available.


I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this in more detail, please contact me at your earliest convenience on emma.parry@shanklyhotel.com

Kind regards

Emma Parry
Shankly ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

I just arrived home tonight from my stay in the shankly Liverpool. It's my 2nd tome staying here . Wat can i say
They hotel is absolutely Amazin spotless . The decor is out off this world. The staff are outstanding. As u go on in the hotel it gets better and better. The manger ADAM has become my friend fire lied he went above and beyond 4 me the 2nd time round. Myself my mam and sister and niece went over 4 a shopping trip we arrived at 9am which check in 4 3pm. My mam suffers with her breathing himself and staff made sure to have a room ready for us on arrival. Today we got a tour off THE NEW FLOOR ALL I CAN SAY IS *SUPERB*. defo recommened this hotel 4 most off friendliness comfort cleanliness and food. Am already book in our Xmas trip back over. So to Adam and it staff thanks so so much 4 EVERYTHIN . Look forward too seen u in the near future

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Sinead K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Guest Relations Manager at The Shankly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Sinead K

Thank you for your wonderful 5* review.

We pride ourselves in delivering a memorable stay with exceptional service so the team will be delighted with your comments. I will also pass on your comments to everyone, and may I say, as Bill's granddaughter,it was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

I have personally thanked Adam for all his work that he delivers daily to all our guests, he is an amazing asset to our business.

We do offer some fantastic offers and packages so please be sure to contact us directly to book in.

Warmest Wishes

Emma Parry
emma.parry@shanklyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews