We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a wonderfull place to stay”

Review of Bardney Lockhouse

Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Approaching the Lockhouse An original 17th Century lockkeepers cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Approaching the Lockhouse
An original 17th Century lockkeepers cottage
With beautiful views across the Lincolnshire Fenlands
Situated right next to the Lock, this is the actual Lock House
Great views
Great views from the bedrooms
Jack 'n' Jill bathroom with under-floor heating
Bedroom 1 with views of the River Witham
Lady of the house
Bedroom 2, with views of the Fens
All the home comforts
Home from home
Downstairs shower room
Our lockhouse is ideal, whatever the weather!
Dining kitchen with views over the garden
A house filled with love, is a happy home
Comfortable lounge
Wood burning stove for cosy nights in
Lounge, overlooking the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James G
2 reviews
“What a wonderfull place to stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have just had the most relaxing weekend away there's a nice walk to the pub and we also had a few nice bike rides
The house it's self is nice and clean
There is everything you need
nice to put the fire on at night and relax and listen to some nice music
The sky at night is something else
We enjoyed talking to the people coming though the lock
My partner even made a friend with a swan lol
This is a must stay place and I will be telling my friends and family all about it
Thank you for a wonderfull stay and we will be back very soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thank you James for your lovely review. So happy that you had a relaxing time with us.We look forward to,welcoming you again.

Jeannette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
1 review
“BEAUTIFULLY EQUIPPED COTTAGE”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

To reach this lovely cottage on the river Witham you have to use a slightly bumpy track for the last mile of your journey. The cottage more than makes up for this though. We found the cottage warm and welcoming which included a food and beverage pack. The wide open views to the horizon are spectacular especially at sunrise and sunset. We will certainly recommend this cottage to our friends and family.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. It's very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future.
With warm regards.
Jeannette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimski59
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Have just returned from second stay at this lovely cottage. The cottage itself is exactly as described, comfortable and welcoming. The location is brilliant enabling us to de-stress quickly and enjoy the tooing and froing of the boats and barges on the lock and river. We also enjoyed the fishing nearby. I would recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing it was all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happy2hor...
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I'm back again and yet another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lost count of the number of times I have stayed here both when on business in the area or with the other half on holiday. I just can't resist booking the cottage whenever I'm up here working. It provides a home from home and is clean, all furnishings are comfortable and kitchen is well equipped. It's in a brilliant location for peace and quiet or I bought my bike to explore the lanes and tracks and villages in the evenings.

Watch sunrises and sunsets from the bedroom windows or the bridge on the lock. The wildlife has been amazing with the bonus this week of tawny owls just behind the back garden. I also enjoy chatting to the fishermen and those passing through the lock.

A previous reviewer raises a couple of bad points - The TV with free-view was fine and it's nice to have a TV that doesn't dominate the room (it is the one that is in the pictures). The cottage is accessed up a track which is dusty when it hasn't rained, but I'd take a dusty car any day to stay at this lovely location.

I've stayed in other lets in Lincoln area but this is always my first choice whatever the time of year. Thank you Jeanette for another lovely stay, always leave here chilled after a weeks hard work which is great. Thank you Michelle for the welcome pack and flowers. Until the next time............

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddmartin2...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, comfortable and wonderful”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed at this wonderful house and loved every minute of my stay. The views are amazing and the sunsets spectacular. Having the opportunity to see the lock in action was an unexpected surprise.

I'm not sure that the gentleman who put the negative review was staying at the same place. Tv reception was great, the beds had quality linen and I found nothing to complain about

Seeing the wildlife including a Robin Redbreast made my stay even more amazing. Will definitely stay next time I'm over from Australia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing