We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit”

International Bomber Command Centre
Ranked #3 of 65 things to do in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The IBCC opened to the public for the first time on the 30th January. The site includes the UK's tallest War Memorial, The Spire, which stands out on Lincoln's skyline at 31.09m tall, the same height as the wingspan of a Lancaster Bomber. The Spire is surrounded by curved walls which carry the names of 57,871 men and women who gave their lives whilst in the service of Bomber Command during WW2. The Spire is set in 10 acres of landscaped peace gardens, one which represents Lincolnshire's contribution to the war and one that recognizes the involvement of 62 nations in Bomber Command. The Chadwick Centre provides all our visitor facilities and hosts three exhibition galleries covering our core themes of Recognition, Remembrance and Reconciliation. There is also an education suite and facilities for corporate hospitality. Children's trails and craft sessions available. The site is free to visit but tickets are needed to gain access to the Exhibition.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Stunning memorial to a very over whelming period of history, Seeing all of the names and remembering them all were volunteers is truly mind blowing. A massive amount of facts about this period in history which hasn’t been spoken about before in detail. I think the site should be a must see for every person to get an understanding of the sacrifice people have made for us. There is a cost to enter the exhibit area and to park your car, but this goes back into the running and unkeep of the memorial. There is a cafe on site which serves a great selection of food which is great value for money.

Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky B, Manager at International Bomber Command Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Robert

Thank you so much for that lovely review. I am pleased to hear that your visit went well and you found the information of interest. Thank you to for the mention of the café, I will pass it on to the team, they will be delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Nicky Barr
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fitting tribute"
in 21 reviews
"who gave their lives"
in 15 reviews
"peace gardens"
in 11 reviews
"who lost their lives"
in 11 reviews
"interactive exhibition"
in 7 reviews
"bombing raids"
in 7 reviews
"brave men and women"
in 6 reviews
"exhibition area"
in 6 reviews
"memorial site"
in 5 reviews
"wing span"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful memorial"
in 5 reviews
"trees planted"
in 5 reviews
"east kirkby"
in 4 reviews
"lincoln cathedral"
in 30 reviews
"main memorial"
in 3 reviews
"brings home"
in 3 reviews
"annual ticket"
in 3 reviews
Filter

165 - 169 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

What a lovely place to visit so pleased we went ,the staff are so helpful the exibitions are well thought out ,the information is excellent . A fitting tribute to all those brave men .The gardens are so peaceful and well maintained , very thought provoking .The cafe was lovely and clean as was all the building .Highly recommend .

Thank Marlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky B, Manager at International Bomber Command Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Marlene

Thank you so much for that wonderful review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your day with us, and that our team impressed.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

best wishes

Nicky Barr
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

What an excellent memorial to those who gave their lives to preserve our future. So well presented and the memorial pathway accessible to all.

First class facilities and the exhibition area of immense interest.

It will certainly be a place we will re-visit.

Paul J.

Thank 550PAUL1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky B, Manager at International Bomber Command Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Paul

Delighted to hear you enjoyed you first visit, thanks for reviewing us on here.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits.

Kind regards

Nicky Barr
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Visited this afternoon and wow it was so worth every penny. Reading all the names along the pathway to the memorial then all the thousands of names on the metal plaques,even found one with my surname. Standing by the memorial and looking across the the city and seeing the Cathedral which was so important to the pilots.
The museum was superb and you need to spend quite a while in there reading, watching and listening.
The cafe was lovely ,lovely food and a lovely cuppa! We will definitely return!

Thank GinnyMaylandEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky B, Manager at International Bomber Command Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hi Ginny

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and were impressed with what you saw. Thank you for taking the time to put in a review.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes

Nicky Barr
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Found out about it by word of mouth and so happy we went. A fitting tribute to those who lost their lives to save our future. Beautiful and tranquil place and will improve with age when the trees etc mature.

Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky B, Manager at International Bomber Command Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hi Sharon

Thank you for your review, so pleased to hear you were impressed with the Memorial and enjoyed your visit.

We hope you come back again soon.

Kind regards

Nicky Barr
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed International Bomber Command Centre also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to International Bomber Command Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing