We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 342)
Filter reviews
2 342 results
Traveller rating
1 501
548
186
75
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 501
548
186
75
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews london carriage works philharmonic hall ren toiletries studio room georgian quarter boutique hotel anglican cathedral lovely hotel the penthouse comfortable bed huge bed the hotel car park reception staff wet room walk in shower city centre cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 2 342 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

On a friend's recommendation we took advantage of the summer offer of bed, breakfast and evening meal for two for £150 - and it proved fantastic value. Hope St. is a great location on the edge of the city centre in an area of refurbished Georgian terraces which is home to The Everyman Theatre, The Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, many interesting bars and restaurants and is bookended by the two cathedrals.

The hotel frontage is discreet to the point of invisibility (on the right just through the traffic lights half way down Hope St. as you head towards the old cathedral). It looks as if it was a historic building which has been refurbished and extended, and the design has retained the original cast iron pillars, wooden floors and brickwork while adding tasteful and modern furniture and accessories.

The staff were without exception friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. Our room was comfortable and tasteful with a large bathroom with both bath and wet area with rain shower.

The adjacent London Carriage Works restaurant can be accessed directly from reception and our deal included 3 courses from the prix fixe menu and a glass of prosecco each. If you wish to choose from the a la carte menu you just pay the difference, but we found plenty of choice on the prix fixe, and the food was delicious, as was the breakfast the following morning. There's also a pleasant informal bar area next to the dining room where you can get a good bar menu.

Highly recommended: we will be returning.

P.S. Don't miss the Anthony Gormley ' Iron Men' statues on Crosby Beach a 40 min. drive from the hotel. Even if you're not into sculpture, it's an amazing experience.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Chris B,

Thank you for your lovely review and always good to hear our offers being enjoyed. Your tip is a favourite of ours, we are very good on the low and high tide timetable!

Best wishes, Mary C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

What an excellent hotel, and the staff were so polite and attentive. .Couldnt ask for a better hotel
The food was excellent and I had a room with a view of the city and river mersey
I will definately be booking it again.

Room tip: Book early
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Larraine B, thank you for your excellent review and we hope to see you return - look out for our seasonal and seize the day offers.

Best wishes, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

An interesting conversion of a former commercial building. Attractive interior wood- and ironwork. Good-sized rooms attractively furnished and fitted out. Bathroom has slightly too quirky taps and fittings but they dont affect enjoyment of the accommodation. The breakfast was excellent in bright comfortable surroundings. Service was special: we asked for fresh milk in the room twice and each time it was brought to us immediately. We would certainly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank msrichn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear msrichn 10,

Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We hope to welcome you back one day.

Best wishes, Mary C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here last week and although the room we were given was lovely it looked straight at the building works so we were really disappointed-noisy and unable to have the blinds open as builders could see right in the room. We asked for a different room and were given a another to look at in the opposite quieter end of the building which we accepted out of desperation-it was a trip for our 33rd wedding anniversary and didn't want a fuss as we have enough stress in life hence a trip away. But what hotel gives a bad room knowing it's affected by such works and then offers a smaller room? Apparently the Liverpool football club were staying there so I suspect they were only pampering to them and shoving other guests anywhere they could!
The facilities in the room are good (Ren products, coffee machine, iron etc) and the bed was very comfy. The breakfast choice was great and we ate in the restaurant one night (chateubriand highly recommended). Lovely bar area with great staff. Hotel not too far into town but be warned the nice stroll downhill is not as nice going uphill on the way back!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daisygirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Daisygirl62,

Heavens, we don't consider any of our rooms bad! We do have very different views from all our rooms, a small number overlooking a building works in progress. But regardless of the view out of any window we think our rooms lovely, as you mention - the REN, the tea and coffee making facilities, the over-sized bed, the style, the complimentary WIFI, BT and Sky Sports, the slippers, raindance showers and more.

We look after all our guests equally, no shoving or pampering, unless a guest particularly asks for either of course.

I hope you had a relaxing time in the city and congratulations for a wonderful anniversary.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

My sister booked this hotel about six months before for herself and her partner and me and my partner. My sister called the Hotel on Friday to check the booking and was told it was confirmed. No mention was made of the building work. We arrived at the Hotel at 11.00am after travelling for five hours to get there and told we couldn’t check in until 15.00 again no mention of building work.
We looked around Liverpool until we could check in when I walked in the room I was horrified to see a building site directly looking into our room. I went straight to reception but was told they were fully booked and couldn’t be moved until after 18.00 as we had to be at a restaurant at 18.00 this was not possible.
I can’t believe they can let this room out and charge the extortionate price.Given some advance warning we could have booked somewhere else.
I think the photos show why I felt the need to complain.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank carolinadance50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear carolinadance50,

I am sorry that your were disappointed with your view during your stay. We do have a building site next door though it is only seen by 8 out of our 89 rooms. The booking was made through a third party with a request for twin rooms of which we have a limited number. The type (and configuration) of room requested on your booking led to your particular allocation and I am sorry we could not reallocate within the time constraints.

Just a few details that might help in the future. Most hotels have a midday check out on Saturday and Sunday and after a full house the night before, house keeping teams work like the clappers to have all rooms available at 3pm. However, if a room is available most hotels, ourselves included, are very pleased to offer an early check in. The only guarantee of an early check in is if you reserve the night before. Booking in advance does not usually offer a priority on rooms, but if you book direct with a hotel you can ask for- rooms at the back, rooms with views, rooms at the top, rooms on the ground floor, away from the lift, the room you had last time etc etc.

I hope you had a lovely time sight seeing in Liverpool and enjoyed your time together.

Kind regards, Mary C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews