We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place to get away from noise, chill, relax and...”

Review of Bardney Lockhouse

Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Approaching the Lockhouse An original 17th Century lockkeepers cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Approaching the Lockhouse
An original 17th Century lockkeepers cottage
With beautiful views across the Lincolnshire Fenlands
Situated right next to the Lock, this is the actual Lock House
Great views
Great views from the bedrooms
Jack 'n' Jill bathroom with under-floor heating
Bedroom 1 with views of the River Witham
Lady of the house
Bedroom 2, with views of the Fens
All the home comforts
Home from home
Downstairs shower room
Our lockhouse is ideal, whatever the weather!
Dining kitchen with views over the garden
A house filled with love, is a happy home
Comfortable lounge
Wood burning stove for cosy nights in
Lounge, overlooking the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
happy2hor...
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A place to get away from noise, chill, relax and enjoy the countryside”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here whilst working in the area for the week. Holiday lets make a welcome change to hotel rooms and having stayed in others in the Lincoln area it is now only Bardney cottage for future stays. As a solo female traveller I was a bit worried I would find it a little isolated, but was so wrong. The cottage has a lovely homely atmoshere, hugged me and looked after me, and the fishermen and houseboat people where always happy to chat. The cottage is spotlessy clean, really nicely furnished and extremely well equipped. As a person who cooked all week it was great to have a kitchen that had all that I needed; this was supplemented by a very gracious welcome pack. Yes the car did get very dirty travelling up and down the track but so worth it, as spotted plenty of wildlife including a baby owl and parent. It was so quiet at the cottage, no road noise and wonderful views, I have never had such a relaxing week of work! I loved it so much that I hope to come back on holiday and bring the bikes to explore this lovely area a little more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and the views
Liked least: Having to leave it and go to work in the day!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subishop
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage in an amazing setting.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A warm and friendly welcome from Michelle when we arrived helped us settle in to this beautiful cottage. It is deceptively large, very well equipped and beautifully furnished and decorated. The peaceful location was an ideal base from which to explore Lincoln and the surrounding area. There is a lovely walk along the cycle track behind the cottage which leads to Bardney and beyond. The only thing that would have added to this amazing holiday was another week in the cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peace, tranquility and relaxation - guaranteed!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our visit was bliss. We arrived to enjoy a 'welcome pack' of food and wine. The Lock House has been restored to prisitine condition, with spacious rooms, two modern bathrooms and comfortable bedrooms. Outside we BBQ'd in the garden watching the boats going through the locks on the Witham. We walked the one and a half miles to Bardney, enjoyed our visit to the Heritage Centre and evening meals in the local pubs. The peace and tranquility at the Lock House was a real tonic. We found the research file charting the history of the Lock House really interesting. We will return!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueParks...
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow.....”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

From the moment we arrived at this beautiful house we felt at home. The welcome we recieved was amazing, with thoughtful touches like an anniversary card as we were celebrating our golden wedding. The house was spotless and had everything you could ask for. The bathroom was beautiful and the decor in general was modern and fresh. We were visited every night by baby rabbits in the lovely garden. The people that passed by on their boats as they travelled through the lock could not have been more friendly. We went to some lovely places and enjoyed a great market and boot sale. This house is a real Gem and the owner and the people that take care of the cottage could not be nicer. If you a looking for a great place to stay near Lincoln you much stay here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayzibuck
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday bliss”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

It was absolute joy to stay in such a fabulous cottage. It was very well set up, with a very homey, comfortable feel, cosy beds and 2 very smart new bathrooms, complete with heated flooring. There is everything you could possibly need in the kitchen if you want to stay in and plenty of wood supplied for the sitting room fire. There are walking paths along the old rail tracks, lots of birds, rabbits in the garden and the occasional barge passing through the lock. We were even lucky enough to enjoy a few exquisite sunsets in the long evening twilight, watching as we sat in the garden setting with a glass of wine. We found the isolation perfect for those in need of some peace and quiet, but there are lots and lots of interesting things to see and do within an easy hour's drive at most. I was visiting the area this time with an old friend, but will definitely be returning with my family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely creature comforts in such a sublime setting
Liked least: What's not to like?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing