We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveller rating
156
222
195
142
183
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
222
195
142
183
Show reviews that mention
All reviews edge lane city centre bit dated full english enjoyable stay excellent value for money yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 898 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Single bed
Room stupidly hot
Bathroom even hotter
No curtains so daylight wakes you about 20 minutes after you've managed to cool the room enough for sleep.

Only stayed as checked in at midnight and couldn't face driving

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank nickpagecomedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHH001, Guest Relations Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Many thanks for leaving your review of our hotel, so sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay with us, all bedrooms have black out roller blinds in them,
due to the recent unusually hot weather most ares of the hotel have been difficult to cool down, we have fans available at reception on request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. The room, corridor and bathroom were stiflingly hot all weekend. There was no wardrobe, just a few hangers and wall hooks. No bedside lamp and one of the lights wasn’t working. The serving staff were blunt and one was rude. They behaved as if they were working in a canteen or were dinner ladies, noisily and roughly collecting plates. There was no attempt at politeness or decorum or a sense of service or pleasing guests. I’ve never experienced such behaviour from hotel staff.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Elizabeth

Thank you so much for leaving us your comments though disappointing to read. all rooms do have hanging rails with hangers I Have been to check the room you stayed in 302 and there does appear to be a hanging rail.

I am surprised at your comments in relation to the staff being blunt as all our comments, about the staff are extremely positive, however i will pass your comments on to the Operations Manager to investigate. the house keeping team have also been told to check the rooms for missing items.

please except our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay, once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Kind regards



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Firstly the rooms are not clean shabby out of date and small.

Breakfast is cold horrid and not edible.

But the main issue was on our two night stay the room next door were so so noisy, screaming shouting locking each other out and banging on the door.
This went on for around four hours from 1am and despite us calling reception nothing was done.
The couple were having a physical fight, things were being thrown but still the staff didn’t think to intervene or call the police.

I sent several emails complaining and was completely ignored and also made several calls. I eventually got to speak to the manager he was so rude and said said don’t get involved in “domestics” a man beating up his girlfriend is a criminal offence NOT a domestic!
He also basically said he didn’t care we were kept awake all night but did say he’d speak to staff and call me back this never happened!

Avoid this awful overpriced place that condones domestic abuse at all costs

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe S, Guest Relations Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Laura

I am sorry you had some disturbance during your stay, i am told the guest were called and told to keep the noise down and they were told they would be asked to leave.

when the night staff called the room the was no evidence to suggest anyone was been assaulted, nor did the other guest make a complaint.

i am sorry you feel we don't care but i can assure you really do care and we do every think possible to ensure are guest have a pleasant stay.

i would like to take the opportunity to thank you for leaving us your feedback the not pleasant to read.

Kind regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

I attended a lunch time function on Sunday 29th April. All went well and staff and service were very good though thin on the ground. Rooms are basic (except for a few very nice ones!) and the place needs some work to bring it up to scratch. The outside ,grounds and foyer areas are much better -presented. Unfortunately on a Sunday evening there is nothing available to eat in the hotel other than drinks from the bar and chocolate or crisps from a vending machine.There was not even coffee to be had as "the kitchen is closed" on Sundays. Reception staff were helpful and offered information about local places to eat and even takeaway menus if we wanted to order food to be delivered to the hotel.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank welsh2Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe S, Guest Relations Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Welsh2Bristol

I am sorry were were unable to offer food on the evening of your stay, unfortunately Sundays can be on the quite side so in general the not any need to open on Sunday evenings.

fortunately the hotel is very local to Liverpool shopping park and is just a short walk from the hotel and there are quite a few branded restaurants and bars.

i appreciate this was not how you had planned your stay with us, once again we are very sorry for any inconvenience caused and do hope the experience will not deter you in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, room was lovely clean and all that you need in there tea coffee and toiletries! Breakfast was amazing! Price was excellent! Only grumble was the heating was on full and it was red hot that day such a shame but still a brilliant stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews